SteemFest-born idea of New Project : More Women on Steemit and in Crypto! OPEN CALL - what do you say???

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

An idea born during SteemFest

While looking around the crowd at SteemFest, I realized that the proportion of men and women wasn't really ...let's say 'fair'. Of course, I guess it's normal, since most women, if they don't have boyfriend into crypto (thanks babe @creutzy ! ;) ), they don't know much about it.

I think it's time to bring more of us into the game though, don't you think? Come on, ladies! Let's make it 50-50 at the next SteemFest, shall we?

I first talked with @immarojas and @dreamiely about it, and very excited they both agreed that it sounds interesting! We immediately got also @teodora and @osm0sis on board, who joined our discord channel 'steemcraze'. We are still trying to figure out the name of this new group/project, but still playing with names -we'll see! I talked about it with @things and @sjennon as well and hopefully they're in ;)


photo credit: @creutzy

Just to get one thing straight. This is not about feminism. I just think that Steemit and Cryptocurrencies should be open to both sexes. Yes, we women are more 'sensitive' in a way, and maybe much less of us into technology and relevant stuff, but it's a shame for so many of us to be missing the joys of this type of blogging. Most of my girlfriends (ok, and some male friends too I must admit) around the globe, have no idea what crypto is and when I start to explain they say it's complicated and get easily bored. Let's make it easy for them - let's promote this project to smoothly get more women to get interested, to get motivated, to join Steemit and ...start trading! (why not?)

I would love if some of my favorite ladies on this platform supported this project! Just to name a few [and I will contact you in private as well, ladies, because I think the notifications don't work very well with mentions lately], my friend @natureofbeing, my favorite Greek Steemian @ruth-girl, the incredible-S @stellabelle and @patrice, amazing girls I met at SteemFest @surfermarly, @everlove, @mrs.steemit, @soldier, @mammasitta, @gringalicious, @wolfcat, @lifemovedbysteem, @saramiller, @foxxycat, @silviabeneforti (and her daughter, also on Steemit! @noemilunastorta) and of course my OCD colleagues @m31, @macchiata, @sardart, @ashleykalila @Roxane, @geke and @mariska.lubis!


The World is Ours if we want it to be... Photo credit: @creutzy - in Barcelona ;)

Let's show this platform some girl power!

**Let's show everyone that it's ALL of this PLUS BRAINS ** ;) ;) ;) Let's look towards the future -TOGETHER!
Hit me with direct messages on steemit chat or discord if you're in - and then, we'll find the way! :D
Until then... don't forget to smile....

*Who runs the world? GIRLS!* Beyoncé via YouTube
Sort:  

"since most women, if they don't have boyfriend into crypto... they don't know much about it"

Uhm... I am still trying to get my SOs into steemit. @mrlightning , my beloved husband and @poet , who hasn't even posted!

Since I mostly hang out in the writer and author groups, I have not noticed a male majority. On the contrary - most of the best writers and authors on steemit are female. So I am going to continue putting in equal effort into getting people of all genders onto steemit.

Maybe that's why -because you're into writing groups and environments. But since I was at SteemFest and I noticed a 20-80% analogy,I thought it

I've been to enough tech events to agree with the 20-80 analogy. But also discovered as it's equally hard to get males on the platform as it is females. So I just kinda shoot in all directions in my steemit evangelism. Although, if there was some "all girls" team on steemit, I'd join.

I don't know why my last comment ended up half hahaha! Maybe 'cause I wrote it on my phone - I meant, 'I thought it was a necessary approach' ;) And that's what we're doing already, an ''all girls'' groups - updates soon enough! We only have a group on discord so far, but we'll be getting an account on Steemit too ;) But here's the invite to discord if you, or any girl seeing this, want to join: 'steemcraze' - Steemit for Women- https://discord.gg/zw4wdsr
Personally, I never found it hard to approach male friends about it - girlfriends on the other hand, most of them ('most'- I don't like being a totalitarian, just most) were like 'ah what is this, no I'm bored' or stuff like that... But it depends on the environments and cultures as well. I live in a very international city with multinational friends from different backgrounds.

