SUNDAY PROJECT -- BUILD 2 WALLS with 3 DOORS and a WINDOW -- PART 5 -- TIME TO GET MUDDY!!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Imgur Imgur
I Free Handed This
Thanks to the gremlins that have helped some not shown here

Free Handed

It has been about a month since I posted a follow up on this project. Here are links to
Project Part 1
Project Part 2
Project Part 3
Project Part 4
In the last update, I showed that the Wall Framing had been done. I also showed that the doors were put in place as well. We placed recessed lighting in between the ceiling joists, and were now waiting on the electrician as well as the Electrical Access Door installers.

I took a few days off the project while the electrician and other techs did their part on the project before beginning to install the drywall on the framing. When I returned, the Electric Door Buzz wiring was completed but the electrician still needed more time to complete his part. Since the building was old and a lot of the wiring needed to be brought up to date, it was taking some time to untangle the wiring mess that had been created in the past.

This gave me time assess the next phase and look out for trouble spots in some of the old framing, or where the new framing met the old framing/wall. Some of these trouble spots needed to be addressed or repaired prior to hanging any drywall. The other trouble spots I would deal with as we encountered them while installing drywall in that particular section. Once this was done, I was able to at least begin to place Drywall (sheetrock or gypsum board) in the front of the building and make my way towards the rear.

When the drywall was hung, I had to make cut outs for the electrical outlets and the recessed lights. Once the outlet holes where cut open, the electrician could then proceed to wire in the Outlets. For this project, some of the outlets will have USB Charging ports built into the Wall outlet itself allowing for any USB device to charge with their respective USB cable.

Imgur
Electrical Outlet w/ USB Ports

One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

So I had most of the front drywalled, including the ceiling. I left some of the smaller details for later, and began hanging drywall on the ceiling of the next room. Once part of the ceiling was done, I was then able to finish the inside of the new wall with the 2 Doors. I had to leave an opening for access to the Electrical Door Control Module, which allows for "buzzing" in or out the doors remotely.

Imgur
With a Remote Control, they can buzz you In or Out

I continued to drywall another room and its ceiling. Then I had to remove a door and its frame from a back room and reframe for a Window instead. Once that was done I proceeded to hang drywall on the frame and around the window. Thinking that things were moving along with only one room left to drywall, it was then realized that the top Electrical outlet where the Electrical Door Module received power had tripped a fuse and now was not working. The electrician required some of the drywall to be removed in order to access some of the wiring. It turned out there was an electrical short due to the way some of the old wiring was done. Once that was corrected, and tested, I had to hang the drywall in place, again.

Imgur
From 2 doors, to now a window and door
- note the looped black wire, for ceiling surveillance camera
- Squiggly wire between window and Door is for the A/C Thermostat
- Below the wire is a cutout to place another USB outlet

Imgur

In the front room, the window opening had the quartz base with stainless steel tray installed. The glass should be coming any day now. There a few minor details that need to be done before proceeding to the taping and mudding of the drywall. I will repost again to show you how that comes along.

Imgur
Imgur
Imgur

If you have any questions or suggestions, please let me know!
09/30/16
Full $teem Ahead!
@streetstyle
My Top Blogs
- Losing into a Winner
- Baby STEEM
Sort:  

The project has come a long way.. looks great! Can't wait to see the finished product and the grand opening.

gonna need a little more of your help @czar

Ohh yea.. tell me when, I'll get the coffee.

Almost there Bro
Near completion

Thanks for keeping up with me @bullionstackers I appreciate it. And it is getting there, now to get past the taping and mudding of the drywall and on to primer and painting.
full $teem ahead!

I am all excited, all Steem up with my Steem power.
Very close to 1000 . Ye ha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56905.43
ETH 2398.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26