SELF VOTING ISSUE AND WHY WE NEED TO MOVE ONsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Jeff Mary Ron and Wendy party time.jpg

SELF VOTING ISSUE AND WHY WE NEED TO MOVE ON

I think all the "self voting lists" and the entire issues is completely over-shadowing all kinds of other work we should be doing on the Steemit platform.

Things like "greeting and welcoming" thousands of new users monthly, making new contacts that can help us improve the quality of our content, and upvoting and commenting daily our favorite story tellers.

Quickly, my story:

I came to Steemit in May 2017, asked around about self-voting; everyone told me it's not a problem.

A month later, I had been demonized, with my name plastered on Witch Hunt Lists. Dozens of posts across steemit in 1 month!

I am sorry to say this community has dug a large hole, and is now filling it back in. Completely wasted effort in my opinion, over something that needs to be fixed, not by users, but the algo used in a long term way, by steem developers.

To quote @smooth:

"Someone who buys SP and then selfvotes is not 'draining' anything and at best can get back a portion of what was put in. It causes no harm at all."

Investors are the ones who underwrite all of the rewards on this platform. If you are not an investor, or are only a smaller investor, you need to focus your efforts on creating inspiring content that makes investors want to give their money to you.

Whatever else they do or don't do with their money (including self-voting) is not your concern and does not harm you in any way.

Nevertheless, you do have a downvote that you can use to disagree with what you think are underserved rewards. I suggest using it."

"The idea of creating 'lists of shame' and demonizing people is divisive, creates a hostile and toxic environment attractive to no one, and serves no useful purpose.

There is no way to tell from these lists whether the content is deserving of the rewards or not. The only way to tell is by actually looking at the content, and if you think it is undeserving, downvote it."

"Your own statistics show that self-voting is awarding about 8.5% of the reward pool.

I don't find that suggestive of any problem whatsoever. It is probably a very reasonable number given that the current parameters give people 10 full power votes to make per day. Thus one is being applied to the voters' own content and nine to others' (on average, of course). Seems fine.”


Somehow, I'm not sure this will be a popular post. Applying rational logic to a popular topic doesn't always work that well. So be it.

Sort:  

I'm loving the pictures of you @surfyogi.

I think rather than taking out our pitchforks and hunting these people who self upvote we should as you said welcome people to the forums.

We have seen that people don't curate as much nowadays and we need to start helping other people grow rather than draining out voting power with flagging people on some futile list.

I agree that if someone has invested into the platform they should be allowed to take it upon themselves to in some way get a return of investment or else what is the point investing into something which you don't benefit from.

It doesn't bother me but I've seen my earnings starting to dwindle. I wish we had more people scouring the site looking to upvote great content rather than letting them subside and fade away.

BEST COMMENT AWARD!

I really like your style, and I hope you will upvote yourself for this comment.
Time to post your own Selfies too!

Well, I am completely in favor of Self-Voting. It's technically right as well.
Let's just say '' I have invested every cent I have , I work pretty hard to provide value content on Steemit and I share good posts by using my knowledge and experience so it's my right to reward myself. Its my money, my work and time'' Why do people have a problem about that?
About myself, I work hard, I help people and I share the content with proper research . After that I only recieve only few cents in the end, If I have a great steem power in my wallet, then of course I would use it to self-vote my content and get some exposure for it. No one is gonna give it to me out of generosity. As far as I have learned, On steemit there are only a few people who care about content, most of the people don't even read the post and upvote by just reading the Title to earn some curated Steem power.
Whales don't even look at minnows. So the best bet is Help Yourself :)

Anyways this is an important issue on Steemit. Thanks for spreading some light on it @surfyogi sir :)

@cryptonet is a bright light; I suggest you all follow him.

Thank you for your kind words sir :)

@surfyogi - You nailed it! I see the same issue discussed across the board on Steemit. You really very well answered it.

  • Focus on quality content!

That's my main focus. QUALITY CONTENT!

Oops! I just upvoted my own comment! Now people will put me in the blacklist. Lol!

Watch out, prepare to be SHUNNED by thousands of users!

Haha! Yes, that's the latest trend on Steemit!

