Asparagus, Steem and Cryptocurrencies

in #steemit7 years ago

This is the first time in my life, that I've planted part of my outside garden in my winter coat. Normally I would never plant in my zone before the 3rd week in May due to the risk of frost, which means almost certain death to fragile plant material.

Today, I took a calculated risk. I planted 10 fairly large asparagus root clusters, 60 snap peas and 20 yellow bean plants.

  

Last Spring, at the end of May, I planted 10 of the green asparagus root clusters called "Jersey Giant", (for the very first time).  I'd always wanted to grow asparagus but shied away from them because I had been told (by more than one well-meaning person) that they were hard to grow. I was also told that it would take 3 years before I could take a harvest. Oddly, people said similar things about Steemit and cryptocurrencies to me too. They said that they were difficult to understand and that growing anything of financial worth would be a futile exercise, that would be a waste of time and effort, at best. 

With asparagus, I was always too impatient to dedicate precious garden space to something that wasn't going to produce at the end of its first growing season. I like producing and growing. It feels like you've accomplished something spectacular when you achieve a high yield of sustenance from a compact growing area, like a backyard garden. Dedicating 2 or 3 precious garden rows to something that doesn't offer a return for a long while, feels counter-productive and less valuable, somehow.

The crux of it all, is that I happen to really like fresh asparagus. I also really like writing, taking photos and socializing with others while I broaden my horizons with perspectives directed to me from all over the world. Steemit let's me do this and it also gently introduced me to the excitement of other crytocurrencies, in the process.

Last Spring, after giving myself a gardening pep-talk, I decided two things. First, I'd better test the advice that I was given and find out if asparagus, Steemit and cryptocurrencies are, in deed hard to grow and for the love of anything good, practice the art of slowing down at the same time, so that I can start engaging in more activities that I really like.

Why did I convince myself that I didn't have transferrable growing skills to grow asparagus and Steem? Why did I think that I really didn't have the time for either challenge?

Ridiculous! I planted the damn asparagus and I created a Steemit account and got started.

 I tended to the asparagus all through the summer and let it go to flower in the early Fall. I seemed to only have female plants, because no seeds were produced. I cut them back just before the snow came, intuitively thinking that this strategy would work best. Last month, all 10 of my original asparagus clusters came up. They survived their first winter and so did my Steemit account. I just patiently worked away at both.

It wasn't hard. (Well, well, well, would you imagine that?)

As a result of my asparagus win, I put 10 more root clusters in the ground. These ones are purple and are called "Purple Passion". I also started investing in a few more cryptocurrencies to round out my growing crypto portfolio. 

To plant the asparagus, I dug a trench about 8 inches deep.

Then I laid each root down, leaving about 6 inches between them.

Next, I gently covered the node end of the cluster with a thin layer of soil and covered the roots a little thicker. Once the nodes start to grow, they will pop through the thin soil layer and I will continue to add a little more soil over top of the planting until the trench is completely filled in. I will also water as needed.

My husband (@knarly327) is famous for two of his sayings. First, that "it's easy to do something, once you know how" and the second is "Just do it, because it will be a good experience for you". 

He usually parrots this to me, in a moment of high frustration as I'm trying to figure something out and cursing like a sailor whose been at sea for far too long. Just about the time that I am contemplating the best way to throat punch him, he'll jump in to help me wade my way through whatever it is that I am struggling with. (Can you tell that we've been married a long time?)

I'm not sure if it is wise to plant two different kinds of asparagus so close together, but time will tell.

Sometimes you just have to try things and keep trying things until you learn how they work. This is the same experience that I've had growing asparagus, Steem and now other cryptocurrencies, too. 

Damn it all! It is easy when you know how and it has been a good experience for me.

My next frigid gardening task was way more risky. I had used our automatic sprouter to start seedlings. After planting a few trays, which will stay indoors for the next 3 weeks, I had quite a few left-over that were viable seedlings.

(This is my sprouter. It's plumbed in, drains into a sink and mists the seeds using a timer. It makes getting any seed to sprout, exceptionally easy.)

I took these left-over seedlings and planted them in the Garden Barrel that @knarly327 built for me last year, too.

I decided to take the centre pail out this year. It had contained worms and was a small composter, but I didn't feel it really worked well. I changed my strategy slightly...just like I have been doing all along with my Steemit account. I make small changes to how I do things, based on the feedback and the new information that I receive over time. 

This year, I planted the top with the yellow beans and the entire outside in snap peas.

