You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To the whales - Get your head out of your ass and vote good content up! You are harming steemit!

in #steemit8 years ago

The main issue is that we just can't vote on everything good (even if we saw everything, which is not possible with 7k new posts a day).
You have to be lucky to be seen right now. Once you're up, it's easier for other to see you, so those posts get more votes.

I understand that it may seem unfair, but that's what it is right now. If steemit gave us the possibility to lower our voting weight, we could at least vote for more than 20 posts a day. It'll still take a while until distribution reached a point where more good content gets the rewards it deserves.

Sort:  

"I understand that it may seem unfair, but that's what it is right now. [...] It'll still take a while until distribution reached a point where more good content gets the rewards it deserves."
I hope that will happen soon, steemit desperately needs a fairer system to reach out for the masses.
Thank you very much for your up vote :)

This post had a TON of great feedback from minnows!
I had a brilliant idea for STEEMIT's development, that even a dolphin endorsed it.
And NOT A SINGLE whale!!! Instead, after 12 hours, I see not one but TWO VERY LAME 40 minute old posts, both of HOT girls, no videos, poor formatting, generic "story of her life" blog, each get over $5000 ??? I doubt them girls have published a book like me. I DOUBT they know html like me. I DOUBT they know advertising metrics. Despite their hotness, I DOUBT they can bring thousands of new users in, LIKE I perfectly know very well how to do, and like how I WOULD do if I got $10,000 for my first KINDERGARTEN skill level fucking post!

POLL: should steemit let us steemers advertise using steem?
Click the #steemengine to vote!


Dude, you really need to chill the fuck out. I'm getting siezures from looking at your animated gifs and your entitled me, me, me attitude which i thought was a joke appears to actually be a character flaw.

Here is truth. ...
A wise man will sit quietly, speak little and allow those around him to believe him foolish.
A fool will open his mouth and remove all doubt.

im in a difficult phase of my life bro. that is all

I doubt they could create their own unique moving GIFS or have pictures function like links, very generic skills that I make work like a charm... My moving GIFS had a RIDICULOUS converting ratio within bitcoin ad networks. Not here? BROKEN IMO and IMA BITCH ABOUT IT FOR DAYS because I am fucking PISSED

NOTE: from one short paragraph on FACEBOOk, I brought in $50 worth of bitcoin today from someone wanting to fund my social network, http://www.d3fc.me and http://www.freedomnetwork.me - BOTH sites that will dwarf some social media sites one day and I was hoping to partner them with steem but I very well might not. I am a CEO, not a small timer. I ccan bringt BIG business to Steemit if they gave me a chance. but no, more hot girls hot girls hot girls... I have not seen tara aka guerrent make a single post since her $30,000 makeup tutorial. WHY? I would be posting 2x a day out of grattitude, bringing in TONS of new users from every walk of life!

we just can't vote on everything good

Yes, you cannot! And that is what I have been singing for a while now. The curation power is not in the hands in good willing and deserving curators but in the hands in arbitrary chosen tech gurus... here
I know the day will come when you (the whales) will realize that for the better of Steem you should not burden yourself with doing something you are neither the best at nor have the time and desire to do .

It's not about time and desire, but about possibilities. Again, 20 posts limit. I for my part try to find as many undervalued posts as possible with those, your generalization is false.

It could actually be a good idea for the big whales to not vote at all. I doubt that'll happen though.

What I propose is: willing whales to vote - that is to say one who wish to commit the time and effort explained in details here should be able to do so.
Additionally in order to "not harm the whales" say 10% of each current account vests can be put in/converted to Curation Power at the beginning - this way whales interested in active curation will have a good head start but still reduced dominance compared to the current destructive IMHO levels.

@pharesim, while we are just in contact to eachother, i just created a new post. https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitpolitics/what-if-people-start-selling-their-votes
You are much longer on steemit than i am, so maybe you can answer my question what will happen if people start selling their votes.

Things are like they are but things can change. I guess that's the point of this post. I have to agree with the OP to some extent.

I just read the white paper and I read about the fact that steemit wants the free market to regulate its content. But how can a market be truely free if only a few whales completely dominate that market ? Steemit is not giving the market what it asks for. Steemit is giving what the whales are asking for and leaving the market frustrated. This could potentially make the market feel very dissapointed and leave the platform.

So I wouldn't get upset with the OP. He has a valid point. Whales could potentially kill this project if they don't upvote what the market is asking for. Steemit will only thrive if it holds onto the free market principle. Anything other will destroy the project.

I agree. We really need this feature. It's already at the point where some whales' votes can give a post nearly $1000. If I were a whale (I'm not), and I either have the choice to vote for a post, giving it $1000, or pass it by, how can I decide? It's like the only choice is giving a post MASSIVE support, or none. The situation is slightly reminiscent of:

The distribution of whales today might not be the distribution of whales a year from now when the market cap is 10 billion and there are over a million users. By that time a lot of whales will have powered down or will be powering down. When they power down and other people are powering up what do you think happens to the voting power distribution?

Maybe you can't but this is why when Steemit becomes profitable enough for you to power down then powering down may be a responsible thing to do so that more people can power up and the whale power can be distributed among more people. Attention is the bottleneck here because attention is scarce when only few people are whales.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54