MY UNREASONABLE LIST OF DEMANDS FOR A BETTER STEEMITsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

While we are all thinking about changes and updates to Steemit, I'd like to post my Xmas wish list

Only a week ago the site wasn't working at all and we couldn't even vote or comment, so before anyone loops out and says I'm a dangerous lunatic who should be arrested, I'd like to say upfront that I'm happy that the site is working again and these are all just personal opinions.

THE LOGO

Steemit_newLogo.jpg

I think the existing logo is great, really memorable and recognisable. To separate the Steemit logo from Steem, a basic change like putting the Steemit logo into an oval or something could make it look a bit different. It could easily be changed to the new turquoise colour and "Steem" changed to "Steemit" (like I just did above)

The new logo is a bit bland and forgettable, and we could probably design a better one. If it really has to be changed there could be a logo design contest and vote, so at least we all get to see some other options.

sift-turk.jpg

THE NEW COLOUR (color)

Although some people think the new turquoise is too light and doesn't contrast with the white background enough for links, I think it works OK.

Turquoise is not a colour I would have chosen myself (I would have picked purple!) but I actually kind of like it, and I like that it gets away from fakebook blue.

facebook_wasting.jpg

But I do have other issues I want to bleat about

LAYOUT AND WASTED SPACE

That bloody great waste of space on the right hand side, which is not such a big issue on a desktop, but really screws things up on a tablet.

It needs to be combined into one list - tags and links combined, and it needs to be all on the right hand side so that it is convenient for most people to use.

For a right handed person (and that is about 85% of the population), having a menu on the left hand side is like putting your shoes on the wrong feet.

space.png

BACKGROUND COLOUR

It's great that there is now an option to choose between a light or dark theme, but I think there needs to be a middle option.

I'm into colours and its not often I say this, but I think there needs to be a grey theme ("early morning fog")

Grey backgrounds are relaxing and easy on the eye - they make everything else stand out with good contrast. I always use grey for my background colour when I'm using Word or Markdown, and for a lot of my emails.

email-pic.jpg

And even more things I'd like to see changed

AN INTRODUCE YOURSELF PAGE FOR EACH ACCOUNT

This would be a page where you could post stuff about yourself and update it anytime. There would be a link to it so that people could actually find it and see it.

The "introduce yourself" tag idea doesn't work at all. Half the "introduce yourself" posts are fake anyway: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@sift666/i-am-new-to-steamit and most people don't read them because they don't know the new people or want to read about random newbs.

As things are, if you do want to learn more about someone, you have to search all their posts in the hope of finding a hopelessly out of date post from when they were starting out. And what a newb posts is very different from what they would post once they know shit from chewed dates.

FLAGGING

I want to see that bollocks GONE!

A downvote could carry the average weight of the upvotes on that comment or post.

Why should a fired up numpty with $800 in their wallet be allowed to censor a comment by some lowlife plankton with only $2.45 in their wallet?

Flagging is censorship by those who have more money, exactly like in the real world, but Steemit does not have to be the same as the real world!

I gather from some of the comments on my previous posts on this subject,
that a few people strongly disagree with this opinion (but most of them are not plankton...)

gun.jpg

IN SUMMARY

This is what I'd like to see:

KEEP THE OLD LOGO

SWITCH TO THE NEW TURQUOISE COLOUR

PUT ONE COMBINED MENU ON THE RIGHT SIDE

TIGHTEN UP ALL THE WASTED SPACE

INCLUDE A GREY BACKGROUND OPTION

ADD UPDATABLE AND LINKED INTRODUCE YOURSELF PAGES

GET RID OF "FLAGGING" (CENSORSHIP)

tv.jpg


MY MINIMALIST STEEMIT SIGNATURE

For more info, see MY WHOPPING BIG STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Sort:  

I'd be okay with those changes as well.

I'd be content with the way it is now if steem price would show any sign at all that it knows which way up even is.

Up? - that is so confusing - which way is up?

This is sometimes a problem when scuba diving. All one needs do is follow the bubbles.

A bunch of good ideas there. But I have to say - I LIKE the new turquoise - I like it a lot. I think the links stand out much better.

And I must admit I wouldn't want Steemit to go purple because then my pictures wouldn't be the coolest things on the site anymore :)

Thank you for your feedback, now shut up and blog.

Actually, I doubt you will get another thank you. ;)

Lol. You green toxic whale! ;)

Whales get to dictate what is up

True, true... It emulates the real world so well ;)

Yes get rid of flagging and up-voting yourself.

Great comments, don’t agree with all of them but hey it’d be boring if we did. The whole logo debate is very strange for a platform all about community to just up and dump a whole new look was an odd decision.
With the flagging thing. Having been the target of flag wars that kicked the shut out of my rep and made me walk away from Steemit for several months earlier this year I can see how it can be used for good and I’ll. Buggered if I have s better alternative but humans are unreliable at best but the village mob determines its own rules. Worked well in Lord of the Flies if my dim memories serve me right. Or did it all go to shut.
Anyway enough if my ramblings.
Have a good one.

Some of the ideas were cool !!
Hope someone notices it and give it a shot !

i hope they take some suggestions from it to make it even better :)

these are fantastic ideas !!! I love all of them, although I am a fan of the BLUE sky myself. And let me add one other suggestion - to make links open a new window rather than going off the page when you click the link.

Yes, new tabs would be great too!

Having been out of Steemit touch for a bit, why does the logo have to be changed? It kinda looks like the Vodaphone thingee. Love the Turquoise, loving the simple layout, agree about the grey, it highlights all other colours!! Actually I would have to agree about all your points, especially the Introduce yourself one!! Well said.

I think they want to separate the image of Steem the crypto currency from Steemit the website so they are not so linked together

Ohhhhh OK then...thanks for that

You are right about Vodafone though!

Yet, they're STILL in Beta...

Imgur

I think it's time they ditched that beta label - it's like an excuse to not fix things that other web designers have to sort out in 24 hours...

No website is set in stone, they are changed all the time, as changes are needed

you got it right in your title.
unreasonable

I was only kidding - I think they are all very easy and could be done in a day or two - do you really think any of them are unreasonable or are you just pulling my leg?

you're kidding?
how can I ever trust what you say from now on?

I'm not a politician you know - I lay my sarcasm on with a trowel :)

You are twisting me into a loop like something from the Matrix - are you from a parallel universe?

Read my books (they're serialized on Steemit) and then decide.

You have done one or two posts - where is a good place to start?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89