WHAT IN THE WORLD IS THIS AND WHY IS PAPA-PEPPER GROWING IT?????

in #gardening8 years ago

So, by now you're probably wondering what in the world I'm up to half the time anyway, but don't worry. I'll at least explain this much right now.



So, it's king of big, and strange looking, yet it's not @papa-pepper. What in the world is it then?


Perhaps you would have recognized it more easily when it was younger. Unfortunately, many of these never reach full maturity because they are cut off and eaten way before they grow that old. I know, it's a little sad, and I'm kind of moved myself, but don't worry. You can help, and I'm here to help you do it.



So there's the picture of a much younger one. Got any better guesses now?


Most likely, of course you do. But still, why?

Why did @papa-pepper not use it when it was still young and more edible? Isn't he all about that kind of stuff? Isn't he currently doing Cucumber Experiments in his kitchen and canning all sorts of stuff in preparation for winter? Doesn't he like having that feeling of working hard and getting the benefits of that hard work?

Yes, but I also like saving money... and seeds.



Growing a good portion of my own food is a serious goal that I am hard at work on. It allows me to need less money, and eat more healthy foods on a consistent basis. However, we can take it even farther. If I save my own seeds from this year's crop, I can plant next year for free, as long as I am not using Mansanto seeds (I started spelling that wrong so that they won't know I'm talking about them. It's kind of like whispering. I think it might be working, so don't tell them.) Anyway, with seeds that are still legal to possess from crops that you grow yourself, here's a little advice.



Technically, the fruit of the plants serve two purposes. One is that many of them can be consumed, so they provide a good food source for us and many of the other creatures on planet Earth. The other purpose though is reproduction. Plants can continue to exist if they continue to reproduce, and seeds are one of the main methods that are used.



Though many fruits and vegetables can be consumed prior to full maturity, in order to reproduce by seeds, the fruit often needs to mature even more. This is not the case for all foods, but cucumbers are a good example of a food where this is the case. Just look at the seeds from that almost unrecognizable object I showed you earlier. These look like cucumber seeds. Now, compare to what we find inside a younger cucumber.



Though this cucumber is definitely more delicious than the behemoth pictured earlier, none of the seeds in this cucumber are useful for planting. Not a one of them will germinate; they just are not mature enough. This is an important thing to be aware of if you plan on growing your own and saving your own seeds too.



This is another cucumber on its way to full maturity. Some of these get "lost" in the garden and found later, when they are over-sized and yellowed. Upon finding such a surprise, many would despair, but this is actually a reason to rejoice. These discovered giants can then just be designated for seeds, just remind your wife and kids, or whoever, not to pick them.



The same is true for many other kinds of garden vegetables, like beans. The Chinese Green Noodle Bean in the image above has been allowed to completely mature and dry on the vine. Then, when I open the dried seed packs, they are already finished maturing and ready to store for next year.



Of course, always make sure that seeds are completely dry prior to storing for the next spring. Moisture is one thing that can ruin your seeds. Heat and sunlight can also destroy the precious seeds that you were trying to save. Many people will make sure that their seeds are completely dry, and then place them inside an airtight jar, and put it in the refrigerator or a basement cupboard, both of which prevent light and keep the seeds cool.



Even this pepper that I plan on eating soon shows signs of nearing full maturity. Notice that the tip is drying and wrinkling. Growing what you like ot eat, and knowing how to save seeds from those plants, is a great idea in my opinion. It can be a fun and rewarding hobby to not only grow your own food, but to save your own seeds. Sadly, this has become almost a lost art in many places. I'll discuss more about that later, and will probably do a more in-depth how to on seed saving in the future, perhaps in my papa-peppers guide to plant propagation series. I just thought that for now a would plant a "seed" about this concept and pass on a little insight on the subject.


Anyway, thanks again for your time and for playing "Guess what that is".


As always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof:


proof-of-a-big-weird-thing-that-is-not-papa-pepper



Awesome handcrafted @papa-pepper logo created by @vlad. THANKS!

Sort:  

Sweet!
Check your chat!

Will do, thanks for the reminder.

Joe, THAT WAS AWESOME. So far, you're the only one who's even tried, and I upped the payout to 10 STEEM Tokens. We will see what happens. Thanks!

That was brilliant! Saving seeds is indeed a good idea. Btw I also spell it different Monsatan.lol

Ohhhh... Nice spelling.

That shouldn't pop up in their word search either.

That's like flying below their radar and throwing a left hook at the same time, brilliant yourself @matthewtiii!

Thank you papa-pepper! good post, go on!

You are sooooo very welcome @vlad.
What a great gift you've made for me!

So essentially, leave a few on the bush for seed purposes and harvest what you need to eat? Brilliant! That way you know where your seeds are coming from.

My Irish Uncle does his "special" plants the same way :)

I forgot to mention it in the post, but Cucumber seeds can last about a decade, so I could be planting some of these seeds in 2027 and still having them give me more food.

How's that for awesome?!?!?!?!?!

Do you know of a pepper which we referrec to as "devil pepper" due to its hotness?

There is a "devils tongue" pepper that's right up there with the rest of them for SHU.

Cucumbers was the main one, with some Noodle Beans and Peppers thrown in.

Gotta be savin' the pepper seeds too!

I like the idea of growing food in your backyard so you will not spend much money for food. I also have a garden before and most of the time we just took something in their that can make our stomach satisfied.

Awesome ...always learn a little something new in your posts..cheers mate:)

Thanks, I'm glad to hear that!

hahahaha!

Also agriculture is one of the most fundamental technology we ever discovered and one of the oldest yet it's being lost. Most of us don't know how to use that technologist and surely the globalist don't want us to use it or it to be taught in school! Keep on the good work!

I won't tell mansanto.

Thank you for using the code name.
You would have blown our cover and made me sad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68870.08
ETH 3734.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73