Why i'll become a whale, and you won't. A quick guide on understanding this platform and it's rulers.

in #steemit8 years ago

What's up Steemers!

Catchy title huh? Good. Now that i've got your attention, let me explain some basic knowledge i've learned over the last few weeks.

To rephrase it in another catchy headline;

Why i'm making big dollars on my posts - and you're not.


photo credits

Understand the distribution AKA 'The distribution is unfair!' 'Whales have to many power!'

There's your first mistake. Stop thinking this way. If you want to change the distribution, then do your very best to become a whale yourself instead of whining about it.

We seem to forget that, by definition, every upvote a whale gives, they give away some of their powers to others. In time this means the distribution of power will be flattened down and distributed more equally. Steemit had a steep curve of new users and posts increase lately. This gives the impression that only a handfull of whales have enough power to make or break you.

What they're really doing, is selecting new whales to join them and have more accurate currations and quality posts. If they see an article or author they like, they start to upvote him, making the author climbing up the ranks of Steem based on some points they think is in the best intrest for this platform and it's future. And by this, giving away some of their powers to equally distribute them.

Stop writing what you think will be trending, start writing what you want.

So far i've made some good quality posts, but also some stupid posts. I really don't care - I post whatever i feel i should post at that moment. I don't monitor http://catchawhale.com/ before posting, i don't think about the tags. If my story feels good, i simply post it.

One of my stories about a dark period in my life took me alot of guts to publish on Steemit, forever in the blockchain. It never really picked up traction, and i really never looked back and say "damm, i hoped it would make some money".

No. I'm glad i posted it, because i had the urge to tell my story for the first time.
Posting it set my demons that kept haunting me free, making it priceless to myself.

Contribute to the Steem community and stop whining!

Recently i've started the initiative of STEEMPAYMENTS, an opensource payment gateway for Steem. This is my part of contribution towards this community that gives me money to read what i love to write.

You heard that? I don't take my earned dollars for granted.
I give for what i receive, that's what a community is about.

Get involved with other author's posts, show yourself in the chatroom, make yourself a valuable asset of this platform.

Drop the negative mentality, we don't hate you!

Stop complaining in your own posts about Steemit. Don't expect to get big upvotes by complaining about not receiving any. Stop thinking you can just jump in, take our money and leave.

Nobody hates you, sometimes, you just failed to make yourself known to us.

Thank you for reading

Keep on Steeming!

Not looking for upvotes or $, just trying to make a point to many users out there if they ever read my posts

Sort:  

When i first started steemit i was thinking that is a good opportunity to earn money from your stories, from your content. I started to post my stories.. my original content and i didn't get any $$ but guess what ? Instead of getting angry because i didn't made any money.. i started to realize that only good things happened after all my posts.

What i mean by good things happen, i realized that my content isn't good enough and i have to make it better. I like to make videos.. so i went to ebay and from my last economies i bought a professional camera to make my videos in better quality.. to have better content.

I also realized that i have to improve my editing video skills so i started to learn how to do it better.

Everything ends to a better content, better remembers, better life quality and so on.

Cheers to you for that!

This is how ideas come, please check my post about how i put my shoulder to the Steemit community !

https://steemit.com/steemit/@denisoi/how-i-put-my-shoulder-to-the-steemit-community

Thank you in advance !

@steve-walschot great post and attitude. I think you are on the right track to help yourself through helping others create better Steemit content. By improving the curation of content and the quality of posts by relating to subjects one is passionate about the whole ecosystem on Steemit benefits. This provides everyone a financial incentive to "reward" the best posts and the people, such as yourself, helping to encourage quality material from everyone else. -PJ

You're telling me I can't just get rich posting memes?
Fuck this shit I ouuda heear

Lambie loves those ponies... :P

Another great post from you! I've made the same mistake as you mentioned. Always looking for what's trending and write about it without proper research and hoping to be big. When it doesn't, I'll get disappointed. The only post of mine that get me a considerable amount of vote is about the lessons I learned from a holiday I went recently. Your insight really helps. Maybe I should start posting something true to myself. N try put to contribute my story to community as my primary goal.

I will be doing the basic knowledge,you suggest by this post.
thank you!

keep posting good content, dont think about how to get dollar, dollar will follow your good content, when people realized your content diserved to get upvote

Thanks for another cool post helping us to become whales :-)
Yesterday, I got my first large hit with my post. Totally unexpected :-)
Your tutorials may have helped :D

Glad to have inspired you @logic, keep on Steeming!

Thank you for this post! I am also carving my path on the way to become a whale. I have some ideas I think could really help the entire community, but my platform is too small right now to make a big ripple. Hopefully like minded people can brainstorm together and come up with great ideas to add value in the long run. I know people can make a quick viral post in the short run, but creative content, networking and building a reputation are what I see building a great platform in steemit. I have a few ideas of my own. Feel free to contact me at [email protected] Maybe we can collaborate on something cool and split the profits or give one or the other an idea we can run with. I like to see people that don't piss and moan and actually get things done. I'll follow you for when that feature becomes available to see the feeds of those you enjoy.

good point of view @steve-walschot
writers need to focus on words not on the pennies 8]

i agree with the posting what you want instead of what's trending. if people just post what's trending, steemit is going to get pretty boring fast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56