Well @surfyogi, I remember you commented one of my posts and up voted your own comment, I have no problem with that I am not the morality police, I don't agree but I guess it comes down to what you think, what I didn't like was you made about 5 bucks off of a comment on my post and you didn't even up vote my post, not even at 1 per cent.

If a user had not created the content, then you wouldn't have the opportunity to post a comment to self-upvote? Does that not deserve at least some form of reward even if you do not like the original post @surfyogi?

Maybe it does. Are you going to sit around and judge other's behavior, on a daily basis?
Who has time for that?
I was a very new user at the time; do we give any allowance for "learning the system" as well?

No I'm not judging. Just pointing out a flaw in the system from my point of view. Great to see that you are upvoting others as well.

Yes, I do that, when I don't like the post... Sorry, it's not personal.
WE can all just get along, right?

Ouch, that is cold and I agree this is crossing the line @surfyogi.

What is really crossing the line, ARE VALUE JUDGEMENTS when someone does not vote for you, but votes for themselves, then IMPLIES many suppositions from this action.
Get over it. It happened. I don't remember why...

No, I am over it, I don't write articles justifying what I do, that would be you. But I really don't mind you up voting yourself, you can do it all you want, I even up voted your post.

I want to appeal to "judgemental personalities", that it does not serve us as a community to make judgement over others, on a case by case basis.
(Reminds me of the school grounds, sorry..)

There is acceptable behavior;
AND there is unacceptable behavior.

And for me that is the end of it. Each of us is either within the bounds or reminded to stay within the bounds, and I don't need to be judged otherwise. Thankyou.

IMO you shouldn't make a game that relies on the players not being self serving.

Such a good comment; do me a favor, and upvote yourself!

Sure why not lol.
Oh and much obliged for the upvote ;)

I think selfvoting is not a problem. If someone has been working on a profile development for month/years or invested money into the profile development than it is a reasonable thing to promote our created articles. If selfvote give an initial boost to the article value, sometimes help to others also, because with the curation rewards others gain income from the selfvote. If we look into this feature it will also help. On the other cases if we deny the selfvote everyone will register another account and delegate SP to vote to the newly created post. Is it better ? I think not :)

Yep, I'm in agreement with you on this one. I've invested in Steem, and as with all of my investments, I expect a return on it.

I try to shoot for a 50/50 split. I upvote somone else for every self upvote. This gives me an acceptable ROI on my investment from my perspective and also allows me to spread some love to others.

If I'm taking the effort to invest, interact and engage on the platform I see no reason why I shouldn't be able to do so.

I too believe this is entirely reasonable, and not cause for being spurned or humiliation, and no call for abuse.

I feel like if it's your SP , you should be the one in charge of deciding where to put it and where not to . This has been a hot topic these days , and honestly if it's worth the self upvote then maybe once a day should be okay for a self upvote

I've wondered what the general consensus is on self voting and it seems like there isn't one lol. I know people who'll upvote their own stuff and I don't have a problem with it as long as they're using most of their votes for other people's content (like 90% or more on other content).

I will admit I have upvoted my own post before after my SP got above 1000. I've put more of my own money into my account than I've earned (I invested about 60-65% of what I have here and earned the rest) and used almost all of it to power up and contribute to the community so I don't feel I'm hurting anyone by self voting. I won't upvote my own comment on someone else's post though.

Interesting debate. I think there's much bigger problems to address than the occasional self vote, namely the rampant spam that seems to get worse every day.

I agree there is no consensus. So I would try to build one, that sez, forget about it...

I told many people to "stuff it" until the FAQ addresses it.
Seems they were not impressed by my argument.

I think the best argument, is there is so much more to do, our focus is better served elsewhere.

"Someone who buys SP and then selfvotes is not 'draining' anything and at best can get back a portion of what was put in. It causes no harm at all."

Great quote and I agree 100%. Rather than demonizing you, people ought to be thanking you for powering up and helping to increase / prop-up the value of STEEM.

I was taught it's better to give than receive. Also to be self reliant. Are these now bad traits?

Good. Bad.
We can spend a lot of time in our lives, judging other's behavior, and be no better off for it...
What a waste of time (usually).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64911.06
ETH 3194.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60