The Unwritten Rule of Steemit Success

in #steemit6 years ago

We have heard it again and again on Steemit. There are 3 C’s to success: content, curation, and comment. I do not disagree with any of those, and have personally used them ever since I heard the principles.

However, there is one habit within commenting that we do not often talk about, and that is seeking out influencers.

Let’s be honest, Steem Power is what moves the value of our posts. You can have hundreds of votes on your article but if none of those accounts have more than a few hundred Steem, your hard work will not earn much.

After realizing how Steem Power and the Steemit reward system worked there are two things I endeavored to do.

1- Comment on subjects I was interested in. This is a basic one for anyone looking to grow their fan base and community that they interact with. We all need those people that we have common interests with.

2- Comment on blogs where the author has some Steem Power ie. there vote has some weight to it.

Now, to be clear, simply commenting on articles because the author has some Steem Power is not a good idea. Do you know anything about the subject? Are you planning on building the relationship when you may not have any value to add to them?

There are lots of whales, orcas, and dolphins we can pursue, but if we don’t have anything in common and we don’t enrich their life by our comments, we need to move on.

Our replies come across as spam if we are only seeking an upvote while having little interest in the person or the content they are writing about.

We must think of our comments as having value before we share them with our friends. Words are not meaningless things but actual currency we are sharing. Whether we receive an upvote or a new supporter for those comments is neither here nor there. If you plant enough seeds, you will have a harvest and fruitful relationships to enjoy.


Image Sources: 1-2

Sort:  

I fully agree with this with one exception.

There are a number of people who piggy back on posters who upvote comments.

They write "valuable" posts and engage but are a tad obsequious. They won't upvote you but will upvote their own posts. If asked about it they say they are adding value.

I don't believe words are of value alone. It's great to meet people and talk and make connections on Steemit, but let's face it, we are all here to run a business in a sense.

I personally believe that if someone takes the time to read your post and comment, then they have found value in what you have worked on and an upvote from them is how Steemit works and how we help each other succeed.

Agree with you here! A good comment deserve an upvote, comments just begging or spamming does not.

You gotta give to be given, just giving to self is pure selfishness and will turn on you.

A good post deserves both a comment and upvote. If you like a post but your voting value is low to zero, vote anyway so the poster will know you are supportive. Then comment if you have something of value to add. That's how I've worked things since I started. I have never commented on a post without upvoting. If I didn't have enough in my budget, I'd wait and go back and leave a comment and upvote without worrying about how much I would be rewarded for my curation.

A most helpful nuance this is.

Without careful crafting and forethought, our words come across as empty and selfish. We must remember who we are serving.

Good advice, lydon - writers crave feedback and those gushing or posting fake encouraging comments are smoke to our eyes and vinegar to our taste. Oftentimes they don't even upvote, just hoping to cop a curation reward - as if their vacuous praise 'adds value'. What adds value is what you said here

posting fake encouraging comments are smoke to our eyes and vinegar to our taste.

And that visual perfectly sums up how a fake encouragement feels.

As always, you analysed well. 3 C´s help a lot including SP , Patience and relationship...thanks for a good post

Well said and it used to be that for minnows (<5000 SP), the best way to navigate through Steemit was by leaving thoughtful comments. That's changed a bit with the bidbots but i still think it holds true for the most part.

I spend most of my time working on projects and very little time commenting on other post... when I do comment, I really love the message😍

This is the same for me.. Plus not used to comment so much before either but getting better at it :)

@lydon.sipe, The post have 3 C's, valuable lessons that needs to be repeated. But it only list 1 and 2 so far as I can see?

I reply to people who add value to the article I worked on and I support the minnows who comment on my post and also produce post that I like. People who comment with a couple words then ask for me to upvote and follow, the seek rewards while doing little work regarding the comments or post will get flagged and I will not upvote their post. This is common sense.

I probably flag to little too, note to self, but I report most spam to the steemcleaners.

A lot of the automatic bots are annoying too, adding useless price info or like in a comment.
Here's last example from one of my posts:

This is pure comment spam.

Don't do that if you'r going to succeed on Steemit 🙄

Quite often I like commenting even more than posting itself. For posting you need inspiration and for commenting inspiration is handed to you,
I will always interact with people who reply to me, somebody took the effort to read and write to something I made. I find that special, even with my small amount of sp.

Good blog, dont forget for minnows to grow together and not only aiming for the whales

Yes, I find myself doing the same thing... and enjoying it. I like connecting and sharing. Admittedly, for me at least, it is easier to let others do the hard work and I'll do the commenting! But all things must be done in balance, so, here very shortly I'm going to apply myself to some stunning, revelatory composition that will change the world. (That would be nice wouldn't it!) Many blessings.

Hahahaaaaaa...you are truly promoting yourself!!

Its working, Im gonna check your blog NOW :D

For posting you need inspiration and for commenting inspiration is handed to you,

Never thought of it that way, but it is true. You always leave thoughtful comments. Thank you.

I really do agree on this. If we really want some connections, we should show them we care by reading what they have written. Only then that a person would want to be connected to us. Having quality connections is so much better than the earnings we could get from here.

Thanks for a great post. I'm new to Steemit and had gotten a little discouraged with all the bots and pandering for upvotes. I hope I can find more good content like this. Gonna keep looking...
Keep up the great content!

Engagement is the key to success here :)

commenting in a sensible way is good to do :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44