Meetup - Attending the @teammalaysia Meetup in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia [February 25th]

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Yes! The reason I came to KL in the first place was to attend the meetup of @teammalaysia and now we're heeeeere!

Together with @firepower, @varunpinto and @shenoy, we turned the meetup upside down. What do I mean with that? I mean interviews, cameras, networking, talking and don't forget - eating and drinking!

The people

We met a bunch of beautiful people there - including but not limited to the wonderful @bitrocker2020 @aaronleang @joannewong @kevinwong @littlenewthings @vikapuzach @yasminep @zord189 @elvira.galina @naydenova @happycrazycon

The food

One of my favorite things during events and meetups - the food! @teammalaysia was so awesome to arrange wonderful noodles, shrimp, chicken and what not! It was truly delicious.

Besides that, we got to eat the food which we threw- eh, I mean tossed, around earlier too.

Tossing food? Yes! Apparently, it's a thing to toss food up in the air in celebration of Chinese New Year. The higher you toss, the more prosperity you get. And don't we all want that?

The location

The location was mindblowing! (@roelandp, beat this!) The meetup was located on the I-don't-know-what-floor of a giant tall residential building with an eyepopping view of the KL skyline. And when I say that, I mean KL tower, Petronas Towers etcetcetc.!

If the view wasn't enough, why not toss a swimming pool in there while we're at it? Can I cry now?

Thanks for you amazing hospitality <3

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

My name is Shannon, I am a digital designer and I am currently on my world trip which I am exclusively blogging about on Steemit! :D There is not a specific goal to my trip other than to have fun, discover places and unravel the secrets of Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, New Zealand and Australia (for now). Follow me on my adventures!

Sort:  

Nice to meet you @sjennon and thanks for joining us for the celebration gathering, it's been wonderful to have international steemian to join us!

See you soon in the future 😆

It was great meeting you - thank you so much for having me. I am still in awe of your place, man - beyond jealous!

Haha come back next time 😉 much more to be explored. Let me know if you're in town, @firepower has my WhatsApp number.

Will do that for sure! I will try and figure out my iternary and will hit you up!

Whoop whoop!~ It was good having you with us! I do hope we can meet again in future events, maybe around the other side of the world. :D

Let me know when you are traveling to the other side! Would definitely be up for a lunch :D

I have been to your side of the world @sjennon, and my favourite place till now is --Antwerp Den Haag ;)
(I just realised that Antwerp is Belgium) !

Hahahaha, yes Antwerp is Belgium.

Why'd you like Den Haag? :o

Den Haag is quieter compared to Amsterdam. And also I have a good friend staying there. I only experience Rotterdam for 2 hours, so I can't really say much of it, but I might like there too.

Amsterdam however... hm... I was there as a tourist for a day, and it's like any other cities I suppose, though I love the canals, it feels more like a tourist than somewhere I might stay longer.

I could be proven wrong though.

One of my dream is still returning my visit to the Netherlands during Spring. To see my favourite tulips!

Something you can't really plant in Malaysia unless you are in the highlands.

Aah, I see. Honestly, I've been to Den Haag maybe one or two times and didn't really bother checking out the place much. We people from Amsterdam are mostly focussed on our own city, I guess, haha.

It is true though. Amsterdam is overrun by tourists which really is a shame. Fortunately, there are also not so much touristy places! I feel like the city really has its charm though.

Aah, yes. We have the flower thing going on which is massive!

Definitely!!! :D Steemfest probably?

You mean Steemfest in Antwerp Netherlands? That, I will definitely consider! I miss "Quick" the food vending machines !
And the sea side; but not very much on the herring fish haha....

(And I know @sjennon is not a fan of cheese, though I love the goat cheese there!)

The first Steemfest was in Amsterdam, so I don't think the third would be in NL. :(

Ohhhh... but won't u be in all the Steemfest though? Cause ur like part of the crew.

Yes! Just saying that next Steemfest most likely won't take place in the Netherlands again :)

Hahah OKAYS! There's still hope to meet again! :)

Just join Steemfest wherever it is!

Wait, kakashi @kevinwong revealed his face?! How many mouths under the cloth?
Also, March 25th? Still hungover, eh? 😂

and you need to see the YAAAAAAAAAAAM SENG clip from @aaronleang

Oh yes, saw it in @firepower's post! Filled with energy. 🔥🔥🔥

Haha, yes! I've met @kevinwong actually several times :p

Not hungover, just a bit late on posting :')

Wait what, a year late? Shouldn't it be Feb 25th? xD
What's under his face mask?

OH. FUCK. I didn't even realise it. All I was thinking was: Wth is he talking about xd

A big pile of darkness

Ahahahaa hungover, hungover
@sjennon is hungover!
:P
Knew it.

