Isaria's Big Day Out (Meetups and more, oh my!)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

The internet is a fascinating thing. People have this chance to portray themselves as they chose to be- extroverted when in person they might be more shy, or they have the opportunity to talk about a niche hobby that no one else in their home town is familiar with (like say.... crypto? steemit?). I have met so many people who are so different from me, that I might not have met and become friends with had it not been for steemit.


While we were in Austin, my husband Joel and I met with @swelker101 and @isaria, who I met through the Minnow Support Project on Discord. I begged them to pick the place, as we weren't familiar with the city and GPS was our only friend there. We all met at Radio Coffee and Beer, which sounds like an odd combination (coffee? beer?) but ended up being perfect. There was live music inside, but we could also be outside and be able to hear our conversations if we wanted to (we ended up spending the entire evening outside talking to each other). Isaria joked that she never gets out in public, and that I should name this post "Isaria's Big Day Out"- so I did. Shane also had a major case of tourettes when we started talking about ages- it's a delicate topic.

There are a lot of cool things about meetups, but one of my favorite parts is getting to not only meet great new people who are into the same things I am (steemit cough) but also getting to experience new places around the city. @intuitivejakob invited my husband and I to a reggae concert at Cervantes Masterpiece in downtown Denver. We had a fantastic time, had an opportunity to see a venue that we had never been before, and got to listen to some live music.


@torico celebrated her birthday with The Rocky Mountain Steemit group a few weeks ago. We all met up at Yak and Yeti, an Indian restaurant in Arvada. It was pretty cool for a number of reasons- it's in an old house, the food is amazing, it has its own brewery inside, and we got to talk crypto for a few hours.

I plan to get more people together for a camping trip at the Great Sand Dunes around the end of the month, so if you're in Colorado around that time, hit us up on the Rocky Mountain Steemit Discord group. We'd love to go camping with some new people in our area!

If you are no where near Colorado (it's ok, not everyone can be this cool) then set up meetups in your own area! Here are the basic steps:

  1. Find people on steemit or discord groups who are in your general location. A great place to see where people are located is by checking the @steemitworldmap
  2. Set up a meeting time and place. Make sure it's somewhere you're ok with being even if no one shows up (manage your expectations).
  3. Advertise it! Let people know you are planning an event.
  4. Be there. Don't be upset if it is small at first. The first Rocky Mountain steemit meeting had 5 people at it. Our largest had 15. You never know how big something will be.
  5. Have fun and be yourself! Make connections and offer your skills.

If you're curious about other posts I have written about meetups:
2017 Year in Review
Black and White Challenge Reflection
Rocky Mountain Meetups Recap
The People Behind the Scenes (An Ode to Meetups)



Photo 1 was taken by a random stranger
Photo 2 was taken by @intuitivejakob
All other photos and words are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Can't wait for the dunes!!

I love my local Steemit fam!

Yaaaaaas it's going to be amazing!

i hope i can come, even to some of it. still waiting on my landlord to get back to me. p.s. i cant believe that @isaria looks taller than you... my preconceived notions are shot!

It's going to be fun! And yes, she was a bit taller- meeting her and Shane was the highlight of Austin!

I also found many new friends and did meet-up because of Steemit. I am very glad that Steemit also gives a lot of picture of someone's character especially from the way they comment

Thank you for sharing your informative post

Where are you from that you've done some meet ups? That's so cool!

i like the photo bomb in picture #2

Ha! I hadn't even noticed!

Love it! I definitely want to come out to the camping trip! I've gotten along with all our RMS people and have met some awesome people I wouldn't have met otherwise

The RMS peeps are awesome, I must say. Either steemit draws amazing people or Colorado does, but I like to think it's both! Excited to finally meet you!

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

It was pretty cool for a number of reasons- it's in an old house, the food is amazing, it has it's own brewery inside, and we got to talk crypto for a few hours.
It should be its own instead of it's own.

what are you, some kind of grammar nazi?

Fighting illiteracy one misplaced apostrophe at a time

Resteem bot Service! Promote Your New Post.Find New Followers - Upvotes. Send 0.400 SBD to @stoneboy and your post url in memo and we will resteem your post to 9500+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83