Why this site is turds (for now)

in #steemit8 years ago

I've been browsing this site for quite a while now and I must say that I've seen very little good content being posted. It feels like the majority of articles are being written for the sake of making money and not for the sake of starting interesting conversations like elsewhere on the web. If I was someone looking for a social network, I wouldn't go anywhere near here. There's so much ass kissing happening that it's like looking at the human centipede.

The front page is particularly frustrating because users can't customize it. It is essential for users to be able to find content they like and block content they dislike. Let's take a look at some front page posts:

This post is on the front page because it was posted by a semi-celebrity. I don't want to see it. I don't want to look at infowars bullshit when I wake up in the morning. If I wanted conspiracy theories I'd watch the History Channel, thank you very much. Someone's brainfarts shouldn't be upvoted just because the person is well known and that's what this post is, a brainfart. It's no better than most of the spammy crap you can find under the ''new'' section.

I am so fucking sick of seeing tits and travel posts on the front page. I'm not here to jack off or to be inspired. I don't even find this inspiring, I find this pathetic because the whole point of that post is to make money. It wasn't written to inspire or teach anyone. The author gives absolutely zero shits about you or me, she's essentially trying to make you swallow her farts. Fuck.

I don't care about most travel posts in general because I can find better, more interesting stories elsewhere. From what I've seen, most travel posts here are magazine tier stuff that could be found almost anywhere.

One of our whales is a pothead. Fair enough. But I don't smoke weed or care about it, don't force me to look at this content because someone with nothing in common with me likes it.

This post was about a woman feeding stray cats in Turkey. The topic was cute enough, but trying to actually read the thread was a nightmare because of the poster's terrible English. Can we please filter out the non-English speakers? It's like trying to read an essay by a five year old. No one wants to read that.

This one isn't quite as infuriating because it seems like something many users would like. Maybe it's a little ass-kissy (giving steem fake praise to get upvotes is something that is often done), but the post contains information that could be useful to investors.

The only good content on this platform is always about money, marketing or cryptocurrency. Hopefully that will change as the site gets updated and we get more users. Right now it feels like this site is full of desperate people sucking cock or trying to fuck others in hopes of making some money, not genuine people who want to have fun and form friendships. When I think of Steemit, I think of a big gay orgy.

And, needless to say, the rest of the site has worse content than the front page. Looking under the new or active tabs will get you a bunch of posts in foreign languages, plagiarized content, poorly written clickbait and boring people's boring life stories. We need to find a way to make this place feel more personal, to turn this into a real community. We need to make this site not just profitable but fun as well. Is anyone else frustrated with the way the site is right now? Personally I see Steemit as a really cool social experiment that could potentially change the internet as a whole but man, it doesn't feel like home. It lacks the cozy and friendly atmosphere that other social networks nurture.

Sort:  

2 minutes ago by saltysusan

Salty indeed. :) But I agree with you, we need more ways to customize what we view. That said, this site is still in its infancy -- many more features are planned, and I suspect the devs intend to roll out these kinds of features in the near future.

I think you would find my posts more enjoyable, they really are in a class of their own yet only one has been "steemed" by a kind stranger (1 cent) while the most tedious unorigional reposts from social media seem to attract many dollars. I find waching dog turds turn white more interesting.

I have to agree with you on most of those points. The lack of features to let users customize what they see has probably driven more people away than have stayed. The steemit circlejerk, guide fest, and but kissing has gotten out of control and very boring.
My only suggestion is to post the exact feature you want, and see if others want it too. Maybe, at some point, when crap gets too deep and people stop logging in, they will look at user feature requests...
How to Stop the Scams - Stop voting for Introductions and Steemit guides
Allow the users to fix the problem through curation.

A big gay orgy

lol that was something.
Relax mate. But you got it damn right.

Congratulations @saltysusan! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @saltysusan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.9 and reading ease of 75%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59096.52
ETH 2516.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46