Beginners Guide To Getting Started With Steemit, by @shayne || INTRODUCTION

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

CIG-logo.jpg

Hello, my mindful and intelligent followers.
(That goes for you, too, if you're not following me yet)

I have seen a lot of new people joining our little Steemit network lately. And there are a lot of questions.

There are many specific questions, but generally, I think what people are looking for is something like a starters guide. So I'd like to share what I've learned about Steemit so far, what's worked and what to avoid.

I don't really intend to get into technical questions. Rather, I will offer some tips and tricks on how to build a following, how to get a good starting pile of Steem Power, how to get noticed, and how to succeed with Steemit.

What you already know

Steemit is a social media/blogging platform.

People have accounts that they can use to post original content onto their blog, comment on other's content, upvote, search, etc. All of that good social media stuff.

Steemit is also a cryptocurrency wallet. You can hold STEEM and SBD (Steem Backed Dollars) in various different kinds of accounts. There is essentially a liquid "checking account" wallet which receives transactions. With those wallets you can either trade your earnings for other cryptocurrencies, or use your STEEM to Power Up your account with Steem Power (SP). The more SP you have, the more influence you have on Steemit.

What if your Facebook account was more powerful and influential the more Facebook stock you owned? SP works kind of like that.

Getting Started

If you're anything like me, you don't really want to buy STEEM to Power Up your account. You'd rather earn it. Because, also if you're like me, you don't have money to invest. You came to Steemit with the idea of MAKING money, not SPENDING it.

Well, I'm here to tell you that this is not an impossible feat, because it's what I've been doing. You CAN have a profitable account that makes you good money without investing a single penny.

The secret is -- you have to work!

If you want to make money here, you have to treat it like a job. I'm talking at least 4 hours a day of activity. Commenting, curating, posting. If you want Steemit to earn you money like a job, you have to work it like a job and put in the time, care, and passion that you would if you were starting a business.

So if you're willing and able to do that, then I have some tips that will get you off to a great start, and before you know it you'll have:

  • Posts that earn a decent amount of money on average
  • A growing follower base
  • An active, engaging community
  • Valuable network connections with influential members of Steemit
  • Satisfaction that you are appreciated as an honest and authentic person
  • A constantly growing pile of steamy STEEM

If that sounds interesting to you, read on. Because I'm about to tell you how to get all of that.

This Guide will contain 6 parts, which I will index at the bottom of every post:

Feel free to leave any questions below!

Is there something specific that you'd like me to cover in a guide-style fashion? Let me know in a comment below.

Follow me @shayne

Easily exchange your SBD (Steem Backed Dollars) for Bitcoin with Changelly

Keep your Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies safe with KeepKey

Sort:  

Maximising your return (contrary to how I believe social media should work)!
Open 4 accounts and each has a different function and different characteristics. Use one as a primary account for primary posts and the others as niche interest accounts, ideally named along the lines of that niche.
Make sure that there is at least one account that appears female if you are male and vice-versa.
Keep the accounts very discrete (as opposed to discreet) they are their own entities. So continual resteeming negates the point.
Never say anything against steemit (unlike me) unless you have a fifth account and be careful because they do track you down anyway. Steer clear of politics!
Join in the contests.
Be strategic with your voting.
Max up your Rep by moving steem around the accounts - it takes a while but it gives you a faster overall influence and recognition.
Work out what gets you followed. Essentially, be yourself, across the four versions of you and your interests - comment lots on subjects around your interests - and vote on comments. Manual voting from each account and doing lots of it is far better than anything else. People like human engagement. A 2% vote, to me, is a slap in the face - it means that they have not read my post and they value my post at $0.00001 - thanks a bunch!
Find a way to a cookie-cutter approach which does not look like a cookie cutter approach.
As you said, @shayne, you need to work at it but work hard and work smart - a newbie is no different to you or me - just a person! We are all very alike. So, think about what would attract you to a steemian with a fake name and then replicate that. You will find people whom you will like in that way.
Namaste.

Hey Shayne, big fan of your youtube... Please follow me too @skillz😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18