You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meetup - Attending the @teammalaysia Meetup in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia [February 25th]

in #steemit7 years ago

Nice rundown on the meetup! Those are really great photos @sjennon . We are still waiting for you to return so that we can get on with the ice potong durian test and see if you still say yay or nay for durians haha.

And you know what? The tossing (literally throwing for our hot blooded excited #teammalaysia tean) is always my most favourite event during the Chinese new year; not only auspicious, the sweet and sour combination plus the sashimi salmon (if you choose non-vegetarian style, just add those in) is something you don't get to eat anywhere else in the world except the South East Asia region, mainly Malaysia and Singapore.

And you know what? It is Malaysian made, how localise can you get when you are eating the original food on its original region?

upvoted and resteemed

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words @littlenewthings! It was great meeting you too :)

Ha, yes! I am arriving in KL early in the morning of the 5th of April so I can do two things:

  • Fly directly to Indonesia;
  • Stay back for a day or two and check out KL with you and I bet @zord189 would like to be there with the durian tasting too!

I liked the tossing! It was a fun activity and I am happy to have participated in it :D It's always great to join such activities and events and enjoy the local food when you're abroad!

Thanks for having me!

hm. I should be back already to KL by 5th April. Let's see if you are heading straight to Indonesia or staying a few days in KL before heading there.

Let me and @zord189 , @aaronleang and @joannewong know! And we see how we can cater another Durian session. I know they will definitely add in the Bak Ku Teh (very pork based herbal soul with fragrant rice) as the ultimate challenge.

I hope by then my ulcer is fully cleared.

But until then, the entry level will be the ice potong durian challenge for you. If you can handle that, I know you will be able to handle fresh durian which is less smellier.

Or you can try the hardly smelling but cut throat Black Thorn durian, which to me it is only "half way" because you are enjoying the fruit without the aroma , and it is weird to me. My brain is unable to register it! haha

I have been SUMMONED! 💪🏻

Durian NO PROBLEM, Bak Kut Teh NO PROBLEM 🤤

Honestly, I am trying to get a bit scared of Malaysian food now :') I generally don't cope very well with smelly or weird/strong smelling foods. I have the bad habit of smelling my food as you might've heard the complains from @firepower :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65670.18
ETH 2575.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65