Why steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I honestly don't care for social media at all, infact I had deleted my fb and all other social media years before I stumbled upon steemit. I was convinced that everything that was posted on those sites was all just to impress other people or yourself, it wasn't the true nature of being creative. People cared more about pictures of food then they did about your real thoughts. No one wanted to read an article, maybe a few sentences at best. It was just a huge popularity contest and I saw no point in it at all. Lets not forget the NSA basically uses it to spy on us too. (DETAILS though, right?) LOL


Source

Anyhow... While I was growing marijuana for a living, I would often to listen to the alt media while at work in the mornings. People like @adamkokesh, Gregory Mannarino aka @marketreport, @pressfortruth and many others were constantly talking about cryptocurrencies and steemit(s) unique platform where you got paid cryptocurrency for blogging, well that caught my attention. At the time I was in the "real stock market" but knowing what I know about the state of our economy I had very little trust in the system and wanted to find a new home for my investments. I did a lot of homework on cryptos for the next few months, constantly reading whitepapers and investing in many cryptos that I believed had a great future. I won't bore you with all the details but eventually I found my way on to the steemit platform.

I didn't know what to expect when I first started steemit, to be honest most of us came here because we heard you can get paid to blog, and who wouldn't want to get money for what they had to say!? I know I did! I had always dreamed of writing a book about my time in and lessons from being in war twice, but I knew that I was a terrible writer! lol. I figured I could brush up on my writing skills for a year or two, make some money while blogging and then I write that book. I thought it would be easy (LoL). Little did I know how much time and effort steemit takes. Like many of you reading this, you know steemit isn't for the faint of heart. That is why only 10% of people are active on steemit, the other 90% are quitters! It takes true dedication and lots of time to make real connections before you start to consistently make any real rewards. Most people give up before they realize how amazing steemit really is. Truth is

The fruit of everything good in life starts with a challenge.
-John Maxwell

If steemit was easy, then everyone would do it and no one would think it is great or special. So you see, the fact that steemit is a challenge to start and continue is what makes it so great! It weeds out the weak and rewards the people who never give up! It is truly the way life works.

I have been on steemit for about 6 months now and it sure is something totally different than I thought it was. The reasons I started are completely different from the reasons I now continue. I am sure everyone has heard the saying of steemit, "come for the rewards, stay for the community." Well truer words could not be spoken. After 6 months on steemit I feel like I am now a part of a community. People read and comment on my articles and give me their true opinions and advice on how they feel. Its a nice change of pace from all the fake people I have been dealing with for years. I think it is easier to be honest with people you never met because you don't have to worry about hurting their feelings with the truth. As crazy as that may be, it works out great for steemit.

I often have a hard time making/keeping friends in real life because I am woken and am not afraid to tell people how the world really works. It doesn't bother me at all, I would rather know the truth and preach it then lie to myself and others to make them happy in this little fantasy land they live in. But here on steemit I have met so many like-minded people it blows my mind. So many people understand and accept me for who I am. So many people want to hear the truth instead of wanting to run from it and that is a beautiful thing in a very ugly world.


Source

To be honest, I have made the some really great friends here and I never thought that would be the case. I talk to many of those friends daily now. I have even exchanged phone numbers with people to have even better conversations with them and it has been great. I honestly consider many of them as my closest friends, even though we have never met in "real" life. So I guess the saying was right... I came to steemit for the money, but I stayed for the community! Because that is the real reward. Friendship with like minded people. ;) And that is why I love steemit!

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

The STEEM Engine


APP.png

Sort:  

Thanks, as always, for sharing your thoughts it's good to know you are not alone in your thoughts. There is definitely a learning curve, but the rewards , steem and otherwise, are so worth it so far for me. I feel like I've made some real connections on here and I'm so happoy for the new addition to my circle.

Sorry I somehow missed this comment? Weak sauce, I hate leaving people hanging like that.. :/

We have all been thru that learning curve for sure, but if you ever have any questions I hope you aren't scared to ask bro! I am always here for you.. The rewards are pretty awesome, I hope steem stays cheap a bit longer tho so I can earn and collect a bunch more before it shoots to the moon!
To be honest tho, the money alone definitely doesn't keep me on steemit, it is all the great people!! like you ;) I always enjoy a new like minded friend!

No worries, it is super easy to miss posts and comments on this platform. I've seen bots that will notify you of selected things you want to see, but I'm just not sure about them yet. I've definitely used your advice about resteeming services and tried to be more engaging with posts I find interesting. I appreciate you helping out and offering your guidance.

Oh yeah, about that comment I promised you, will this do?

This excellent post was included in our new curation effort The Magnificent Seven -- a collaborative work by @enchantedspirit and @catweasel. You have received a 100% upvote from each of us to show our appreciation for your post. To see your creation showcased here ... and the fine company you keep ... please visit this link.

