Travel Update: Why I'm Lovin' Playa del Carmen, MexicosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

How about some authentic Mexican food with great service and great quality; and it will only cost you a fraction of what you may think!

On the corner of 10th Ave and 10th st in Playa del Carmen you can find El Ranchito Mexican Restaurant. Its basically one block back from the main tourist drag "Quinta st". They cater to tourist and locals, at local prices.

I need to thank my friend and fellow steemian @luzcypher for showing me this place. Since he took me there I've tried other Mexican restaurants, but this one is the best and I've been back three times now!

Unlike other similar restaurants, as soon as you sit down they bring you a basket of complimentary fresh tortilla chips and an array of salsas. Below you can see two very filling steak quesadillas, a flavorful pulled pork soft taco, re-fried beans, and a cup of ice water.


Everything you see on the table cost $3.50. Tipping is not expected either, only at fine dining on the strip.

In a week or two I'll be doing a "Travel Report" on Playa del Carmen, Mexico and it will certainly get great reviews. The theme will probably be "first world living at third world prices" What's not to like about that!



Sort:  

hmmm, I love Playa. I would not think you could do your $20/day budget though!

and, yes, that food looks fantastic and will seek this place out next time I am there

I'm at about 25 dollars a day. Only because I got a nicer place with a swimming pool AC, fridge, free water, common kitchen..... It's back 3 blocks from the highway and a 15 minute walk to the beach, where prices are cheaper. Casaejido, run by a British woman. Great quality place. I was able to negotiate down to 20 dollars a night on 8 nights, 5 dollars a day for food no problem when you go to places like you see above. I mean it's really filling. You can get a burrito there for 3.50 that you can barely finish!

To get an apartment for 350 a month should be no problem, and another 250, for living expenses. Piece of cake. I may likely come here for a month or two in the future. I really like it.

The thing is an unskilled tourist wouldn't have a clue on how to find the deal I got on the hotel, and would likely blow their budget eating every meal on the strip, then dropping 50 dollars at the bar, then souvenirs, expensive tours, and so on. They would probably be staying in 120 dollar a night beachfront resort as well.

Since this is my permanent lifestyle, I simply can't be like that. I'd go broke before I knew it. Fortunately for me I enjoy walking around. Seriously, I'll go on several walks a day. Mingle with the locals and see what I can see. Take some photos, like a walking tour. It's my favorite thing to do. Learn the location, the people, culture, try the street food as well. It's what I enjoy most wherever I go. I analyze everything, being a Virgo to the T, naturally that's what I do best. Now I report on it here on steemit, I enjoy writing, and now getting paid for it. I really feel blessed. I don't need much to be happy.

Thanks for your comment and up-vote!

so you are west of the highway? Yeah, that all makes sense. That actually looks like a pretty nice place to me. Good find.

Yep, nice quiet location. They gave me the kind sweet with private kitchen for 4 days cause the smaller room I wanted was taken. Would have been about 13.5 a night otherwise. I'm 3 blocks from that huge Chandrui "Wal-Mart" type store. I prefer it here over something in the middle of the tourist hub-bub.

That little restaurant used to be a different little restaurant called "El Pez Heuvon" and their fish tacos were the best I ever had. Sadly during my 3rd visit to Playa, they were no longer there and I didn't give this restaurant a try.

I've finally moved here though, I'll have to check them out. And knowing how much money the locals make here - I'd definitely be tipping any servers in any restaurant I ever go to, it's a huge part of their culture and there are many more people that are expecting to receive tips too... like the person who bags your groceries in the supermarkets... as they do not get a paycheque.

Thanks for that info. I always leave a tip anyway, I gues I'm used to other places in Latin America where the culture certainly does not expect a tip. Thank you for correcting me. Is this how all of Mexico is or only because Playa del Carmen is a touristy place, in the vicinity of Cancun...? You obviously have more experience in Mexico than I do. Thanks for you comment! Fish tacos are awesome!

I've never tipped somebody in a restaurant in Mexico that was surprised I was tipping them, from my experience it's just pretty standard all across the board but the percentage amounts may be lower than what is normal in Canada or the USA.

As with tipping anywhere in North America, tips are not generally required, but any amount is greatly appreciated even if it's just 10%. I'm not sure how tips are shared in Mexico... but in Canada and the USA it's pretty normal that the server has to pay 5-7% of their total sales into a tip pool for all the support staff. So in those cases if you only tip your server 10% of the total sales on the bill, they'll only take home less than half of the tip you gave them.

I'm curious if servers in Mexico keep their tips or share them amongst the whole staff or if it changes from restaurant to restaurant.

Thanks for your great response. I'll certainly keep all this in mind next time in Mexico. Thank you :)

That looks absolutely fantastic! Thinking about Playa del Carmen for my honeymoon, I'll HAVE to stop here if I do. :) thanks friend!

Hey I'm still trying for tomorrow to be in Playa... had a little side issue jump up at me today... I most likely will be in PDC around noon. So stay close to the reply box tomorrow morning

Thanks for the heads up. I'll be by the computer. Was thinking you Frank and I can get together once you're here. Looking forward to meeting you in person!

Would you like to come over to where I'm staying around 1pm. I just wrote the same message to Frank aka Lucifer!!!!!

I've got a pool and a kitchen here. I'll pan fry up some rib-eye steaks. I can pick them up at Chandrui. If you want you can bring something to drink or smoke. I'm at Casa Ejido on 3 south, three blocks west of the highway. if you have something else in mind let me now.

I still have to msg Frank... Talk to Frank and see if we can meet up at his place or whatever the plan happens I'll msg him around 10am

Ok. Sounds good.

I'm a little jealous at the amount of food you have on that table for $3.50. Looks like a great find!

Thanks Justin. It certainly is a great find. The thing is, that this is quite normal all over the "non-tourist" restaurants regarding price and portions. But this place is just a notch above the rest with the chips, salsas, quality, and management. Guess what, the owner is from France. Go figure. Us in the western world really know service and quality.

This is brilliant!!! I did not expect it to be that cheap :) it's now on my radar for sure, thank you for another great review and sharing this with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61025.71
ETH 2726.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45