Curation myths, minnows, and implications, post017

in #steemit6 years ago

I've been on Steemit now for around 2-3 months and have a SP of around 50. (All my profit goes into SP.) I've made a few observations about curation that I thought were noteworthy. At first, these observations were focused on how minnows should operate if they want to profit from curation, but as I thought about them more, I recognized that they were observations that everyone should consider for the good of Steemit on the whole.

1. Myths

1.1 Upvote good ($uccessful) content

We're told that curation means finding good posts, upvoting them, and sharing the profit. This is true, sort of, but not really. Consider the community leaders that routinely have $50-100 profit for their posts, typically having 100+ upvotes. (Do they really have 100+ readers within the first 20 minutes of the work being posted? I don’t think so.)

Why upvote them?

To get noticed? If there are over 100+ votes, it is unlikely you'll be noticed, especially as a minnow.

To profit? I've never profited upvoting a popular Steemian. These posts have 100+ voters, many of whom have higher SP than I do.

I'm not saying that you shouldn't upvote these posts, especially if you enjoy the content, but I am saying that you shouldn't upvote them with the expectation of a payout.

1.2 Optimal upvotes come at 27 minutes

We're told that the optimal time to upvote is 27 minutes to maximize curation profits. Basically this balances "losing" profit to the authors versus the competition among curators. Again, as a minnow, if you're competing for curation and trying to find the optimal vote time, then you've already lost because the vote is going to be diluted.

Admittedly, if the author is using upvote services in a massive fashion, there might be something said for upvoting within the 30 minute window, but otherwise this is a losing race.

1.3 Older posts aren't worth upvoting

From what I can tell, once my posts are over 24 hours old, or even older than 30 minutes many times, they might as well be erased for all time. If you're looking to profit from curation, and you are a minnow, then this myth is true, mostly. It isn’t true in the case where authors receive upvotes from comminties such as @steemstem, @utopian-io, etc, because these upvotes sometimes come later in the post’s life.

I find this heartbreaking because it means that almost nobody is reading and upvoting my posts for the content, only because of the potential for payout.

2. Curation for minnows

Addressing Steemit purely as an economic game, you have to think in terms of it being a game. Being a small fish, means that playing the same game as everyone else will result in your losing. Imagine if everyone bets on the same horse at the track, or the same stock in the market, there is no profit.

How then do you win?

You bet on the outsider. Find an unknown Steemian, someone that is active, posting frequently. They should have no more than 4-5 upvotes per post, and preferably they don't regularly use upvote bots, since this attracts too much attention. They should have posts with payouts typically ranging $0.00 to $0.05 with random posts receiving $50.00, which come from sponsors such as DTube or DLive.

Finding a Steemian such as this, means that upvoting all their content will result in your having continual payouts of 0.10 SP per week. This isn't huge, but consider that upvoting popular authors nets you 0.00. My having 0.10 SP profit, while holding 50 SP, means a constant income of 0.2% weekly. My knowledge of economics math is limited, and I might be wrong here, but I calculate this to be around 10.4% APR compounded weekly.

The process of finding outsiders needs to be continually revised. If you did find someone that is successful, they will eventually become popular and at that point you will no longer profit from upvoting them. On the other hand, if you find a dud, a Steemian that has nothing to offer, their rewards from DTube, DLive, etc, will eventually disappear and you need to move on.

3. Greater implications

From my perspective, the observations here are that the curation process is kind of stuck right now primarily due to the myths and economic forces. I mean, highly voted Steemians will continue to be highly voted, for reasons that are not well justified and posts older than 30 minutes old will continue to be neglected. Small Steemians will continue to whither.

How did this all happen?

My knowledge of the history is limited, but from what I can tell post-mortem, during the Steem boom upvote services boosted the curation profits, typically voting at 30 minutes. This means that anyone wishing to take parasitic profits would need to vote at 25-29. Even now, during the crash, as the profitability of bots diminish, the folklore continues to drive this.

It seems to me that there needs to be a cultural reset, if only temporary, to get users to begin upvoting both more diversely and for posts greater than a few days old.

