Steemit Recruitment Results

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I've been active on Steemit for about 11 months now. In that time, I've been constantly sharing my posts on Twitter and Facebook, trying to get my friends and family to join up. I've done videos and posts encouraging everyone to check it out. Yesterday, inspired by a Facebook post by @kevinwong, I posted something similar talking about the influence of my vote using one of those big colored message boxes:

I left this as the first comment:

My vote on Steemit is worth more than a $1 right now. If you create an account there and post things of value, I'll vote them up and you'll get $1 of new cryptocurrency in the form of SBD (Steem Backed Dollars) and Steem Power (vested STEEM which you can fully divest in three months).

This is not a scam.

This is real.

I've been on the site for almost a year now. You can see my wallet here: https://steemit.com/@lukestokes/transfers

I've been into cryptocurrency since the beginning of 2013. This is not only the future of money, but the future of anything which can be done with a database and a network. Anything currently requiring centralization or a trusted third party will eventually be disrupted by blockchain technology.

Sign up for Steemit today and let me know what your user name is. This is the future. Get onboard.

You can see from the comments there how many of my friends are getting interested and some have signed up already, waiting for account confirmation. It got me thinking, how well have my 11 months of recruitment efforts gone so far?

I started looking through the people I follow and my memory of Facebook and Twitter conversations to compile this list of people (I think) I encouraged to sign up for Steemit:


@alexpatin
@alorabora
@britttansedai
@andersbrownworth
@benslayton
@brettflorio
@christianstokes
@chuckbryant
@clarkeveretts
@corinnestokes
@danbaritchi
@daynewright
@dnelle
@elazar
@e3betht
@ferf
@jacqueswoodcock
@jalvey
@jameskanka
@jasonstaggers
@jedau
@joshuacoleman
@karaelizabeth
@kenj
@kcjones
@lucaspowell
@mattmacreadie (via @jasonstaggers)
@schujahn
@seanmclellan
@tedatwood
@tessamero
@tonydreher
@wogsland
@wordmaker7

Many of them, sadly, have never posted anything. Some have posted a few times and then lost interest. Some have told me they lost their password (though one, with the help of the support team, I was able to get back into their account).

This got me thinking. Why have I been so excited and involved here while even those I can get to sign up are, for the most part, only mildly interested based on their actions? I wrote a post on how I made $1,500 blogging for one week on Steemit which, I think, discussed some of those reasons.

I'm uniquely positioned in many ways to be excited about blockchains, blogging, social media, and cryptocurrency while also having time to invest in it. Not everyone else is.

It can be a little frustrating to objectively look at my recruiting efforts. I'd love to report I brought in numerous really valuable, important members to the community, but most aren't really active yet. Maybe some day they will be.

@jedau is probably the main exception as he's continually posted valuable content and built his own following. When he first joined he didn't even tell me about it. Hahah. Maybe there are others I influenced who joined as well I just don't know about.

@jasonstaggers has also built a following and posted some really great content, though he did take 7 months off and is just getting back into it now.

@benslayton started off with a bang (an $11k+ post!), but has been really busy with work and hasn't been able to continue.

@daynewright just did his introduction post last night (finally).

This is my list as of today. This is what I have to show for my recruitment efforts (that I know about). For 11 months, it's kind of underwhelming.

I don't plan on stopping.

I'll keep promoting Steemit because I think it has an amazing future.

I believe.png

I think Steemit is currently the most interesting blockchain project for everyday people. Some day, years from now, I don't want anyone who knows me to think I kept this all a secret. I'm hoping at least a handful will thank me for helping change their lives for the better through Steemit.

I don't intend to shame anyone on this list who signed up and hasn't yet participated. I have my own reasons for loving this place, and I should not expect others to share them completely.

With all that said, let me once again thank @sean-king and @billbutler who introduced me to Steemit and posted enough about it to get me interested enough to do my own research and decide for myself how amazing this platform will be.

Some questions for you:

  1. Who recruited you?

  2. How are your recruitment efforts going?

  3. What do you think works best?

Created with love using ChainBB


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

Yeah... I can't really explain 100% why I didn't start when I created my account almost a year ago. I had every intention to start. I think I was more concerned with understanding how all of it worked and just froze.
Plus "starting over" building a network can be intimidated when it seems the platform places a value on you.
"I see dollar signs everywhere...can I be that cool?"
"What if I suck at this?"
"What if I get 0 friends?? Is this high school all over again?? 🤔"

Maybe not justified and overthinking but that is what we do. Now, I have yet to prove if I have staying power so my 2cents is probably decreasing in value but I think getting people to sign up and do the first post is step one. Understanding the cryptocurency is secondary. So many people need to feel the impact before they understand the impact.

