Rocky Mountain Meetups [Recap]

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4264.JPG

Denver has had 4 Steemit meetups in October and November alone. The Rocky Mountain Steemit community is small but strong, and growing with every meetup. The first meetup that I attended was in a library, in a Denver suburb. There I met @lpfaust, @jimitations, and @geke. My husband and I were there, bringing our grand total to 5 people. This doesn’t sound like a ton of people, but you haven’t met @jimitations. He’s at least 50 people, all rolled up into one body. He did a Princess Bride impression that had me fan-girling a bit, it was that spot-on. I didn’t get many photos at this one, sadly, but here’s a gif from The Princess Bride to give you an idea of what we did (listen to Jim do his impressions and talk about Steemit).


One of the many skits Jim did- “Ha ha! You fool! You fell victim to one of the classic blunders - the most famous of which is ‘never get involved in a land war in Asia’ - but only slightly less well-known is this: ‘Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!’ Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!”

The next meetup was at Nighthawk Brewery, in between Boulder and Denver. Nighthawk was fun, the beer was delicious, although it was a little loud. There I got to meet @intuitivejakob, @torico, and @rebele93 for the first time, plus everyone who was at the first meetup. This brought our grand total up to 8 people! @rebele93 also brought a little prize- a steemit mug! @jimitations won the mug after playing a mean game of real life dice bitches.

DQmWEZ9FFwV6qr7y3cZhvuMhigvWpR8i2Y75FFb5FtLggCd.jpg
Photo source: https://steemit.com/steemit/@rebele93/meeting-recap-for-the-first-ever-colorado-front-range-steemit-meetup

On 10/26, we had the meetup at Mercury Cafe. Our meeting was short a couple of people, but we still had an opportunity to meet @rebelmeow, @in2itiveart and @amvanaken. The Mercury Cafe is a vegetarian restaurant with good food and a fascinating atmosphere. It’s brightly painted, with string lights across the ceiling. The owner is committed to running a sustainable restaurant, so it’s powered through solar and wind, composts, and does other things to be more green. Check out their website and all of their initiatives at http://mercurycafe.com/green/. Here I had the opportunity to meet @amvanaken, @rebelmeow, and @in2itiveart, although we were missing a couple of our previous regulars, so our number remained at 8.

IMG_4185.JPG

IMG_4182.JPG

They have sinks built into the toilets, so that the water gets two uses when you flush, instead of one.

Our most recent meetup was 11/4, in Colorado Spring at The Burrowing Owl. The Burrowing Owl is a vegan restaurant, but nothing tasted vegan. I was impressed, to say the least. They also had a ton of really good beers available, and some pretty cool art in the bathroom. When we first arrived, there was a bit of panic as we tried to figure out where we were going to seat the 15 people we were expecting, but @torico took charge and made sure we got a table. The usual suspects were there- @intuitivejakob @rebele93 @torico @geke, @jimitations, @twenty23three, @amvanaken, @in2itiveart and me- plus a couple new faces, including @broncnuts and @zoebean1. That puts us at 11 total for the evening! We had a great time talking all things crypto, and even had an opportunity to get an up close and personal look at the moon through @rebele93’s homemade telescope. He trusted me twice to hold some really expensive lenses after a couple of beers- brave man! My favorite quote of the night came from @broncnutz- "You've got to have balls the size of church bells to get involved with that".

IMG_4246.JPG
@amvanaken looking through the telescope

IMG_4256.JPG
Weird Yoda/ET are in the bathroom

All in all, it was a great time with some great people. We are a motley crew for sure- but we are gaining ground! If you live in the Colorado area and would be interested in meeting up, our next meetup is TBD.

If you live in the Colorado area, feel free to check out/get in contact with us at
Discord Channel: https://discordapp.com/invite/jHA8AY
Or at our group steemit account https://steemit.com/@rockymtnsteem
Rockymtnsteem will resteem and upvote all of your posts if you join and are part of the Colorado area. Feel free to follow to see some great posts by great people in the Colorado area.

Sort:  

too bad I don't drink coffee

Just because it's a coffee mug doesn't mean you have to drink coffee out of it ;)

Burrowing Owl is one of my favorite restaurants in Colorado Springs.im sad I misssed out in this one, but I'm looking to put together another accelerator Meetup at the end of November. Hope to see everyone there.

It was fun and we missed you! Are you feeling better?

@sunravelme I am, thank you. Just have a lot happening outside Steemit for the time being. I should start to get my schedule freed up close le towards the end of the month when I'm looking to do another accelerator Meetup. Been talking with @amvanaken about targeting November 30.

Really happy to see the community growing at a regular clip and I'm looking forward to meeting everyone I have not yet met.

It's a good group, for sure! Don't forget the balloons and cake to celebrate @geke and my birthdays :)

Good post! It was fun....glad you laughed at my quote. 😂😂😂

I need a post of broncnutz-isms! 😂

One of the reasons I joined Steemit was for the community and I look forward to being a part of the Rocky Mountain Steemit Community in the future.

Namaste

Looking forward to getting a chance to meet you! I believe the next one will be shortly after Thanksgiving

Sounds good. What's the best way to stay informed about the meetups?

Joining the discord group is the best way to stay informed about the meetups!

So let it be written, so let it be done.

Oh wow! I'll have to look up Steemit meetups in the Seattle area, these look like so much fun (and what awesome venues!).

It's really helping me get to know my city better, as well as the people :) plus we all support each other on steemit which is fun!

Chances are, there aren’t any yet, let us help you plan one! Build it, and they will come.

This is an excellent summary of our meetups so far @sunravelme! And also, thanks for shouting out @rockymtnsteem!

Absolutely! I love your initiative- just what our group needed to be a community!

awesome post! i am soo lazy not to do a steemit post...

i love that wall art. we should find out who it is and get them enrolled in steemit :)

Right? I would love to see other things that they have done

Sorry I missed this one. It looks like you guys had a lot of fun. Hope to be at the next one!

We missed you! I hope we will see you there

Great write-up of our recent meetups! It was fun seeing you and Joel the other night in Colorado Springs. I was happy so many of us have been participating!

We have a great group!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73