You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Recruitment Results

in #steemit7 years ago

This is a great read @lukestokes - how your not using luke cage gifs with that awesome name makes me angry... My name is Jason - Hockey masks just aren't as cool :)
This is a very inspiring post and should hit home to those that will survive on steemit. I think people who seek instant gratification will come, but not stay unfortunately because at the beginning (as in my case... less than 2 weeks aboard) you see other posts getting good value and you try to produce similar content and get cents on the dollar. If you aren't really here to join the community you won't last. I think that is a good thing because a community is only as good as it's members and the more members that truly enjoy it here strengthens the community. Just my 2 cents.

In terms of outreach I have personally talked with many of my friend sand shared my articles on Facebook (The scam that it is) and most go and look and say man I really liked your post, but you only made a $1. Thinking to myself, you should see the effort I put in to the post that got $.03. However, saying "I'm not here to make money as much as that is a perk. This platform is at its infancy and will only get better, why stay on Facebook or these other frauds when a better alternative is already here. Plus you do have the potential to earn some money on the side which is not evenan option for Youtube anymore. Come on people, but I digress :)

I would love if you would take a look at my blog and make any suggestions that you think could make me a stronger community member.

Thanks again!

Starsteem Out


STEEMON!!!


Sort:  

Great comment. I agree with this completely:

a community is only as good as it's members and the more members that truly enjoy it here strengthens the community.

I would love if you would take a look at my blog and make any suggestions that you think could make me a stronger community member.

Thanks for asking!

Some of my thoughts:

  • You resteem a lot. Since there's no resteem tab (yet), it's hard for people to know what content you actually contributed and what is just being reshared. Some people appreciate good resteems, others will unfollow thinking "I followed you for your content, not the content of others you reshared that I may have decided not to follow."

  • You use a lot of animations (like the ones in your reply here). Some love them. Some hate them. I think they can end up being a bit repetitive and annoying at times, but that's just me.

  • I'm not really a fan of sports any more though I was a college athlete myself (sorry). That's just a personal preference, but this early in the game, many steemit people are geeks and nerds (like me), so sports may take a bit longer to get traction. That does not mean you shouldn't post about sports, I just think you may need to adjust expectations accordingly.

  • Again, you resteem a lot. I can't even figure out what content you create yourself. That's something I would personally change, but that's just my preference and suggestion. Some may really appreciate the content you bring to their feed.

Thank you, Luke! Much appreciated.
Yeah, I figured it out late in the game that resteeming completely muffles the flow of my page. I have gotten better in the last week, but that first week really drowned out my personal content. I do personally love gifs, but great point. And you are spot on about the sports. I don't really expect much from those posts other than to connect with other sporties.
Again, thanks a lot, you are one of the reasons why this community is only going to get stronger. Good day Sir!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65970.26
ETH 2696.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88