You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Unwritten Rule of Steemit Success

in #steemit7 years ago

I fully agree with this with one exception.

There are a number of people who piggy back on posters who upvote comments.

They write "valuable" posts and engage but are a tad obsequious. They won't upvote you but will upvote their own posts. If asked about it they say they are adding value.

I don't believe words are of value alone. It's great to meet people and talk and make connections on Steemit, but let's face it, we are all here to run a business in a sense.

I personally believe that if someone takes the time to read your post and comment, then they have found value in what you have worked on and an upvote from them is how Steemit works and how we help each other succeed.

Sort:  

Agree with you here! A good comment deserve an upvote, comments just begging or spamming does not.

You gotta give to be given, just giving to self is pure selfishness and will turn on you.

A good post deserves both a comment and upvote. If you like a post but your voting value is low to zero, vote anyway so the poster will know you are supportive. Then comment if you have something of value to add. That's how I've worked things since I started. I have never commented on a post without upvoting. If I didn't have enough in my budget, I'd wait and go back and leave a comment and upvote without worrying about how much I would be rewarded for my curation.

A most helpful nuance this is.

Without careful crafting and forethought, our words come across as empty and selfish. We must remember who we are serving.