How Cancer Survivors Changed My Life For The Better

in #steemit8 years ago

enter image description here

I will never forget the day. March 17, 2000. The day that changed me and my life. I received a call from my brother telling me that my mom was being taken to the hospital. She told me she was dealing with the flu so I thought maybe she just got dehydrated or something.

The doctor came out of the room and told us he wanted to talk to the family privately. It is the flu I told myself and she probably has to stay over. Boy was I wrong.

Stage 4 breast cancer. What? How? She was working up until the previous week. She never gets sick. How can it be?

Well it was and after a hard fought battle my mom succumbed to the horrible disease.

All the while this was going on my dad ( who was the sick one all my life), also was ill. His long fight was finally over 3 years after my mom.

I found myself a changed person.

Angry.

Drinking.

Just pissed off.

Hating life.

I had been working at the local YMCA helping people get healthy and here I couldn't do anything for my own parents. I really lost interest but kept working.

In April, 2011 a new program was coming to the YMCA. Livestrong at the Y it was called. A program that teaches cancer survivors about the importance of having exercise in their life. It is a 12 week program that people will meet twice a week.

At first I didn't want any part of it. I was all set as I watched my mother battle for 4 years and seen some horrible things. My dad had his kidney removed because of cancer. I didn't want anything to do with cancer.

I knew I was wrong. I decided maybe my experience in life and in fitness could help.

enter image description here

I went away for training and realized this is something I have to do.

I found a new purpose in life. I stopped being angry. I stopped drinking. I found myself being alive again in every aspect of my life. I had a purpose and it was to help these people who have had such a tough road, to regain a little bit of their life back.

The pay is little in terms of money but the pay in possibly helping cancer survivors is worth more than anything.

Fast forward 5 years and I have met so many awesome people in the program. I see their struggles. I hear their fears. I also see them getting stronger and feeling a little bit happier with themselves.

I see many, after they finish the program, that have continued to exercise and express how much the program helped them. The funny thing is they all think I have helped them but little do they know how much their fight has helped me. Here is a photo of me and a previous group.

enter image description here

I am getting ready to start a new group, I still get nervous with the start of every group because I want it to work so bad for them, but I wouldn't want it any other way.

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

About linkback bot. Please upvote if you like the bot and want to support its development.

your story is so inspiring - thanks for sharing it!

Thank you for taking time to read it.

I'm so sorry for your loss. Having come close with my mom last year, I have only an inkling of what you went through. Equally awed, though, by how you've taken something horrible and found a way to truly help people who are in a battle for their lives. That's resilience.

Thanks. As time passes the anger of the loss turns into remembering all the great memories which can never be taken away.

My grandmother had this little cross-stitched plaque that now hangs on my dad's wall. "Remembrance is the sweetest flower that in a garden grows." Memories are sweet and belong to us always.

Memories can never be taken away!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49