Sort:  

So far I haven't had any issues whatsoever with Dtube. No buffering issues or anything. I think the growth potential is incredible. A much larger % of people would much prefer to watch vs read, so I think it compliments Steemit beautifully. Zappl will only add to the overall platform value of Steemit. The only drawback I see as of yet is copyright law being violated quite a bit. This can cause nothing but problems down the road and the sooner this is addressed the better.

I agree on the copyright issue @orionschariot - blockchain id immutable, so how do you delete such material?? This could become a larger issue later on.

Mindhunter thanks for reminding us of DTube. I tested DTube, I got mad and angry because some functions were not working and I finally couldn't get my video to run. DTube needs a lot of work, the community needs to hire people on a professional salary basis to build this into a professional platform. Have you got any information to what the plans are?

Some days I find DTube is fine and smooth and other it's a nightmare to watch vids. As with dencentralized apps, the salaries are not huge, so things tend to happen a bit slower than in the centralized world!

Thanks for your reply. DTube issues confirmed as you describe it.

I'm using a mix of the two sites at the moment until DTube finds its stable legs. The Daily Dose will continue to use DTube and youtube for now :)

I've seen a couple of posts about Dtube recently. It does look like it's going to be a huge thing! I am excited to get involved.

DTube needs a few tweaks, but once it gets there youtube ain't gonna like it one little bit as it clings to its centralized power!

I cannot wait for this.
YouTube - you've been getting too big for your boots for too long now, it's time you went down!

The decentralized march continues on @coffeehub ... ONWARDS!!

Oh yeah it's about time!
Carry on marching guys, carry on marching!!

I'm really really excited about the potential of Dtube!!! It's not the potential for earning Steem, but for me it's simply the principal of not having my work plagiarized by an all knowing centrally controlled Corporation. So far, I haven't been able to watch even one video there though!!!! That's the big problem!!!!! I like that the "Home page" resembles the Youtube "Home page" in the "Old days" (Before Google.) I like that you can much more easily find an Author (I refuse to use the Google made up "Creator" moniker.) that you like.

HOWEVER,

It doesn't work!!! It's 5:30 am as I'm typing this, I've been trying to watch a 3 minute video on Dtube for half an hour, and it won't even buffer. I gave up and told it to "Download" thinking I could watch the video later - off line. After 20 minutes of not really downloading, it came back "Failed, server problem."
So even downloading it failed.

I went to Speedtest.net, and pinged a nearby server at 2.14 mbps. It's not a problem with my ISP.

Dtube is a new platform, and I'm really REALLY hoping that the bugs get worked out.

As someone who's devoted so, so much time to developing skills of the "Video Arts", and who is used to working in that format, I'm excited to have a block chain video platform option free from Corporate censorship.

I'm really hoping that the "Bugs can get worked out, and I REALLY appreciate the effort that the developers have made, in creating the platform. Hopefully in the future, we can get it to actually work so you can watch it.

Yes, I've had these buffering problems as well @goathollow watching @exyle's videos. Sometimes it buffers like crazy, and other times it's really smooth with no glitches at all. The site deffo needs to get some consistency going, but that will come it time ... just like it did for Steemit! :D

I can't even get it to buffer.... Not even a "Circle of death". It has 1/2 second of play then quits. stops, won't go any further. In time yes this will be fixed, and it will KILL Youtube!!!

I've had a few 0 seconds of play too! i.e. a white screen of death!!

Congratulations @mindhunter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@steemitboard - with 186K posts you are a miracle of nature - a freak of bots - an unstoppable Steemit machine!! Steem on :)

I hope Dtube will replace YouTube soon which will be great for our steemit community..

Steem on @essar76! ... or should I say D-on!! :)

May be I am wrong but its my wish...

Dtube is the next gen. youtube platform... with more potential of payouts for even new users...

@mindhunter you are rich man please check my blog and give some upvote i will be very thankfull to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76