The Magnificent Seven # 25

We appreciate your support both for our work on this project and for the other creators of exceptional content who make it all possible. (Follow @catweasel to catch our future Magnificent Seven posts. @enchantedspirit says I'm really not as annoying as you might think, but she doesn't mean it.)

rcw.jpg

I'm only a few weeks on Steemit and I'm trying to find my community. I'm starting to by joining a few groups like The Steem Engine. But, do you have have advice for newbs on how to find your community, outside of the basic "comment on people's stuff that you like"? Most comments don't go far. What was the turning point for you as far as seeing/feeling real community? And how long into your journey did that take? I don't want to become a statistic.

Unfortunately there is no quick way to "find" a community, you have to build one urself and it takes time. I love thesteemengine, it is probably my favorite group but just joining the group didn't make me feel like a part of the community.. it really is all about connections you make by commenting and replying to comments and chatting with people on discord.. the first 3 months i was on i really didnt participate in any groups so that was very slow growth and a lot of my posts didnt really make any money at all. Lol.. i know many comments dont go far at first but u have to realize that a lot of people wont even reply to someone with a low profile score because most of them dont last on steemit so its kind of a waste of time. You will notice once u get to 50 profile score more people will give u better comments. Right now u really need to focus on writing good articles, and make sure to reply to every comment u get. Then try to find people with 55 score or higher and comment on their posts to develope a friendship, they will have worth wild upvotes and advice for newbs..
I have only been on steemit for 6 months and i was slow to make friends.. i think if u hit it hard u could be where i am now in 4 months..

i cant stress how important good articles are tho.. most of steemit posts are crap, so if u really put thought into posts people will notice u!
Goodluck on steemit 😉

Just like you I don't care much about social media, but I'm truly grateful coming on steemit, it has been a life changer for me.

Yeah, i joined because of the "free steem" but now i have a family here who supports my ideas and work.. it is nothing like i thought it would be, but I LOVE IT! lol.. i have never found so many like minded people in the same place, its wonderful..

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 47 (2/16/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Yeah I agree with you on the whole Facebook thing. Its a social experiment at best. They even admit to using manipulation techniques themselves. I haven't been on FB for a long time now and I have no desire whatsoever to ever use it again. Love the Steemit platform and what it stands for. Thanks for your post.

Its always nice to know other people feel the same about fuckbook oops i mean facebook lol.. glad u are enjoying steemit even though u are rather new here.. i like to think of steemit like a fine wine or a good long cure on weed... it only gets better with time! 😉

Awesome!!!!!!!! It is so amazing that the one who like minded is across a huge ocean but connected through steemit. Your book is coming through your life story step by step. Of course it will be published in the block chain but people often take works of their blogs and pin them together and make an eBook. You own these words not Steemit so you can publish this stuff again. At first I was disappointed that our posts cannot be upvoted after 7 days, but no problem. You own it so put it together and make an eBook and publish on Amazon. Offer the book for free first. Then make another and at least you got something. There are other ways to publish but some writers here can just take their old writings and put them together to make a whole book.

I had never thought of an ebook but that is an awesome idea! I have a long way to go before i am ready to explain my war experiences in depth but i do think i have a lot of other great things to say.. if only i could get them on paper as well as i see it in my head! It seems like i spend more time editing a post then writing it lol.. cuz my mind is always racing and its hard to get all the ideas down on paper before a new one takes over.. 😕

I didnt like the 7 day thing either but now i understand why.. they want people to support the new articles, not ones that are months old with possibly people who arent even active on steemit anymore..

Just write down little by little directly to a post. It is a work in progress. We all will follow even if it is kind of messed up or not written. Start by thinking of a friend you had and write about your friend but change the name.

Another help is to carry a small notebook and pencil or pen.

I think steemit is only going to get better. They could change the layout a bit and make it easier to divide your friends into various groups. I would like to divide the people I follow into lists, the crypto people, the weed people (ie you) the art people. Then I would come here just to read for fun more often.

What I would also like, and it would probably be easy, is when someone comments on your blog if there was an immediate indication they were a follower or they upvoted that post. Cheers

You are so right.. steemit will get much better! Hopefully hardfork 20 releases soon and we should have a much more user friendly platform. Steemit was a test net, it wasnt meant to be extremely user friendly at first.. they just needed to know their idea of getting paid in cryptos on social media could be possible, it just kind of took on a life of its own.. lol
Thats why all those things u talk about werent a priority.. i agree we need some serious upgrades this year if they want to stay ahead of the game..

Anyhow... While I was growing marijuana for a living,

Oh, dear Lord ...!

Lol.... that was the hippie in me 😉

Youll be happy to know I have since grown up and moved on to bigger and better things with my life.. honestly, i rarely even smoke it anymore now that im focused on following my dreams. 😊

Reminds me of the days before FB became so popular and blogs attracted people who really were interested in what you shared. Another platform that offers great content is Medium, although I don't visit as often now that I have arrived on Steemit @moderndayhippie

Ironically found this link in FB on the SteemitBloggers 😊

Lol, that is too funny! I didnt even realize steemitbloggers was also on fb!?!

I have never heard of medium. i might have to go check that out and see what it is all about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73