Motivation Nightly #3 Personal Development Blog: Doubt the Silent Killer

in #life7 years ago

21100453_10210487852452398_239336367_n.png

This is the most important topic that I've wanted to discuss so far, you have what it takes and your doubt takes it away! Good morning or evening ladies and gents of the Steemit stratosphere, I'm back at it again for the third edition of Motivation Nightly, helping you out where you may need it the most (I sure know I do! :3) Sorry for this post being a little late, it's 3:45 am in Honolulu, and I always post at weird hours- but this one is a little later than normal. I'm still here!

I am however excited that I turned in my final paper for World Civilizations, and as for the rest of my life at the moment, I'm feeling pretty grateful ^_^ Let's get started awesome people, hopefully something I write can one day help someone else out!

21076650_10210487852412397_1791101945_n.png

Earlier this week, and earlier today I was struggling with my finals and posting this blog as promised e-very-day! (oh sh**) However, I ran into major issues stopping me from actualizing these goals. Personally, I'm aware of some of my unique talents and perhaps "hidden potential" to complete a task- as my goal is always to do my best.

But then it hit me before I realized;

"Am I getting too cocky/over confident? What if I can't deliver?" I'm aiming to bring my B up to an A, I want to build an audience by posting consistently, but is it too much for me? Before I knew it, I already envisioned me failing my class- and my few followers of this blog being let down. The thoughts began to consume me.

Doubt the Silent Killer

It's not scams, betrayals, and unreliable teammates that get you in the end. The doubt trap can catch anyone at anytime, and steal your drive and mess with your perception. Tonight's post is about overcoming that voice that asks; "What if it doesn't work? And I really go on to be a failure, and lose my dreams." I'm not going to sugar coat or cut myself short here, as I am one of the most confident people from all of my friends. If I say something, I'll follow through- especially if it's a challenge. Believe it or not, if you have doubts- you're not weak. Even the most competent folk can have a change of thought bringing them to their knees.


Positive versus Negative What If Statements

I'm writing this literally knowing that many of us here, have done it too. You decide to finish, start, or straight up do something amazing, almost dream like but before you begin you ask yourself; "What if this doesn't work?" "What if it isn't good enough?" "Can I really do this?" Then worse, "Am I even qualified?" "Do I know what I'm talking about?" As fast as those questions begin, your mind has already shown you a mental image of just that. That world. You don't make it, you're a little under standards, and it's a stupid idea- no way it will work. STOP.

STOP.

STOP.

If you can see a mental image, what appears is one step closer to coming true. When you see that image, how does it make you feel?

Bad yeah?

21040391_10210487852492399_1990255354_n.png

Don't pity yourself or feel guilty, don't even entertain that image as a possibility. Motivation Nightly has got your back, the fact that you are here reading this shows that you don't want to choose that kind of life.

Thought Replacement

It really is a matter of thought replacement. At first it is difficult, but it is a skill that can be trained. Instead of thinking about what can go wrong in an over exaggerated sense, have you ever viewed it in an over exaggerated positive sense? Because let's be real here, the worst case scenario has a possibility of happening, but doesn't that mean that the most positive possibility also exist? What chooses that? You can make that a habit. Even if purely done just for fun. "What if I become a superstar?" "What if people take notice?" "What if I land my dream career?" Now, nothing happens without action, but by switching the bad what ifs for better ones, you're one step closer to getting there. My favorite one is; "wouldn't it be cool if?..."

It's what you believe. Now hear me out, this isn't voodoo or magic (although it may as well be!) but what you believe changes your behavior to bring about that circumstance. Think back to the last time that something went far worse than you can ever imagine- the other side of the spectrum is like rolling a 20, on a 20 sided die. It's there, make it likely!

When we have negative thoughts, and begin to doubt- our minds naturally begin to wander elsewhere as the original thought becomes crossed out as a possibility. In a multiverse sense, you want to align your thoughts with the world you want to end up in. You think Satoshi Nakamoto thought to himself; "What if this is a dumb idea that will never work?" Now let's throw a little Japanese lesson, as I am surprised beyond belief that no one's ever posted this. His last name Naka (center) and Moto (source) is an amazingly clever word play. Everyone who has succeeded didn't give in, and neither should you.


21040576_10210488722194141_708693713_n.jpg

Doing Well versus Doing Bad in Steemit

Payouts not consistent? Do you really have what it takes?

I literally asked myself this today. If I could dedicate myself, strong enough to be successful at blogging. In the past month, I've had a couple of posts do over $100, and others barely make a dollar. I thought strong and hard, and the way I see it is this.

Everyone is capable of being lucky, but in order to be "consistently lucky", I must need to learn more skills.

