Stop & Smell the Flowers 💐🌸 🌺

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

(Stop or Alto- A picture I took years ago in Mascota, Jalisco Mexico)
AA6910E5-C532-4889-869F-7BD7FC6512B0.jpeg

It’s been a week on steemit and I finally got to claim my rewards for my first posting seven days ago. As plankton or red fish, a new member on steemit, it’s been a rewarding experience learning something new everyday and it has been eye opening while keeping me grounded. I’ve watched videos, read postings and have experimented using some services to help me on this journey. It always hasn’t been fun and games: there’s been plenty of times of dissatisfaction and times where I’ve learned to take a break to just smell the flowers (or roses or weed -if you may).
C1FB2F62-2B16-4D30-9F69-BEFF0F43D827.jpeg
(A picture taken years ago where I resided in San Francisco)

Now that there’s scientific evidence that implies that people are incredibly happier if they appreciate and have graditute in things in life, there’s no reason why you should live without being grateful or taking a break to help ease the tension. A study published in The Journal of Personality and Individual Differences illustrates how taking approaches in perceiving situations with meaningful and compelling gratitude simply make us more happier overall. The study proved that mindful thinking and appreciation significantly changed the level of satisfaction higher than ever known.

Appreciation has made a bigger impact than I ever imagined in my life. After I was diagnosed with Cancer, in October, I began to see life through a different perspective: a lens that sees more in little things. The things that had long been taken for granted, soon became undoubtedly valuable. The things that were superficial and shallow soon became irrelevant and insignificant. I had learned this lesson years ago through personal experience (I might share and post about that later), but it had never been so profoundly crystal clear in my life.
62963BD9-C787-485E-B466-5C68FFBA3D54.jpeg

Having lost all my hair throughout my body due to intensive chemotherapy, made me weary and insecure at first. Now I’ve learned and appreciated the benefits of having no hair. For once, I haven’t shaven now for over five months. I’ve saved on not having to pay for haircuts. I’ve also learned to love myself more being so smooth. However, the hair follicles are starting to erupt from my head. I can see them coming out and I see black dots appearing where my eyebrows once were. It’s been about a month since I finished my last final round of chemo. This is all good news to me. I’m just worried about how my after chemo hair will come out. (Remember, all that about not being superficial lol) Apparently, the majority of people, who lose their hair during chemotherapy, grow completely different type of hair after treatment. Some grow completely different textured hair and some even different color. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that you have to make the best of any situation that you are in. In return, you’ll be more satisfied and happy. Not only have we heard this saying over and over, but there’s scientific research to back it up: it’s not a myth or urban legend.
6AF31EBC-4BB5-4E2B-8BE4-66FC0E4042C1.jpeg
(The view from the hospital window the last day of treatment)

I have yet to find what my niche on steemit is and what I should post about. I’ll probably continue to experiment and post about a variety of topics to see the type of feedback I receive.

I was thinking of releasing a sextape, that’s in my possession, of a d-list celebrity who just got engaged.

I was thinking of releasing nsfw material.

I was thinking of reviewing items.

I was thinking of writing everything about cancer. However, I’m done with treatment and it’s a little too late to blog about all the everyday experiences l went through treatment.

I was thinking of writing breaking news material.

I was thinking of writing about serial killers or profiles of people who made a significant impact in our culture.

Etc.

Anyhow, please comment any feedback that you have: it’s really priceless and check out my other posts if you have the time & effort. Take some time today and each day to appreciate something new. Also, if you have any tips let me know.

#life #research #steemit #redfish #plankton #new #cancer #appreciation #graditude #happiness

Sort:  

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 4X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @sunnyego

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SunnyEgo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41