PTSD while reading "The comments" -- Why I am still struggling with Steemit engagement... suggestions welcome

in #steemit6 years ago

abearwon.jpg
I only just this minute realize why I have such a hard time with reading and responding to comments that people have been kind enough to leave for me here on Steemit. 10 years ago, or more I was involved in blogging. I got into a flame war with some Scientologists and I was mobbed online and doxxed. I tried for awhile to just ignore the comments and stuff that they left for me... and I developed a position that it really was never worth it to read the comments that people left on my blog... or to google myself to find out what some horrible scientologists were saying about me. It's actually been 7 or 8 years since I googled myself. I just don't want to know.

So now that I have figured this out... I think I will try harder now to retrain myself to start reading the comments. I'm older now... I've experienced a terrible health crisis. I just don't have the energy for long debates with people. And that's another part of why I have a hard time with comments. People are leaving nice things when I peek at them... and they are so nice that I really want to give a great response... I want to be thoughtful and have the right words... and I keep meaning to do that... I keep intending to give a great response. But then I tell myself I will come back to it when I have more time and energy... and then I rarely do... MOSTLY BECAUSE I still have this reluctance to spend a huge amount of time in "the comments" section.

I hope people can understand this and relate to it.

I'm working on it. I promise. :)

Sort:  

What an amazing pic, positive vibes to you!!!!

you do it in your way and thats fine, you have just reached out now to us and explained. Thank you for that.

I think your posts are crafted with great care and I feel fortunate that you reached out in the very beginning. By sharing your experience and wisdom with us here humanity benefits as a whole. If only for a few moments I consider that I should also be more thoughtful, patient, and mindful of what I do it not only changes me, but everyone around me. There is great value here. I'm looking forward to learning more. Don't underestimate the impact of your words. You can potentially bring about great benefit to the universe weather you're aware of it or not. Good vibes...I can feel it.

I can't complain. We have been commenting under each other's posts a lot. We had a real easy time finding trust. So, I think trust is the key. If you start to know everybody better, it'll be much easier. Plus: Noone knows your name. I know, they could find it out but I don't think trolls waste that amount of time. Join the MSP waves show from aggroed next time. There are lots of helpful and nice people! I'm on there right now, if you accidentally should catch it at the time. It's a voice room on the PAL discord server.
Big hug

I understand your reluctance.

Up to this point in time, Steemit has mostly been a "good community" experience. The biggest problem, still not too big, is mindless spam comments, not so much trolling.

Oh, yeah, there have been flag wars, but that's mostly been over Steemit itself and the rewards pool. I think most users who don't try to abuse the system have been able to avoid those spats.

In any case, I'm glad to know of you, I support what you're trying to do insofar as I have seen it thus far, and I wish you well!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Wonderful photography ..Good relation a baby and animal..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46