I didn't even drink :(

Woah that's a new way to get hungover then!
😂😂

hahaha.... you sounded like it was the ultimate mystery revealed haha.... of course, it was definitely a thrill to see him there.

I thought he'd attend meet-ups like how L would communicate with the police officers in Death Note; video calling while changing his voice. xD

eventually L reveal himself too, isn't it? In Death Note :p

And I am grateful he is not L hahahaa

Nice rundown on the meetup! Those are really great photos @sjennon . We are still waiting for you to return so that we can get on with the ice potong durian test and see if you still say yay or nay for durians haha.

And you know what? The tossing (literally throwing for our hot blooded excited #teammalaysia tean) is always my most favourite event during the Chinese new year; not only auspicious, the sweet and sour combination plus the sashimi salmon (if you choose non-vegetarian style, just add those in) is something you don't get to eat anywhere else in the world except the South East Asia region, mainly Malaysia and Singapore.

And you know what? It is Malaysian made, how localise can you get when you are eating the original food on its original region?

upvoted and resteemed

Thanks for the kind words @littlenewthings! It was great meeting you too :)

Ha, yes! I am arriving in KL early in the morning of the 5th of April so I can do two things:

  • Fly directly to Indonesia;
  • Stay back for a day or two and check out KL with you and I bet @zord189 would like to be there with the durian tasting too!

I liked the tossing! It was a fun activity and I am happy to have participated in it :D It's always great to join such activities and events and enjoy the local food when you're abroad!

Thanks for having me!

hm. I should be back already to KL by 5th April. Let's see if you are heading straight to Indonesia or staying a few days in KL before heading there.

Let me and @zord189 , @aaronleang and @joannewong know! And we see how we can cater another Durian session. I know they will definitely add in the Bak Ku Teh (very pork based herbal soul with fragrant rice) as the ultimate challenge.

I hope by then my ulcer is fully cleared.

But until then, the entry level will be the ice potong durian challenge for you. If you can handle that, I know you will be able to handle fresh durian which is less smellier.

Or you can try the hardly smelling but cut throat Black Thorn durian, which to me it is only "half way" because you are enjoying the fruit without the aroma , and it is weird to me. My brain is unable to register it! haha

I have been SUMMONED! 💪🏻

Durian NO PROBLEM, Bak Kut Teh NO PROBLEM 🤤

Honestly, I am trying to get a bit scared of Malaysian food now :') I generally don't cope very well with smelly or weird/strong smelling foods. I have the bad habit of smelling my food as you might've heard the complains from @firepower :p

great post mam.
mam did you remember me.

Thank you so much for the chocolates! It was really sweet :)

What is the name of your third friend?

glad and satisfied mam,that you loved our small gift🤗🤗,i am little bit nervous when i have went to meet you,but you are of so sweet and friendly nature that had removed all our nervousness and turned it into happiness and excitement.
mam can we be friends forever and have a talk in steemit.chat.
our next friend name is @mnishh.
and hope you had enjoyed a lot in today's meet up.

Aaah, no worries. I am not that scary!

I had a wonderful time. Thank you so much for having me!

have you went back to your homeland dear.

it means you are still in tezpur.
if you are in tezpur can we meet again😂😂

Travel is not being in either tezpur of back to the Netherlands, haha.

Unfortunately, I am not in Tezpur any more though.

Actually i was also one of their partners. We all thought of going to you and gift you.
But unfortunately i wasn't able to make it, as i was in a video shoot with @shenoy sir. Missed it.

Aah, no worries :)

Was really nice meeting you @sjennon! :)
Will be good to see you when you are in KL.

Cheers ;)

It was great meeting you in person @sjennon

Wow. I didn't know this. I chat you and @firepower 2 days ago. Maybe you can check it now please.☺

Ooh ~

Check what? :D

Steemit chat, darling 😀

Ah, honestly I never check Steem Chat :')

Wow..amazing photography i appreciate your travel thanks for sharing ...carry on my dear friends....

Maam it seems u enjoyed a lot there.
Maam can u remember me?
Hope u liked our small gift.☺️

Unfortunately, i was not there with you guys to deliver her the small gift, actually i was with @shenoy sir for shooting a video. I think you have mentioned my name too in the gift as we five guys decided to gift her!
And yeah it was an amazing today..

I bet you had a lot of fun with @shenoy though!

Thanks for today!

Welcome @sjennon.
Yeah enjoyed a lot with @shenoy.
But also missed to click some pictures with you!😄
Have a nice day!!!
Cheers!

I loved it! Thank you so much. It was such a sweet gesture :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44