Sunday Project - Build A Wall with a Door And Window - PART 2 - 2ND WALL

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Imgur

Round 2

On Sunday, I began this project that someone asked me to do. It is not what I do for a living, it is just something I know how to do, and what I don't know how to do or have never done, then I usually just ask Google.
I am not perfect nor the best, but I try to be.
( Part 1 In case you want to read that. )

It's Not a Square
Imgur

Part 2 of this project commenced today, and it consisted of a 20 Foot Wall with 2 - 36" wide doors. The first thing I had to do was figure out if the floor was level, which it was not. Then, since the building is not perfectly square, I had to make sure that my wall was going to be straight and square (90 degree angle) from the 1st wall I built, so I had to create some parallel lines that I would use help me keep the wall straight. This is an old building with a lot of sag from time, and a lot of wild builds, and fixes that have been done to it through time. Most of it not done very well, which can always lead to problems. So in this case, an uneven floor and sagging Ceiling joists called for a little extra time in order to make sure the wall would come out Strong, Straight and Level.

Imgur

After that, time to drill through the tile and cement in order to place cement anchors on the floor. These bolt the frame down to the floor. Once that was done, then came time to put up the 20 foot frame with studs. At this point in the project, I have installed most of the 2nd wall and one door frame opening. Stay tuned for more.
Any questions or suggestions let me know.
Full $teem Ahead!
(ps Thought I would throw in a little verification, just in case)
Imgur


Imgur
008/16/16
@streetstyle

My Top Blogs
- STEEMD -The Dash Panel
- I'm a Dolphin Now

Sort:  

it looks awesome man @streetstyle

Thanks @vishal1 I will post more as it gets further along.

It's coming along well so far man! Can't wait to see it all finished up! @streetstyle

Thx @kainmarx Wasn't sure if anyone would be interested or care. Most of my STEEMIT posts get hits and up votes, everything else not so much. I know with time that will change.
full $teem ahead!
@streetstyle
ps, check out my blog for Different stuff.

No problem! It might just be me, but I tend to love engineering/architectural/build projects, it's amazing to me to see the process and something come from an idea into fruition. :P

I'll definitely be checking out your blog, I've followed you since we first met, I've just been incarcerated the past 12-14 days or so, so I've got a lot of catching up to do haha.

@kainmarx Thanks for the support. I am glad you are out and now just stay out.

Nice looking construction. I have done this sort of thing just recently on my house which is about 200 years old and hardly anything was straight what with sagging beams and uneven floors. Like you this is not what i do for a living but can do with some help from researching google and youtube. The picture below is the beefed up floor structure that i did in my upstairs living room. Thought the picture might interest you! Keep up the good work streetstyle.

Wow nice @bobbylee
ATTN: EVERYONE -- please follow or up vote @bobbylee -- HE ALWAYS SUPPORTS -- he votes and replies -- I am Happy to be a Good Dolphin Like him now.

You should be ok so long as you did not take out that supporting wall and it conforms to building regs.

Thanks @dava-hughes . Nothing is load bearing, so yeah it will be ok, it just makes it a little harder when plans change as you go and then the building doesn't help due to its age. But you are right, it will work out....just never easy is all.
full $teem ahead!
@streetstyle

You are good with your hands, congrats! That's a huge asset.

I only know how to type. My hands are otherwise useless with tools :(

A man who does not think and plan long ahead will find trouble right at his door.

What do you like watching the most on television?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39