Okay, I am on the discord now.

And amusingly enough, it was the male friends who were bored when I tried to explain steemit. Girls listened. I hope to get a chance to talk at a crypto conference in Tel Aviv this month to tell people about steemit.

I'm in! I made similar comments when looking around during @Ned's talk. It's no secret that the tech industry is male-dominated, but it doesn't have to be that way—especially not with Steemit! How can I help?

P.S.
Thanks for your expert wisdom in the bathroom of the Snooker Club! ;)

ahahahahahahaha hey @sharingeverybite!!!!! :D I remember very clearly that moment :D :D :P hahahahaha!!!!!
And so glad to have you on board! For now we're on discord with some of the girls, 'steemcraze' is the name of our group, if everyone joins there we can have a better communication ;) Not sure yet if you need invites or you can ask to join and then we approve, but we'll figure it out! In the meantime, you can always reach me on steemit chat - problem with that is that I'm not always online, as with the discord it's also a phone app so always with me! Keep in touch then!!! Hugs!!

I actually introduced my husband to crypto, I don't have a boyfriend and I find the idea that because I am a woman I need additional "help" just slightly insulting.

I know it wasn't your intention and your heart is in the right place.

That's why I said 'most' not 'every' -Clearly a lot of us are not into this category but I am and most if not all of my girlfriends are,so I basically shared a personal experience in order to get more women into Steemit (first,and then crypto). I am honestly sorry if some find this insulting,but some great women (and minds) are already supporting this idea so I guess it can't be that bad after all... Cheers and thanks for your input -because I do know some guys as well not into that at all-but that's not really my interest or purpose right at this moment, at least not quite yet ;)

Love the idea and maybe I can add up something to it ^^ talk to you soon .

My favorite Indonesian coffee person @macchiata yay!!! You of all people sure can ;) Talk soon! <3

Am super excited for this project! Hopefully us ladies can help out other individuals of the fairer who are interested to know more about crypto, but don't know where to start.

After all, we from VENUS speak the same language 😘

Yes yes YES that's the spirit girl! Thanks !!!! :D <3

Great idea, I will be happy if I can help, let me know!!

@katerinaramm we need all the women we can get so you're in by default ;)

great thinking @meanmommy33, you are so right - the tech world is overwhelmingly male dominated. I'm in and I will say that personally I would like to learn about crypto trading and that seems to be a segment of tech that has even fewer women. Will see if I can find the discord group.

Talk more in private girl, but yessss glad to have you on board!!!

YES!!
I realized the same thing aswell and wrote about it! Twas one of my first posts!
Lets connect on Discord 🌷

Following your...Humans @ashleykalila !! Can't wait to participate !!! Steemcraze on discord! Join us!!!

I left somebody a comment yesterday regarding the weaker women's presence on the platform. It's true that men are mostly into crypto and that's why they might be more around here. But we could bring our girlfriends (and boyfriends that find cryptos boring or hard to understand)
Basically, I try to introduce anyone I think could find value in steemit. I'd love to support your idea! We could make an amazing project.

I guess I'm lucky that my boyfriend @creutzy is the one who got me into this :D I wouldn't never imagine me being the one dragging him here hahaha!!! But yes, that's certainly an option !!! We should make an amazing project and maybe, you and me can do more launching into the Greek community (my girlfriends in Greece don't know what a bitcoin is...Surprisingly my grandma's best friend though does!!! WOW)

Ahaha! I love your yaya's friend!!
Well, we have plenty of time to brainstorm. Come on girls!! Work on it! :D

I absolutely love the idea! You definitely got something cool to work on in the future. Hit me up on Steemchat for some swag brainstorming!

I kneeeew it !!!! :D And I sure will - but that's why we also made the discord group, because it's kind of annoying that it's only 1-to-1 on steemit chat :/ Talk soon though yesss!! Kisses girl!!

Nope..steemit chat can also be a group :)

indeed, just checked that - but I think we'll manage better with discord since it's an app. And we're doing it already :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60460.59
ETH 2624.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55