Is Commenting Better Than Posting On Your Blog?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)



I remember when I joined Steemit the first few days were spent only on commenting. I was warming myself up for creating my first blog post. More than that I felt it was no use publishing a blog post with no followers and no way of promoting it except spamming the chat groups.

Over the months I have come to respect the commenting activity on Steemit, without which the platform would not be so interactive. I am a member of many chat rooms and Discord channels but honestly, I find commenting on Steemit better than the not so relevant chats off the platform. After all, the action is on Steemit, not elsewhere!

-:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:-

Here are some facts pertaining to commenting that many users may not be aware of.

Be Part of the Community

First and foremost you must remember that Steemit is a large community and if you do not comment on others' posts you are not engaging with other users. On a social platform engagement is most essential and if you only put out blog posts without commenting you are missing an important activity.

-:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:-

Same as Posts

Steemit has given as much importance to comments as for blog posts by including the definition of comments in posts. That is the reason when you make a comment, your post count increases. There is no separate count on Steemit for comments. You may have also seen some comments that are longer than the post and sometimes even more useful than the post itself. Hence commenting is an important activity which is quite underrated, in my opinion.

-:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:-

Earning Commenting Income

You can also earn by commenting, not only by publishing blog posts. In fact some of my comments have earned me more than I usually earn for my posts. There is a misconception that only only blog posts earn well. True the high rewards usually go to blog posts but how many earn 3-figure rewards on posts? If you're new on the platform(or less than a few months old) you may earn more with daily commenting than blogging.



If you make a well thought out detailed comment that adds good value to the post one of the whales will surely upvote you with a good percentage of his or her voting power. The creator of the original post will also be obliged to upvote your comment since you added more information to the post on the page.

-:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:-

Pays More Per Hour

In fact if you take the pay for effort into account, commenting may fetch a higher reward than posting on your blog. The reason being that it may take an hour for you to create a blog post especially you do adequate research on the topic.

Compare that to a few minutes that you might take to read a post and comment on it.

-:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:-

Downvoting

Some users may be under the impression that only posts can be downvoted. That is not true since a comment can also be downvoted as it is treated exactly like a post for rewards. So make sure that your comments are not frivolous in anyway or undermine the post or the blogger. For that matter avoid any negativity in your comment. It is better not to comment than make a comment that most people may not appreciate.

-:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:-

Payout

A comment also has its own payout period. The post may have been published a few days back but if you comment on it today and it gets upvoted you will receive the reward only after 7 days which is the payout period for any post.

-:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:--:¦:-



Followers

You do not get followers only for your blogging. Actually you get even better followers from commenting because those people tend to be impressed by your statements and follow through to your blog and read your content. If they really like your content they will always read and upvote it. Many of such followers will identify with what you may say in your content and hence decide to follow you.

I hope you found this information useful. Be sure to leave your comment below!

(¯`•._ _.•´¯)

Would you please UPVOTE and RESTEEM this post so that it can reach others too? Also do FOLLOW me for more useful and interesting posts.

#thesteemengine



#thealliance



#qurator

A Few Of My Previous Posts You Will Enjoy Reading!


[Steemit Tips]Curation Rewards For Beginners

Steemit Changes - A Harbinger Of Major Transformation?

[Steemit Tips]Get MORE READERS For Your Content

Useful STEEMIT TIPS For New Bloggers

How Steemit Makes Blogging Easy | 3 Issues New Bloggers Face

Standing While Working - How It Can Benefit You

Overcome Your STRUGGLE With Low Productivity

When Will Crypto VOLATILITY End?

Yay, XXXX Followers! NOT Important

Image sources: Pixabay, Giphy, Canva

Sort:  

Good and balanced perspective. If the community is unbalanced, too many writers and not enough readers, it's not good! Who wants to hear their voice echo in an empty hall? Ideally, I think a Steemit member would do well to spend half their time blogging and half commenting.

That is a good ratio of posting and commenting. Thanks for your comment!

Good comments are a good thing, I agree! When I comment, I always try to interact with the author and bring something into the comment that they've said in their post. It is true that you can start off earning more in comments than with writing posts and it does depend on who you get upvoted by. The curation for comments isn't as good, but when most of us are making .001 for curation rewards anyway, it doesn't really matter. Ha! Great post! :)

That's a great practice of incorporating key points of a post in your comment. With a decent SP you can earn more for curation by picking the right posts to upvote, getting early to those that do not have too many upvotes but will get popular soon. Thanks for your comment!

Yes, my SP still isn't high enough to get decent curation rewards, but maybe someday. ;) Ha.

yes, I agree with this. My experience has been very similar. When I comment more, I tend to get more followers and earnigs are also pretty good

Yes, more followers are bound to be attracted by good comments. Thanks for stopping by!

Speaking from experience, commenting does not have a payout in SBD-s but it does in promoting yourself and meeting people. It does have results in your follower numbers and upvotes to your posts. I usually spend the same time on steemit writing as I do commenting and I am happy with the results. You can not behave in a way that you write a post, leave, and expect to be magically discovered. Interactions are everything here, especially in the begginig.

A good way to attract more followers and people to your posts is by commenting on closely related topics as yours. Thanks for your comment!

Great write up. I couldn't agree more.

As a new member, engaging other users in comments is about the most important thing you can do to grow your account, but a lot can be said about how to approach those comments. I've spent a considerable amount of time replying to new users making inappropriate, generic comments and often spamming links in those comments as well. If the user in question is new, I try to educate them to do better. I'll definitely be bookmarking this post to refer them to next time I come across a member in need of similar help.

I am glad that you liked my post. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Comments, done right, are the core foundation for creating a presence here. I agree, and glad to see you understand and explain it as such. I suppose it is a form of promotion. I too have noticed getting followers just from comments. And an interesting idea about commenting being a better return for effort than blogging. I hadn't given that much thought, but makes sense. Something to think about!

Commenting can pay more to those who are new on Steemit and have few followers. Thanks for stopping by!

The answer to that question for me is both yes and no. I think commenting can be the same as blog for the purpose of exposure and some engagement in the community but in some aspects, it's still better to post blogs more than to post comments.

Thanks for visiting and for your comment!

Completely agree. It probably makes more money on a per minute basis.

Upvoted so that other users can see this post and start putting up meaningful comments instead of pushing out lazy posts.

Early on commenting is a great way to go, but I do think it has to be balanced with blogging- your followers need a reason to come back. Once you reach a certain critical threshold of followers and steem power, commenting also becomes less profitable in comparison as well.

Very true. Once there are a large amount of followers , blogging can be more profitable. Thanks for stopping by!

These are very useful tips. So far, I have found Steemit very interesting, engaging and interactive. Unfortunately, so many here put up shallow and lazy posts, without due research and proper contents. I try to comment very often, but only on posts like this that makes sense, and we can learn from. I just followed you, well-done!

I am glad that you found it useful enough to comment. Thanks and wish you all the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88