One approach to driving this might be to ask institutions and communities, such as @dtube, @dlive, @steemstem, @steemkitchen, @utopian-io, etc., only vote once a post is over 4 days old, thus keeping the readers awaiting the potential upvote. If other upvote services, such as @minnorbooster, and @smartsteem would be willing to play along, this also would be beneficial. Perhaps an approach that upvote services could take would be to implement a sliding scale based on the time of the vote, i.e., they could charge more for votes occurring before day 4. (Of course this doesn't make economic sense for the upvote service so some other incentive should be considered.)

4. Postscript

Please do not consider this as an anti-bot post. I do think that bots have been overall damaging, but as a new member, I also see that bots are the only way for minnows to get noticed. The upvote circles formed by the first-generation Steemians are exclusionary, and climbing to the point that one can participate means either buying in (During a crash? Nope!) or using upvote services. Basically, there are some serious cultural problems here on Steemit that need to be addressed. Curation, bots, and upvote circles are just the forefront of deeper issues.

Thank you for taking the time to read and consider this.

Sort:  

thank you. Answered a lot of my questions. great article

Thanks. I've been thinking about this a great deal. I just posted a comment on someone else's article that elaborates my feeling about this situation: https://steemit.com/steem/@spbeckman/re-mejustandrew-yet-another-one-20180702t014320651z

Many good thoughts--five days later, I'm upvoting and commenting. Your frustration reflects the way a lot of people feel who are trying to get a foothold here. As for your system--I would find it very unpleasant to try to time my upvotes and pick posts by potential reward. I try to look for posts I actually like. Rarely will I upvote something that obviously took little effort. I love to write, and spend a lot of time on my posts. I comment on good posts and only say what I honestly believe. Will this lead to success? I don't know. But I am comfortable in my skin, going forward in this way. The limiting factor of course, is the vote ration we get each day. This means I have to be judicious in meting out those votes. That's the hard part for me. Pulling back, when I'd like to endorse. I'll follow you, even though that may mean little. If you post good content, I'll try not to miss it. If my vote ration isn't depleted, you'll get my vote, no matter the potential reward. Good luck on Steemit.

I agree with you about upvoting based on pleasure rather than profit. My post is commenting on the culture and mythology that I've found here that (1) is mistaken and (2) makes posting here unpleasant.

I've been experimenting with steemvoter, autovoting various steemians, and have simply found that upvoting the small, unknown user is more profitable than voting for a well-known writer. It seemed like something worth posting.

I understand. Frankly so much about the mechanics of the platform are beyond my ken that I ignore them. I just figure, stick to what I know and hope for the best. Never do anything that makes me uncomfortable. Of course information is good, and you should share what you know. Thank you for that.

It is worth making one final comment, since it is past the seven days I can't edit the post directly. Extending section 2, if the small steemian you're autovoting receives too large of upvotes from a supporter, i.e., DTube or another curation project, then your curation reward again will be tiny. I've found my curation payouts have frequently been destroyed by DTube because they upvote with too much power for someone with my limited SP to compete against.

Curation tips:

If curation is the game, it’s all about frontrunning.

You can frontrun:

  • Bidbots (chech their wallet activities or the bottracker to see open bids and find URLs)
  • Utopian and the likes (follow mod comments)
  • OCD: both OCD orcas who upvote the OCD posts usually upvote them some hours after the daily selection is published already.
  • Follow upvotes for the most prolific Curie curators and discover what usually gets the Curie stamp of approval. Not every curator upvote also results in a Curie upvote but it isn’t that hard to get a feel for it.

Great article! The value may currently be created by top rated Steemians but that will change as more minnows become more engaged!

As part of the #minnowuprising initiative, I am providing you an upvote to motivate your commitment to the #Steemit community! As the platform continues to expand, it is imperative that we come together and support each others content. It is a long process to become a minnow here but also a journey well worth taking as the knowledge and learnings achieved are beneficial for our personal growth as well as a step forward to improving our financial position. Please consider supporting the #minnowuprising initiative by continuing posting content as well as curating and upvoting content of others. Details are one my latest post. Thanks!

Thank you for your support, I appreciate it. I look forward to continuing participating in Steemit, both as an author and as a curator.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 16 SBD worth and should receive 125 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Useful information. Thank you for writing this.

Congratulations @spbeckman! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67