The Road to SteemFest 3: Business or Pleasure?

in #steemit6 years ago

This is a continuation story sponsored by @anomadsoul and his idea for this week was mentioned in the last SteemFest 3 post here.

b3vn0kuy62.jpg

I haven’t been keeping up with these weekly updates as until last week I was not 100% sure I was going, but now the cash has left my pocket and I’m paid up I will keep with the stories.

My previous posts about the #roadtosteemfest are here and here, in fact this is only the THIRD one I have written.

This week’s topic is an interesting one as I’m sure some are attending to try and meet a friendly whale to see them free from anonymity. @anomadsoul’s words not mine, but seeing as there are fewer than 100 whales, an Orca may be a more feasible target.

This trip has cost me £1000 and 3 days off work and I could well have stayed home, and powered up using that £1000 which would net me around 1700 STEEM by today’s prices thus propelling me up to around 8000 STEEM.

lxpcrwv636.png
Source

Not a bad idea considering, but that would be boring wouldn’t it? Life isn’t just about business, it’s about kicks and I have maintained that ideology for many years now.

If you are not enjoying what you are doing, then get the hell out of there and find something you do.

Of course I’m attending because I want to meet some of the people I have been interacting with. Anyone who is going and splashing out the kind of money required to attend SteemFest is probably not powering down, is serious about their investment and has some dedication.

If we gel and make that bond which leads me to more attention then great, if not then c'est la vie.

I’m not one to use sycophantic methodologies to try and climb the ladder. If you like me, then great if not then there are many others to talk too.

p7iqlju30z.jpg

I would like to ask serial poster @tarazkp how he manages to write so much while fitting life around typing and hear his spoken accent. If it’s not an English accent then I have to commend his writing diction.

English I believe is a difficult language to master, but I take it all for granted being a native.

I can only guess who’s coming other than the other #roadtosteemfest posts but I’m sure there will be someone from @travelfeed and I know @tasteem’s very own @travelgirl is attending.

@shanibeer posted yesterday that she is now attending SteemFest 3. This is great news to me as I missed meeting her at the SteemCamp in Birmingham last March.

These are two incentives that I have been using for some time, and I would love to talk to them about it. Speaking of incentive’s I’m hoping an @actifit person will be coming as this is another conversation I would like to have and follows on from my recent post about this fitness incentive.

ypqkm74j7a.jpg

In the spirit of these posts I need to tell you all something about myself. There are so many things I could say, some I’m not proud of but we all harbour secrets never to be told.

In 1994 I left the UK for a life in America indenting on never returning. This is all well and good except I entered the country on a tourist visa; not the brightest idea.

I did gain eventual lawful employment in the US (don’t ask me how) and a H1-B work permit. However by this time I had outstayed my visa by 3 months.

All was well during the 90’s until Osama Bin Laden and his cronies decided to wreck devastation on Two Towers in New York City.

6r5zwyj9se.jpg
Source

The last time I tried to enter the USA, I was stopped and questioned about why I overstayed my tourist visa in 1994. I managed to gain entry but was advised I would need a visa for future visits. Suddenly I was unwelcome after all the years of valid legal comings and goings.

I will leave the story at that as this post I getting far too long. Until the next #roadtosteemfest I’m signing off.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Would love to hear about your experience at steemfest.

A little research am making on how to start well on steemit after being away from the platform due to some offline struggles lead to your blog. You make some comment in a blog about having difficulty threading the right direction when you first join but you seem to have set in well Sir.

I would really appreciate it if you can shed some light on spiritually and financially be a success on steemit, in terms of; steps to take, what i should be doing and things i should know.

I became a member of steemit during the beginning of the year, but have been hampered base on many reasons. I am ready to give it a big shot right now

The first thing you need to do is vote up posts if you are going to comment on them. I know your vote doesn't carry any weight, but its good practice to do this. Don't vote comments as you don't have the SP yet.

Making this work is hard, very hard.. and if you want people to notice you then you need to write original content. Everyone has something to offer, your life, what you do.. it doesnt matter as long as its from you and its real.

Make your posts, 300 words minimum, but to start.. visit others and comment on their blogs. Not 'nice post' but meaningful comments. Some will ignore you while others will respond.

Powering up helps if you can afford it. Its sad to say but fatter wallets attract more people. That's just the way it is, but not with everyone.

Have a look at @el-nailul's content, hes made it work for him and you can too.

Steemfest3 meet up, that is to far from Indonesia @slobberchops :D, I am waiting your story about it, since I would have no chance to go there. That is beyond my pay grade..LOL

You will be there in spirit friend. Keep up the good work!

I would like to ask serial poster @tarazkp how he manages to write so much while fitting life around typing and hear his spoken accent. If it’s not an English accent then I have to commend his writing diction.

I type with two fingers like everyone else :D I was considering trialling a dictation app or something but haven't given it a go yet. I am pretty sure that 'crocodile hunter' isn't in the accent preferences though. :P

OK, that's a clue. You carry around a large knife and tell potentials muggers, 'this is a real knife'? Sorry for the stereo typing.. but that's what sprung to mind :)

That stinks about not being able to come back here easily. It is too bad that some people have to really really horribly ruin it for everyone else. I am super jealous that you get to go to Steemfest though. It sounds like it is going to be an awesome time!

I really miss America, I regard it as my second home so it sucks that I get stuck with the illegals every time I enter. I haven't been back since 2004, and will likely never go back now.

What if Steemfest is in the US next year? 😁 I understand where you are coming from though.

I'll be there in spirit only then!

I needed to get a visa for a six-hour stopover at Miami Airport, and I've never tried to enter America illegally or outstay my "welcome" (I put welcome in quotes because in my previous two visits to the US – at Miami Airport and Guam – I received a very unfriendly inquisition at customs).
Very envious of your trip to SteemFest. Yes, I've powered up, but that's really the limit of my "disposable" income. If I had more money to invest I would definitely spend some of it on a trip to SteemFest.

That surprises me that they question you, the accent gives you away as someone from the UK.

A shame you cant attend SF3, its going to be a blast. Will post tons of stories and pictures though.

I'm looking forward to seeing those :)

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Who’s paying my way? Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.265 which ranks you at #7873 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 34 places in the last three days (old rank 7907).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 516 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52