ANOTHER BLESSING BECAUSE I’M PART OF THE STEEMIT COMMUNITY!!!

in #steemit8 years ago

As a steemian, I never know what will happen next.


Today, when I returned from work, a package was waiting for me. @mama-pepper and the @little-peppers had went to the P.O. Box, and a package from @generikat was waiting for me!

Recently I had shipped @generikat some garden seeds, and @generikat offered to send me some in return. It was another Steemit Seed Swap!


To be exchanging not only ideas, photographs and stories, but also physical good like garden seeds is another level that has been added to the steemit community, and I am glad to be a part of it.

In this video from months ago I share about sending some seeds to steemians like @cryptoiskey, @pixellated, and @jed78… and receiving some back from @jed78 & @pixellated!!!

Here is what was in the package I received today from @generikat.


Pumpkin Hubbard Squash seeds.


A large bag of mixed Sunflower seeds.


Mixed Tomato seeds.


There was three great varieties of Tomatoes for us to grow!


If you want to check out the post that @generikat made when my seeds made it up there, CLICK HERE.


As always, I’m @papa-pepper and here’s the proof:


proof-of-exchanged-seeds


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

I love your contributions! Especially the idea of exchanging tangible things through Steemit connections. Your account is inspiring :)

Thanks for the encouraging compliment!

This is cool. I will have to save some seeds this year to send you. I will be planting tomatoes, cucumbers, and bell peppers.

When you harvest that bounty you'll have to have the Steemian community over and chow down with you. Let's make it pot luck!
DogsChow.gif

hey papa do you have any old posts explaining how to get the seeds from the plant/crop? might be a stupid question lol but i'd like to know more about farming/growing. Say you buy some pumpkin seeds this year and plant them and when you harvest will there be seeds for you to use for next year? or you gotta buy them again? could i just dry them out from inside the pumpkin and plant them? lol forgive me for such a beginner level grower question haha , like for the sunflower seeds there could you just pick those off the flower? and then plant and get another flower? is it that simple?

Actually, those are really good questions and it pretty much is that simple.

Here are a few posts I made explaining some options:

https://steemit.com/gardening/@papa-pepper/papa-peppers-guide-to-plant-propagation-kiwi-goji-berry-and-dates

https://steemit.com/gardening/@papa-pepper/what-in-the-world-is-this-and-why-is-papa-pepper-growing-it

Heirloom seeds are those that gardeners have saved from their own plants year after year. The only seeds that I am aware of this being illegal with is Mansanto (intentionally misspelled to avoid detection). If you plant their seeds and the plant from those seeds produces more seeds, it is illegal to plant those new seeds.... go figure!

Please let me know if you have any more questions after checking out those older posts. If you are stateside, I can also ship you a bunch of seeds for free.

Oh, the @little-peppers just made this post too on the subject:

https://steemit.com/howto/@little-peppers/how-to-save-money-on-seeds-for-your-garden

these are awesome posts, gonna read through them, thanks for explaining! :)

I am so incredibly glad that you got them! Yay! You are so very welcome, but the biggest thank you totally goes to you for starting the Triple S idea in the first place. When and if I ever get to see the ground again, I am going to so enjoy growing the seeds that you all sent me! The gratitude! It flows! 😊

Sharing seeds is such a great gardening tradition! As a curator for the @gardening-trail, I want to say "Thanks, @generikat and @papa-pepper for being so generous with your seeds". After saying "Steemit Seed Swap" ten times fast, check your wallets. Here's to great gardening and lots of produce from all your shared seeds! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59220.04
ETH 2316.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51