All that to say: Thanks, Luke for constantly being passionate! 👍

Thanks for chiming in, Dayne!

Haha... your high school comment is so true! We're so often paralyzed by irrational fears. Hopefully the response to your intro post has started to convince you the community here is really inviting.

So many people need to feel the impact before they understand the impact.

That's true, but hard for me to really internalize sometimes. I try to think as rationally as possible because it gives me the best outcomes by describing reality as accurately as possible. Sadly, people are not the same as the computer running the code I write all day. :) Feelings are often first. I should logically understand this by now.

It is a welcoming community here!🎉

You have definitely paved the way for your social sphere of influence in the world of cryptocurrency.

  1. I was not recruited seen the Steemit mentioned here and there at random. So had decided to look into more out of curiosity.
  2. Recruiting , I'm so new I had no idea.
  3. Had not really thought about... But give me some time I shall

seen the Steemit mentioned here and there at random

I love this. As this happens more, this site is going to explode in new users. Thanks for sharing.

No Problem - this is a really neat and cool and some awesome opportunity.

Luke, man... this is a GREAT idea! At this point I gotta follow you :) I'm going to post this as well on my Facebook. Very cool to see you're an OG in the crypto world :) I believe a 100% vote from myself can do as much as $6 ? I'm not sure...I've been on Steemit a lot today between work.

Ok with 54% voting power, it appears my 100% vote is worth $2.19. I'll find out if this means a 100% vote is worth ~$4.38 ... any help will be appreciated!

Yep. I still remember that video you posted on Facebook 10 months ago.

Congratulations @lukestokes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

My answers:

  1. I kind of invented Steem after learning about cryptocurrency. I've been thinking, what if Facebook likes were a currency? Then I've asked a friend who is deep into crypto and he pointed me to Steem.

  2. I think I need to make some tangible success on Steemit to recruit anybody. So far I see it as my own adventure and responsibility.

  3. Steemit is a living community of bright people where one's voice can be heard and for me it's the main point about why I am here and why I want my friends to be here.

This is a great read @lukestokes - how your not using luke cage gifs with that awesome name makes me angry... My name is Jason - Hockey masks just aren't as cool :)
This is a very inspiring post and should hit home to those that will survive on steemit. I think people who seek instant gratification will come, but not stay unfortunately because at the beginning (as in my case... less than 2 weeks aboard) you see other posts getting good value and you try to produce similar content and get cents on the dollar. If you aren't really here to join the community you won't last. I think that is a good thing because a community is only as good as it's members and the more members that truly enjoy it here strengthens the community. Just my 2 cents.

In terms of outreach I have personally talked with many of my friend sand shared my articles on Facebook (The scam that it is) and most go and look and say man I really liked your post, but you only made a $1. Thinking to myself, you should see the effort I put in to the post that got $.03. However, saying "I'm not here to make money as much as that is a perk. This platform is at its infancy and will only get better, why stay on Facebook or these other frauds when a better alternative is already here. Plus you do have the potential to earn some money on the side which is not evenan option for Youtube anymore. Come on people, but I digress :)

I would love if you would take a look at my blog and make any suggestions that you think could make me a stronger community member.

Thanks again!

Starsteem Out


STEEMON!!!


Great comment. I agree with this completely:

a community is only as good as it's members and the more members that truly enjoy it here strengthens the community.

I would love if you would take a look at my blog and make any suggestions that you think could make me a stronger community member.

Thanks for asking!

Some of my thoughts:

  • You resteem a lot. Since there's no resteem tab (yet), it's hard for people to know what content you actually contributed and what is just being reshared. Some people appreciate good resteems, others will unfollow thinking "I followed you for your content, not the content of others you reshared that I may have decided not to follow."

  • You use a lot of animations (like the ones in your reply here). Some love them. Some hate them. I think they can end up being a bit repetitive and annoying at times, but that's just me.

  • I'm not really a fan of sports any more though I was a college athlete myself (sorry). That's just a personal preference, but this early in the game, many steemit people are geeks and nerds (like me), so sports may take a bit longer to get traction. That does not mean you shouldn't post about sports, I just think you may need to adjust expectations accordingly.

