IS STEEMIT GETTING OVERUN WITH SOCK PUPPET ACCOUNTS?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Back in 2008 I stumbled upon a fascinating podcast by a guy called James Corbett.

He was doing reports about pretty much everything I was interested in.

https://www.corbettreport.com

In the 10 years I've been following him I've never known him to be wrong about anything. Apart from one thing. He always said he wasn't right about everything so to check the facts yourself.

Well he was wrong about that - he has always turned out to be right about everything. One of his secrets is he doesn't do a report until he has fully checked everything.

In August 2016 he said to check out a new site called Steemit. So I did and I've been on Steemit 20 hours a day ever since.

His awesome Steemit account is here: https://steemit.com/@corbettreport

But like quite a few people on Steemit, lately I've been getting very suspicious about the motivation behind some of the accounts - why are they pushing a mainstream American/zionist agenda and flagging posts exposing mainstream propaganda?

Is it because they are fake accounts (sock puppets) employed by the US government to pretend to be real people while they post on social media sites under multiple identities.

I'm all too well aware how mad this sounds, having just been accused only last week of being one myself, but really - some of the crap that people are posting on Steemit has got to be either propaganda or part of some sort of plan to divide and conquer.

Doesn't it? - or are we really just experiencing an influx of sheeple from fakebook?

Check this out and decide for yourself:

https://www.corbettreport.com/socialmedia/

https://steemit.com/truth/@corbettreport/kqn54tmc


WWW.SIFT.CO.NZ


Sort:  

I follow Corbett as well and I have been wondering the same thing too. Thanks for the post. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks Mary - here is a sock puppet pic for you :)

I do appreciate James Corbett and the work that he does. Banking, and what governments are saying and doing, things like that, would drive me nuts to try to keep up with just so I can have some sense of what's going on in the world outside of my view.
Through his excellent reports and always providing links to sources, James sets me up to think about a topic, not just to be told about it. I like that.

May I suggest we don't hold him, or anyone else, to this?

One of his secrets is he doesn't do a report until he has fully checked everything.

It's nothing against James. It's just that we can't be totally sure about any of this stuff, there are simply too many things to consider. Clint Richardson made that point well in the final episode of his Red Pill Sunday School.

I do admire people when they come out and tell you that they got something wrong. I know my picture of the world and what is happening here has evolved over time, don't see why others shouldn't be that way too.

On the weaponization of Social Media, we here on Steemit shouldn't get too comfortable and sucked into this interactive currency game that's been provided for us.

According to his linkedin account, Dan Larimer, of Steemit, was a software developer intern at SAIC.

Founded in 1969, Science Applications International Corp. (SAIC) is a major intelligence, military, aerospace, engineering and systems contractor. It is involved in defense/military (DoD), intelligence community, and homeland security contracting, as well as selected commercial markets

Perhaps he interned there because his dad, Stan Larimer, worked there.

There's an interesting article from March 2007 in Vanity Fair about SAIC, WASHINGTON’S $8 BILLION SHADOW.

As far as sock puppets, I've seen them, not that I know who is behind them.

We learned about SteemIt from the same place and podcast. Cheers. I am also a fan of James Corbett, I joined in Aug. 2016 after he talked about it.

I love the picture and my theory is that mainstream people are pushing the mainstream stories here.

So you don't think there are sock puppet accounts? - I hope there isn't - mainstream sheeple would be easier to deal with - but I'm really starting to wonder...

Maybe I am wrong, but I think our audience is still a bit too small for the amount of focus it would take to set that up.

Yes, maybe Steemit (referring back to the issue with the crap search facility) is deliberately substandard for this reason. It gives the illusion of a free-for-all race to be most relevant content whilst mindless faff trends, effectively covering meatier posts with a layer of shit through which nobody can be arsed wading.

Puppets. Yes, there are lots of them giving out loads of nonsense about veganism, for example.

PS Thanks for the James Corbett link.

Oh, and did you know @milkjar from YouTube is here now? I saw his account yesterday :D

Yes I think so too - I suspect Steemit was set up right from the outset to be a controlled social media operation, but the entire internet was originally a military plan and things don't always work out the way they intend.

So I'm a big fan of Steemit anyway, I just don't trust all the motivations of some of the people posting.

Now that I know some of your background, I can open up to you about scams like veganism - I think some vegans are sock puppets but a lot of people fully belive it.

I don't dare do a post about veganism on Steemit (we are a Weston A Price Chapter and I have got some material!) because nobody freaks out quite like vegans!

Milkjar is hilarious - I hadn't seen that before - getting attacked by angry vegans, and banned from youtub for eating meat - LOL!

Yeah, gotta love how the internet got outa hand XD

laughing statue.jpg

Yes, I agree about vegan sock puppets. Surely they can read the same scientific papers we can. It's obvs a propaganda mission and people are too stupid or blinded by their ideologies to see it. Pisses me off.

Yes, I remember you telling me about the WAP Chapter (you gave me the link) and Sally, etc. My memory hasn't disintegrated completely yet. You must smoke even more than I do :P

Some vegans are reasonable, but they're very hard to find. Especially online. They're out-competed by the big names.
David Attenborough voice-over

Yes, Milkjar is funny AF. I think he was banned over discussing Vegan Gains' haemorrhoids (spam style) :P I've seen that compilation.

:P

@Sift666... Very good post and agree with it's primary tenets.

Also have been following James Corbett for a number of years and it truly is eye-opening and enlightening.

AND... I want to Thank You for supporting my last post because I rarely Post because I just can't post for the sake of making money, I feel it needs to bring value...

So... am UpVoting this post and Following You now.

Thanks Again...

Cheers !!

I remember that episode and it is the very same reason that I found steemit too. I used a different profile back then and have since lost the password. I didn't even know I was earning crypto. lol The proverbial bull...
You know that I am with you on this and it appears that there is a lot of people who just choose to close there eyes to this issue. Something monumental is bound to happen. People think this site is invincible because of the folk behind it and the good community here. But that will only take a company so far. What happens when the devs are given an offer the y can't refuse? or they accept assistance that is then infiltrated. They are gonna have to play-ball at some point.

I suspect that one or more key positions are already zionist shills, but essentially I'm an anarchist and I'm in this for the wild ride - there are some of the most on to it people on the internet in here and we are starting to let the cats out of the bags!

09.jpg

Now that I'm actually logging on to Steemit again, and not just reading the front page without logging in, I don't see as much of the weird shit, because I purposefully follow only a very few people. The people I follow post content I'm actually interested in and/or are intriguing personalities (you fall into both categories). @kiwideb is right....you'll go crazy if you don't just stick to your own feed around here.

BTW, I can't believe someone accused you of being a government operative. Have they even read your posts? Lol!

This. 100%

I'm just barely back from a Steemit hiatus and I stick to my own feed because there isn't enough time in the day to scroll through the crap on the new tab.
Thank goodness for resteems because I tend to find new-to-me people when my people vouch for them. Anyway...

LOL

You can see that I let slip though sometimes - really I'm a fan of donald chump and killary klinton!

Nice art friends @sift666

Sometimes I do nasty art too!

why can you misbehave friends @sift666

General statement regarding post quality, disingenuous thank you, garden variety complement to author.

may be they are the same person who claim to be satoshi nakamoto

giphy.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63383.41
ETH 3119.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85