If there is a frost warning in my area, anytime in the next 3 weeks, I plan to just cover the barrel. It feels like Steemit is changing very quickly from one day to the next too. I will be carefully watching and I will continue to STEEM ON and trust that all the seeds I have planted will bear fruit! 

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

I like the analogy of steeming with gardening. In both cases, you plant the seed and keep tending your developing endeavor until you finally achieve results. It takes time and you may be tempted to give up, but in the end, the harvest is worth it! Happy Steeming and gardening!

Thank you @kenny-crane...like anything that's good in life, it takes time and your willingness to always try new things until you achieve the outcome you were originally interested in. Happy steeming to you too!

Fresh peas right off the vine are most delicious. I'm pretty sure you wont get frost again this year.

It's dicey @solarguy! Our weather patterns have been really wonky over the last 2 weeks. We've had over 80 mm of rain in 3 days. Gatineau (Ottawa area) is underwater and the province of Quebec is in a state of emergency. http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/national/quebec-flood-damage/article34916667/
:(
We had a snow flury warning for last night. We tarped up the barrel to protect it.
Will likely have to do that a few more times before the end of the month.

nice you're gardening too
I love asparagus but the green ones
I only have one in my garden but they grew really healthy and the size of the white asparagus though they are green and still very tasty ..must be the soil
look !

g.jpg
Good luck with yours!

Hi @englishtchrivy!!!! Thanks for stopping by. Wow!!! Yours look like giants. I hope my purple passion grow as well as yours. They didn't have white asparagus roots for sale where I bought my green and purple ones. So, I'm going to try and track down some white. I was talking to a friend yesterday and she's from Holland, originally. She told me she'd never seen purple and that white and green were the most popular in what ever part of the country she's from. I'm just happy to see successful grows. It gives me hope. LOL

@rebeccaryan thanks I wish you a successful harvest soon! or in the near future :) .. I like the green ones the most. We don't have a purple one - is that hybrid? Never seen any either - as for the white -its good for making soup and stuff for a sandwich, not a fan but I sure love the green ones . Crossing fingers for a huge harvest for you :)

Thanks @englishtchrivy!! I would have said that the ones you shared in the picture are the purple variety. My green ones are dark green and any white ones that I have seen in the grocery store are really white. I've still got 2 more years before I really should harvest. I have green ones up, but they are really thin and less than the girth of my baby finger, so I'm going to leave them alone so that they can really become established.

I see .. I can't tell - its all green hahaha
but you must be right cause I have green ones now too in the fridge
and they're skinny :)

I saw Quebec is flooded its on the news in China. Good luck with your garden I still think it will be fine, it's in good hands.

Call me when you need a hand in harvesting yawn..this steem hype is making me sleepy. dunno if i can afford it ;)

It continues to be a wild ride...I am only buying when and what I can afford to. No one can say for sure what's actually going to happen, so I am proceeding with caution and staying consistent with my efforts. ;)

the way it's going, buying now is way pricey compared to previous months and 2016. But believing in steemit, it's cheap still for some.
But then it went up to $4 dollars when it came out.
I'm not a great investor but the way i see it, buying now is a good option.
But since you write very well, don't buy and just play with your asparagus and ice cream.
Have you read @gavet's SBD option than 100% powering up? it's a great plan :)

Thank you, I haven't read his post...I will go and try to find it now...the link says the page isn't available. I will try to track it down. :)

Thanks @immarojas! I upvoted it. I thought it was a great post. Thanks for telling me about it.

you're welcome. gringalicious mentioned it in her post.

Great post!

patience! + persistence! = payoff!

(oh, and I LOVE when asparagus goes to flower...so pretty!)

Thanks so much for taking a minute to comment @gardenlady!
Exactly! patience + persistence more often than not, does result in a reward...that is worth the wait, I might add. :)

Hi Rebecca, this was a great read. I first planted asparagus roots last summer. I also was weary due to all of the folks that told me how difficult this great vegetable is. But despite the concerns I planted 6 roots last summer. All of them came up from the ground but they were very skinny shoots. I trimmed to the soil line after they got about 8" tall. The second time they came up they were a bit thicker. This year it looks like 5 of the 6 lasted through the winter. They are a bit thicker than last year and are coming up in more shoots. I think the longer you let them go the thicker and better the plant will become. Cheers to a decade of fresh asparagus yields and more!

This is so good to know @jeffagoe! I was wondering if I should cut the stocks and take a harvest from my year old stalks or not. After reading your experience, I think I'll just leave them alone and let the stalks get thicker. I am so looking forward to eating our own asparagus! It's hard to wait.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59060.44
ETH 2608.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43