  • Again, you resteem a lot. I can't even figure out what content you create yourself. That's something I would personally change, but that's just my preference and suggestion. Some may really appreciate the content you bring to their feed.

Thank you, Luke! Much appreciated.
Yeah, I figured it out late in the game that resteeming completely muffles the flow of my page. I have gotten better in the last week, but that first week really drowned out my personal content. I do personally love gifs, but great point. And you are spot on about the sports. I don't really expect much from those posts other than to connect with other sporties.
Again, thanks a lot, you are one of the reasons why this community is only going to get stronger. Good day Sir!

Haha! Thanks for the shoutout, Luke! :D You know, when the referral program is in place, I'll make sure you get your due. Your effort in spreading the word about Steemit is something that needs to be recognized :)

You're welcome, Jed! I wonder if a referral program is even needed. That might make it that much more difficult for people to understand what's going on here as they may think it's just another pyramid or MLM scheme. I'm quite fine without a referral system. If this thing doesn't create enough value on it's own, it'll never have a chance anyway. People have to intrinsically want to be here and genuinely invite their friends, not be extrinsically motivated with a referral reward (IMO).

Yeah, I agree that it's a double edged sword, but there are still people who might consider it as an incentive. So yeah, it's a hard balance to consider. Some people who get the hang of it do stay, even if they didn't want to sign up in the start. Great points though. I hope the Steemit team considers all of the sides before they make a decision.

sadly, this is the catch-22 with these hyperbolic price moves, because you know once it tops out, there will be a huge correction with many bagholders. and that anger and frustration is never good for the "ecosystem".

the flipside, however, it's a great "marketing tool" to get people really interested in the platform, perhaps partly due to a sort of FOMO (fear of missing out). When you show people how one post made US$100+, they're like "oh man, I've gotta check this out! you sure it's not some kind of scam?" It's a bit harder to convince people to sign up when your last few posts earned 58 cents. lol

And the best part is that they don't have to invest a dime except for a bit of their time. And because of that, even when prices inevitably pull back significantly, hopefully they will see the longer-term potential and the "bigger picture" without getting hurt (and perhaps even having learned a few things) in the process.

Ironically, I wouldn't be surprised if a bunch of your past recruits have suddenly become interested "all over again" in better understanding what STEEMIT's all about!

  1. a good friend recruited me.
  2. Bad, many are simply to brainwashed with facebook, instagram and what ever, and see Steemit as a to good tobe true concept.
  3. I need to buy a ferrari and drive around town a few times, that will wake people up :)

No i know what you mean, on this moment i am thinking of a plan to advertise on a network of a friend, who got an online network of 50000 people.
I am just thinking about how to said the right words, to touch the heart of the masses.
Or how i need to convince my friend, to advertise for steemit.
If you have any advice, feel free to share.
And btw, great post.
Upvotes and following!

Thanks for your reply and for answering the questions. Ferrari sounds like a good plan to me. :)

A couple suggestions: slow down a bit and think about formatting and style. Instead of i use I which is correct. Start your sentences with capital letters. "how to said the right words" sounds confusing, but English may not be your first language, and if so, that's totally understandable. For native speakers, they sometimes see things like this and think the person didn't put in enough effort to really care (when, in reality, they may have put in way more effort to learn a completely new language!).

Good luck and thanks for the follow!

True, English is not my first, it's my third.
But i mostly use spelling or grammar checker on posts, but was to lazy to use it on comments lol.
I apologize for that.
Cheers

Congrats on learning three languages! I used to know a bit of Spanish, and I got by in Costa Rica with it for about 10 weeks, but mostly I'm the stereotypical dumb American who can only speak "American."

Thank you, well i am born in the Netherlands.
But my parents are from Suriname, and we mostly talk Suriname at home and dutch on school/work.
And i almost never speak English, i probably sound like an American, who played World of Warcraft for years. :)
Spanish is very difficult, i tried that but my tong wound work along.
Chapeau if you manage to learn something in 10 weeks, i tried it for a year and then i thought.. fuck it lol

Oh, sorry, no I took Spanish in high school for four years and forgot most of it. The 10 weeks was just in reference to the length of the trip we had there. I linked to some surfing pictures and my wife did a full post on it. :)

Nice,
I was about to search for the post, to see your surfing pictures.
But then i thought wait a minute, i don't know who or what.
It might be better to ask if he can link the post here :)
So could you link it here :)

The text Costa Rica with it for about 10 weeksin my comment above is a link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55