Motivation Nightly #4 Your Steemit Voice and its Secret; How to Get More Followers!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Want to get MORE FOLLOWERS, and people interested in YOUR CONTENT?I'm about to show you how! Good evening friends, and soon to be friends on Steemit! Welcome to Motivation Nightly.

1.png

...Gotcha.

I'm not here to invite you to join a "follow for follow" army, and I'm not taking SBD for guaranteed up votes. So what am I talking about? This post is about comments, and how a large portion of your success as a writer secretly relies on it. The goal here is to build a stable following, and how to make others genuinely interested in you! If you can build a strong connection with your readers, then they will want to check back to see if you wrote something new.

But if no one is stopping by your blog in the first place, how are you supposed to build your audience? It's the last thing you would expect, go to someone else's blog!


First Impressions

How you present yourself in someone else's blog is just as important and sometimes more important than your own posts. Introducing yourself to the author, thanking them, then inviting them to your blog is the rudest thing you can do on this site. Never do this.

...It's like going to a restaurant and telling the owner that you love their food, but instead of eating there, you invite them to eat pizza with you across town. It sounds like a good idea at first, and you can get one more follower.

One.

I'll tell you a secret, if you can write a great comment; The author, and everyone else stopping by their blog are going to want to know who you are. This is what you want, because they will check out your blog to learn about the person who wrote such a good comment. You don't ask them to come, people come to you!

2.png

From a psychological standpoint, the author that you visited is going to wonder to themselves how they didn't know about you. Surely you have better things to do then give full attention to someone you don't know, you'll be seen as a smart guy because people naturally respect someone that can listen. Someone who is a good listener is someone everyone wants to talk to.


When A Voice Has Value

I have followed many people because their comments show me that this person is worth following. A single comment, can give you MULTIPLE followers, on top of the up votes. I'm not talking about the people that give 0 on up voting you, but the people that appreciate someone who cares, and paid attention. You want followers with standards. One thing that made me want to stay on Steemit was that this platform is here to show us that our voice, and our opinions have genuine value!

Every time you say "Great post!" and end your comment short, you gave up an opportunity for other people to hear your voice. How is the community supposed to help assign value to a voice that isn't there? You really need to sit and think a little bit more about this one.

4.png

After You Write A Post

What are you going to do? Write another one? THAT is also what spamming is. Posting content several times a day, hoping that you can get more people to read at least something you wrote. Many people see their own blog as their "one shot" to matter, even I did that until recently. After I made my first month, I made a list of things I wanted to do to start improving myself on Steemit. One of those things was to write 20 meaningful comments a day.

Quality Followers for Quality Content

I'm sure that everyone has their own strategies to succeed, and although following people is free, I much rather choose someone that interests me, than to just increase the number below my name. My following is growing slowly, but you'll never see me with 100 up votes at well under $1 estimated total value. The people that have high follow counts and low value are the people you want to stay away from on Steemit, because their followers aren't choosing them over someone else- they are choosing so many people that their votes literally lost meaning.

Real talk, I wrote down that in order for me to succeed I need to write meaningful comments that will draw attention to myself. Again, if you're going to say the same comment as everyone else, you may as well not write it.

3.png

Your words, Your Voice

I go to school online and half of our curriculum takes place in a forum. We are required to write one post per Unit and 3 replies to classmates. I lose my mind when a large portion of my classmates start their replies with "Great post"/"I agree" then follow up with a summary of what the OP (original poster) wrote. When grades go in, my classmates didn't do well and don't understand what happened.

Pick a Method

If you are going to tell someone that you liked something or agree with their view, explain why. Prove that you understood. Explain your reason, ask them a question, bring your own world and thoughts into it, make a suggestion. Your words are your power and your opinion IS your voice. Going along with no explanation doesn't help anyone improve or grow. Steemit is about creating original content, comments are half the content.

Untitled-5.png


Related Reading on Commenting:

How to Comment on Posts @tojukaka
Is this really spam? @gduran


Motivation Nightly Previous Posts:
Motivation Nightly #3: Doubt the Silent Killer
Motivation Nightly #2: Body Before Productivity & Voluntary Suffering
Motivation Nightly #1: The Fear of Initial Failure


BANNER_THE_PROJECT.png


grade.png

Sun's coming up, I better get some sleep.

Sort:  

Thank you very much. @shello. You have made a very good point and am one of the people you have helped with this post. Just finish reading the post of @tojukaka on a particular topic related to this as mentioned in your post and i love your comment there as well.
Now to your post. I can tell you that coming to this platform(steemit) is a dream come through for me. I have gain a lot in term of reawakening the writing gift in me and since then have been trying my best, making sure that my post are educative and impacting. I said it in my comment under your comment in @tojukaka post that you are someone i will like to follow which i did and i think it was a good decision to make. Once again thank you and know that some of us are on this platform to speak our mind so that our voice can be heard and doing that requires originality and rationality.

Just love to standout among the crowd. One love.

Hey there @optimistdehinde, I'm sorry for the late reply, but I wanted to take a little extra time out to help you a little bit with your blog.

First thing! You resteem a lot. It was harder to find your blog posts! It is good to show support, but you can do that by up voting and commenting. You should only resteem something if you feel it is very important to share to everyone.

Second thing, I see that your punctuation in your posts seem a little weird. Punctuation can help make your posts easier to read. Using periods at the end of sentences, and understanding where you should put capital letters will help a lot! I also know English is not your first language, so please check your tense when writing!

https://www.ecenglish.com/learnenglish/lessons/simple-tenses-verbs

And lastly, you have a good heart, mind, and determination! Your post about singing was my favorite one, and shows that you can put your own experiences behind your writing. But... It was hard to follow the flow of the post. "Flow" is important as it helps to break down a big idea into smaller pieces. I feel like that post could have done better if you learned how to use Markdown formatting. This is my favorite post, and it taught me what I needed to help make my posts look nice!

https://steemit.com/tutorial/@grocko/formatting-help-how-to-make-your-blogs-stand-out

Never give up on your dreams, I feel like you can go far! Never lose heart c:

Thanks dear. I really appreciates your comment and advice. I will surely look into all that you have said and improve on them. One love.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shello from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @trending.

Just kidding!!

This is actually great advice - and proven instantly as it was your comment on my latest post that brought me here! You attract what you put out, and if you spend a little bit more of your time on a comment you are likely to receive more time of someone else's in return.

Also I really like your idea of 20 meaningful comments a day, mind if i pinch it? :)

Haha, sounds like I blew your mind c; and that's exactly why it's said that comments are one of the most underutilized features!

I don't mind at all! Try do more than that even~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52