There is no luck, only skill- and it fluctuates by the way you think. After I got a post that was low pay and barely noticed that I "slaved for" I thought to myself that I was underappreciated. Having a failure after success can really mess with your head. When I thought I wasn't good enough, I wrote less often, and shorter posts. My negative thoughts, started to make this true. Deep down, I didn't want it this way.

If you think negative, you will act negative

I caught myself. It is the easiest thing in the world to fail once, and then discredit every success leading up to that point. I remember that I got a few points knocked of from a week from one of my last classes assignments, and I decided that I was not good enough and that my effort was in vain. A couple of days later, something amazing did happen. My professor sent me a private note saying that she wanted me to do more than the minimum (as before) and "if I only knew" what grades the rest of my classmates were getting. If you think you are at your peak, then you've removed the possibility to improve yourself.

A short while after I realized one of my posts wasn't doing good, I pulled back a little. There must be something that I don't understand- because I thought it was perfect. It's an experience on another level to know that obstacles exist, so that you can become even stronger than before, stronger than the strongest you think you can be. Making money, isn't my goal now. What is important is that I stay myself, try new things, and maybe inspire someone. I've written some amazing blogs, and I've had a 4.0 GPA, I can't forget what brought me towards the obstacle I face now. I feel that many people in life forget this, any glimmer of hope you can see, whether luck or not... Can become your future.

Learn from all the times you lost, and always cherish the times you won.

Personal versus Public Expectations

I have a secret support system that can pull me out of any negative thought loop, no matter how deep! Believe it or not, it's how the people, colleges, and friends around me treat me. It's a constant reminder of my potential. It shouldn't be a surprise, but how you view yourself, and how others view you are two completely different things. Sometimes I think I'm the shit of the world, lame, and just a wide-eyed dreamer with no basis in reality. Then out of nowhere, someone will thank me- for being in their life, or ask me for a favor that they can't figure out, or message me, with no intent than to see what I am doing. But how can this be? The secret karma is that the way you treat your surrounding will always come back to you. Those friends that hold me in such high regard? If they call me at 3am and need me, I am there. If they ask me for help on something I don't know much about, I will learn enough to help. When someone needs a friend, I'll be by their side. What people need to understand is that doing these things, doesn't make you a hero. I come from a place that if I was in a truly bad situation and really needed someone,I would like a person to be there. Those times happen to everyone.

Little did I know, that this would become my secret weapon of a support group. When someone asks me how I am, and I say anything less than great, it baffles them. The logic being that I am an amazing person to them and that anything bothering me is not outside of my control to turn around. Whether it is true or not, I believe it. You are not the only person that knows of your past successes, others can see it too- even in times that you can't. If your friends try to talk you out of something you want with all your heart, then they aren't your friends. Unknowingly, I attained an image of always doing my best, and internally I want to catch up to that amazing person. There are occasions where I do.

Who do you want to be? Show it to others until it is accepted as your norm. It really is fake it until you make it, but you have to really want to make it.

21074351_10210488722234142_238178800_n.jpg


Competition versus Inspiration

Back to Steemit. Oh man, when your own blog does kind of shitty and you see other people with followers begging for their attention, jealously and envy can catch you too. The best advice I can give in this whole post tonight it to change your thinking about how the world is around you. If you are ever willing to play the victim, then you are unable to accept responsibility and everyone and everything else controls your existence. Why am I posting so late tonight? Because I want to adhere to my personal goals. Because I finished my final later than expected. Why did I finish my final later, because I gave in to my anxiety regarding my grade. I know that anything that happens in my life is 100% my fault, but at the same token- anything amazing that happens to me is 100% my effort. Your negative circumstances and people in your life DON'T CONTROL YOU. How you feel about a situation controls what you think, and eventually what you do is. So if something feels bad, change your thinking first. It leads to better actions.

I could have easily saw the other Steemians living the life and said f*** it. I'm sure many people before me has thought this. I was in a negative thought loop fueled by my negative thinking. But, what if I'm wrong? And the people doing amazing things are doing something I've missed. I made my conflict internal, and writing now in the hour before dawn I realize that to accomplish any goal, it will take much more effort than you may ever consider putting in. Everyone doing wonderfully have paid their dues in a way that I have yet to comprehend. It inspires me. When you see someone around you succeeding beyond imagination, you should take a step back and see this person as a different version of your goal. You probably don't want to write about what they do, but again, what they do is something they are truly passionate about. By changing your view of an enemy to an inspiration you free your emotions and thoughts to work on you. To bring someone to your level is only a compromise, when you could reach new heights never previously attained.

Any conflict that you are facing in life starts at the internal level, the same realm as any success or accomplishment in your life- as they share the same space. Only one can be focused on at a time, and I believe in a world with no problems...

Only solutions

DQmRdqBoeH2KXJvT74GhRiYPYHL8x23wEKvDv1y1BsJpEh6_1680x8400.png

I'll post my grade when I get it c:

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shello from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69