An Open Letter: I Started With My Hands Shaking

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

quote20171203115303.jpg

This is an open letter to my friends who already signed up on Steemit but are quite afraid to post for the first time because they don’t have any idea what to write. I hope this shared journey will encourage all of you, including those who are doubtful about their writing skills, to give Steemit a try.


Exactly two months ago, I signed up for Steemit. All I know was “I will join this for monetary gains”. Yes, that is what I’m after, but that was before. Before I met genuine people. Before I discovered how writing could be so much fun. Before I regained my passion in Arts. Indeed, Steemit helped me regain my passion and desires for the things I love.

I can still remember the first time I posted, that was my Introductory post. My hands were literally shaking. I was too afraid to click the “post” button for I was frightened I might have done it in an erroneous way. The worst thing I was afraid of? The feeling of being unnoticed. I was too afraid no one would ever give a damn since I am only a newbie, but everything turned out to be the exact opposite.

I actually thought starting my journey here is the hardest part. As time goes by, I realized that being consistent in posting quality posts is even harder. There were days when I started to question myself why am I even here? Is it worthy to continue? I don’t even have something to write! If only I could write about that floating sh*t on our toilet bowl, I would. Hahahaha

But those were the days I cherish the most. Those were the days I started to question my purpose. Those were the days I challenged myself to pursue what I have started. Those were the days I got to know myself more.

Slowly, I realized I don’t need to force myself just to have something to post. Slowly, I learned to write anything that interests me regardless of how others may perceive it. Slowly, I regained my artistic side which seemed to be forgotten ages ago. Slowly, I unleashed the writer in me. Slowly, I learned I don’t have to look farther just to find an inspiration, because reading other people’s stories here on Steemit is one of the greatest things that motivates me when I don’t feel like writing at all.

Slowly, I realized that Steemit isn’t only about me, that Steemit exists for other people as well. And those people deserve the same amount of appreciation as much as I want to be appreciated.

I am not brave, but I still tried. I am no poet, but I still wrote. I have no guts, but I started. I started with my hands shaking and with my heart pounding. But still, I started.

So what are you waiting for? Bring those tear-jerking Facebook posts, lengthy Tumblr blogs, heart-breaking Twitter tweets, funny 9gag memes, amazing Instagram photographies, and even your witty Youtube videos here on Steemit! And get rewarded for it!

Friends, I am not encouraging you to join Steemit solely for monetary purposes. Because if I were after the financial gains alone, I should’ve stopped already considering most of my posts got only less than a dollar.

Friends, I want to share the opportunity to experience what I’ve been experiencing for the past two months. It gave me a much broader perspective in life, it helped me release my emotions through writing, and it helped me gain a lot of friends. I also found community for Filipinos, namely: @bayanihan, @steemph, @steemph.cebu.

As what @jassennessaj said, we don’t get a single penny for referring you here on Steemit. All we want is to share this amazing opportunity.

So start with what you have. Start with what you’ve got. Start with your hands shaking. Just Start, and you will be amazed with the results.


Tip: It would be ideal to make your Introductory Post as your first post. This is essential in order to verify your identity here on Steemit. Actually, I am doing a draft at the moment on how to structure your Introductory Post effectively. Hopefully, I can finish this ASAP. Still, you can search other helpful posts here on Steemit to assist you with your Intro Post.


Allow me to share my Introductory Post with you:

Hi, I'm Sheila -- Investing Engineer, Financial Literacy Advocate, Portrait Artist

These are previous articles written by our fellow Steemians which may be of great help:

Advantages of Using Steemit by @zararina

Steemit Quick Start Guide: Step by Step from Registration to First Post by @thecryptofiend

Steemit New User Tips: IntroduceYourself/Introduction Post by @shayne

To be guided about the technical writing format, please take time to study Markdown techniques:

Markdown Cheat Sheet

Consider reading my previously-posted article about Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency as well:

Basic Understanding Of Bitcoin And Cryptocurrency

smaeunabs.jpg

Sort:  

@alchemage has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an BiggerUpvote send 0.5 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an BiggerUpvote and a reSteem send 1.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Hey there

welcome! to the steem room!

welcome to steemit, nice

Happy steemit !!! cheers

welcome to steemit smaeunabs

enjoy and happy steemit !!

Same feeling here.. Thank you for the encouragement, my dear! :*

Hahahahahaha congrats on your first comment :D

Just Returning the favor--Thanks Mae ;)

You are more than welcome!!! Hey! Beep me if you're about to post intro na :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63062.73
ETH 2687.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54