I'm going to put myself forward as being "....the most boring on Steemit"..!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

The Most Boring on Steemit

If there was a competition for "The Most Boring on Steemit" I think I would win hands down.....

.....let me explain why..!!

Being in the category of probably one the oldest on Steemit and having been blogging for over 5 months I thought I would explain why I am most likely the most boring here.

There appears to be a number of people who are obsessed with how much their posted blogs earn and how much the current price of Steem is.

Reaching the tender age of 50 last year I have a different outlook to most I have met here in as much as Steemit, Steem, SteemFest and the whole Steem EcoSystem cannot be valued in a year.

For me you have to take a longer view on how Steem and the rest of the infrastructure will perform in time.

Anything less than a 5-7 year view is nothing more than speculation and that is why all I am interested in is not the Dollar value of Steem but the sheer fact that Steem holds it's value against the Dollar.

WEALTH CREATION

Ask any successful Investor and they will tell you that wealth creation is only done when you go against the norm.

The Global Financial System is geared upon the fact that most people will go with the masses and therefore will not create individual wealth.

Individual wealth can only be created when you take the opposite view and position of the rest of the crowd.

Wealth will never be created if everyone did exactly the same, as this would create nothing more than a zero sum gain.

STEEM

While most people have their heads full off $s, £s, s or whatever currency they use, my head is full of Steem.

$s, £s, s and all other Fiat Currencies are Debt Instruments whose real value is dropping in time.

Steem on the other hand is the total opposite. It has NO DEBT..!!

As a measure of value over time it will not be Steem that is going up, it will be that ALL Fiat Currencies will be going down.

Steem is Social Media gold and over time not only will it hold it's value against Fiat Currencies, it will go up..!!

5-7 years

Ask me in 5-7 years time whether I got it right or not rather than looking at what Steem is worth today, tomorrow, next week or next month.

For this reason alone I believe I win hands down "The Most Boring on Steemit"..!!


Thanks for reading.

Stephen

Sort:  

Thanks for admitting it.
So I am upvoting, the boring person?

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.72 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Boring? Not so much!
I loved reading your post and your picture made me giggle!
Going to follow you around now!

Thanks. I must admit I did have a quick giggle when I was making it. From a distant it looks like I'm wearing a cap. I know, because I stood about 30 ft away from the screen just to check. ;). Stephen

Not sure how you arrive at claiming to be the most boring person, wait till you reach your 6th decade;/
I am new to Steemit, follow Titus Frost here, but have found a wealth of great information and insight, very much enjoy your content Stephen and looking forward to learning more, cheers

Ha ha, well I dont think you are boring Stephen and you are as old as the woman you feel. As Trump lol!
I agree, I am also in it for the long game. I see Steemit as though it was Facebook 11 years ago. Facebook was revolutionary back then and once people began to understand its interactive power, it went ballistic.
Steemit is also revolutionary in that it is the first social media platform built onto a blockchain, plus tied to its own crypto.currency. As far as I am concern, this was simply genius and is without question the future in many ways.
As we begin to see, the first migration is coming from facebook members who begin to understand that it is "they" who are making Facebook shareholders rich by adding "their" content and by clicking "likes" .
Like Adam Curtis said in his recent docu masterpiece Hypernormalization; "The more people click, the more money the corporations make"
When they understand that by adding "their" content to Steemit, they are also adding to the value of Steemit, only this time they themselves are the shareholders. Thus, as member "content" grows so will Steemit´s value.
As well as this, Steemit is in a unique position at the moment and one that I dont see being exploited. In a world of fake news. fake media , any source that gets a reputation for truth, sincerity and integrity, will become very valuable indeed. Steemit has got a built-in system for this with its reputation levels. It might not be perfect but it is the best we have got on the web today. It is not only the censorship factor that is valuable but its the reputation for truth.
Being on the blockchain backs up this truth value.
In a way, I see it like a company that gains a reputation for fair honest business trading. As we saw in 2008, the companies that were dishonest were the first to crash because there was nothing in them. The companies that were honest, although only a few, did survive and went on to thrive.
I came to Steemit from Faceook, as I say, the first migration is coming from there. But there is also those who are not on facebook and for them Steemit will fell very natural.
When I saw that Facebook and reddit were censoring I was very happy because I knew this would only drive people away. And where will they go?
The future for Steemit is only bright and only Steemit members themselves can destroy it. For like the Roman Emperor Markus Aurelius once said " An empire does not fail by invading armies threatening its gates. No, an empire falls when its own people stop believing in it."
It was only when Romans stopped believing in the concept of Rome that their currency also fell. It was not a war that destroyed Rome. It was the fall of its currency. Both are indelibly linked. As is the US dollar.
Oh shit, I just realized, perhaps this was this a boring reply😃

You made a lot of great points.

"...the first migration is coming from facebook members who begin to understand that it is "they" who are making Facebook shareholders rich by adding "their" content and by clicking "likes" .." You nailed it. Thanks for the support and comment. Stephen

Great points. Sometimes short term goals of great posts are needed for encouragment or to have spare money sitting around but your right on l9long term there is more value

Thanks. Hopefully it will make more to think long term. Cheers. Stephen

Valuable analysis, great steemit wig and you are far away from being boring :-)

Stephen it is post like yours that make me 'wish/goal' in to existence an ability to "Messenger" other users this information 'instantly'. I'm one year behind you in the Race Age with the speedometer hitting 49. I have a co-worker who just 'on-boarded' last night. Being "Mind-Blown" on how he see's things at the 'tender age of 22'. Nice Guy, took two months to get him 'up to speed'. He's @mrkroonsteem welcome him if you wish. Key aspect in your post: No Debt! People fail at economics above the length of 1 Month. IMHO.

Cheers. Thanks for the comment and support I appreciate it. Stephen

Stephen,
You are definitely not the oldest person on SteemIt. I have you beat by the better part of a decade.
While not everyone's post is their best post and not everyone's post is the worst post, there is value in consistency.
Your posts are informative and thought provoking. I have gotten more that a few ideas from your posts.

Even though a person may not make a lot on there post, making connections and building one's reputation is important too.

Steem on,
Mike

"Even though a person may not make a lot on there post, making connections and building one's reputation is important too." Nailed it. I could not agree more. Thanks Mike. As always thanks for the support. Stephen

Full head of steem, funny :)
Love it

Thanks. I hope people didn't think it was a wig..!! Thanks for the support. Stephen

Seriously, when I saw it first from thumbnail view, I think it a wig. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57910.39
ETH 2452.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35