You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation myths, minnows, and implications, post017

in #steemit6 years ago

Many good thoughts--five days later, I'm upvoting and commenting. Your frustration reflects the way a lot of people feel who are trying to get a foothold here. As for your system--I would find it very unpleasant to try to time my upvotes and pick posts by potential reward. I try to look for posts I actually like. Rarely will I upvote something that obviously took little effort. I love to write, and spend a lot of time on my posts. I comment on good posts and only say what I honestly believe. Will this lead to success? I don't know. But I am comfortable in my skin, going forward in this way. The limiting factor of course, is the vote ration we get each day. This means I have to be judicious in meting out those votes. That's the hard part for me. Pulling back, when I'd like to endorse. I'll follow you, even though that may mean little. If you post good content, I'll try not to miss it. If my vote ration isn't depleted, you'll get my vote, no matter the potential reward. Good luck on Steemit.

Sort:  

I agree with you about upvoting based on pleasure rather than profit. My post is commenting on the culture and mythology that I've found here that (1) is mistaken and (2) makes posting here unpleasant.

I've been experimenting with steemvoter, autovoting various steemians, and have simply found that upvoting the small, unknown user is more profitable than voting for a well-known writer. It seemed like something worth posting.

I understand. Frankly so much about the mechanics of the platform are beyond my ken that I ignore them. I just figure, stick to what I know and hope for the best. Never do anything that makes me uncomfortable. Of course information is good, and you should share what you know. Thank you for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68666.90
ETH 3251.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67