Sort:  

I’ve been saying this since fall 2017, a few months after I started...it’s all the same shit but with flashy new technology, I don’t have any illusions about blockchain.

But in the end I try to bring everything back to myself. Am I doing my absolute best in every area? Am I full of love and acceptance and also a fiery fucking will to be awesome and make awesome? And if the answer is no, I just focus on that. And for me steemit has been a part of that. It’s connected me to people and helped me understand “the system 2.0” better so I’ll be able to navigate it when it takes over and do what I can to make it better than its current trajectory. To put some kind of huge expectations on this place to save us from all the bullshit in the world? I gave that up a long time ago and lost a lot of support for it.

I hope you stay. We never really got to know each other, but Ive always liked what you bring to the platform.

There is lots of energy being passed around that doesn’t show up in the numbers

Posted using Partiko iOS

This, right here, expresses wonderfully the attitude of a champion. 🙌⭐️

Merry Christmas, Rok! ^^

It is frustrating to see the most developed blockchain ecosystem be in this state. I have had to do the math and if STEEM went to $0.01 and I invested $10,000 at that point I would have some actual pull on the reward pool. In the end the solution is taking ad revenue and using part of it to pay articles that meet certain engagement metrics in Steem power on top of the stake weight system. Change the power down cycle to 7 days for the security benefit but having the liquidity.
Then do a series of airdrops every quarter based on increasing Steem Power levels.
All this would create a positive feedback loop and demand for STEEM.

Fix trending by showing stuff with certain engagement metrics not just stake weight.

We are losing our SEO funnel and it is going back to having about 20 cookie cutter content mills and spiraling downward. It is sad.

Worst of all...... for a content creation platform not even ONE creator can come here and support themselves on even the very best content.

Just changing trending and rewarding engagement and pumping ad revenue back into creators by buying Steem and distributing as STEEM power.

I don't even know why I spent the time to peck this bullshit with my thumb. No one listens to me anyhow.

Posted using Partiko Android

There’s at least a couple people listening. Neither of us may be in the position to do anything about it, though at least that little bit isn’t falling on deaf ears.

And I guess that’s usually the case with whatever we do peck out whatever little we do here... we know there’s always gonna be at least two people who read it - so, what shall we choose to impart to those minimum of two people that’s actually worth it to both them and ourselves?

Maybe there’s the challenge of reconsidering that it’s not always about big numbers, impacting/reaching lots of people and making big change - but more tests in the outlook of starting small, tending to what small corner of the world we do have influence over, and really putting in the heart and soul to connect with and send out some positive ripple wave through those 2+ people.

Or maybe not. I dunno. I could just be trying to telling myself as justification/rationalization of the frustration.

In either case, I agree with you that there’s a lot frustrating and sad here. *Though I, for one, was at least still listening (reading).

We will see what happens with everything but at the end of the day we are all taking notes. I primarily got my money out of here and felt a lot better about it. There were just too many issues that weren't being addressed. I really hope somehow it can get straightened out but I don't really see all that happening.

Back in 2016 we were very idealistic and fully believed in the platform. We behaved ethically and had a belief that it was about content and interaction as we slowly built up our reps and followings.

I had some good times, but am grateful that I woke up to the corruption at the core of the platform and took my money out when it was still worth something.

Now I’m back with a totally different attitude. There are still some awesome people and some amazing content. And this platform works better than anything I’ve ever seen online. I totally packed a sad a fucked off for a while but I missed the place.

As far as the money goes – it’s all a rigged game, and these days I’m happy to play it like any other crypto. If I can buy Steem, make gains and then sell it – I’m in. And right now, I think the odds of Steem going up from 12 cents are reasonable, but if it goes pop, nevermind, 12 cents was cheap!

I still say it is more about incompetence than corruption, but in any case it is too exhausting, because they look the same to the casual observer and the results are the same.

I always used to disagree with you about that, and the more angry I got with what was going on, the more convinced I was that people with so much money couldn't be that fucking clueless, so it had to be an evil plan to crash the platform and make more money.

But now I have no frigging theory and am more inclined to agree with you!

note my addition to the thread below (or possible above it gets voted up) in response to whatsup...

I’d say there’s probably a bit of both, though the larger element at play would most likely be systemic.

In theory, the decentralized system was supposed to have advantages over centralized. But in practice, the way it was designed from the start - like any other system - was sure to have flaws. At least in a centralized system, there tends to be a hierarchy of power where one or a few highly competent people can take the reigns, assess where the flaws at, and initiate the change. Without such leverage though... well, I guess that’d depend on the strength of the system.

I imagine that Dan fucked off early because he recognized that there were flaws in the system that couldn’t be fixed once it was in motion, just as much if not more because of his differences with Ned. Though either way, I wouldn’t have imagined Ned was really in a position where anyone person could’ve altered the course of the ship so dramatically so as to assess every single detail of what was flawed and restructure everything as would’ve been needed to get things “on course.” (And then again, what would “on course” look like exactly, in this decentralized world where there are hundreds/thousands of different opinions and visions of what this could be).

Though, who knows. we can make guesses and loose assessments, but there’s always a lot more details to a complex system that’d require understanding to properly say - and more likely than not, it’d be impossible to pin the causes down to any one root...

Yeah, Dan openly admitted he thought it was broken and in ways it is.

No question about it. But that doesn't mean they are fatal flaws.

Do you remember when a SBD was worth over 10USD? That was when it was plain to see the Steem economic system is unstable. The SBD was originally designed as a peg to the USD, giving balance to the highly volatile Steem token. But the reality is apparently much more complex.

Yep.

If only I had cashing out then, instead of stupidly diversifying into more crypto that’s lost 95% of its value... (sigh)

Just my opinion only -

  1. I treat steem like it’s a game. I enjoy learning the ins and outs and new strategies to earn a few more pennies. This helps me avoid disappointment with earnings and I enjoy my time here.
  2. You’re a steemian from the 2017 bull market days so you were here for the good times. It’s another ball game nowadays. Your earnings here are good compared to what most folks earn.

Actually, I get offered a salary and then I’m taxed before it goes into my bank account and taxed again if I want to spend it. If I earn a bit more, I’m likely to have to pay money back (tax again) and a fine if I am late!
It would be great if Steem was worth more in the future but
very few of us rely upon Steem as “income” 💭

Posted using Partiko iOS

Clearly you had a break most of the rest of us are past that level of passion.

It's like yelling into a black hole. Rewards disagreement and that's about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69104.81
ETH 3758.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68