Explaining Steemit to My Friends: Blockchains and Cryptocurrencies

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Since 2013, I've been talking a lot about Bitcoin which is a cryptographic currency. My friends started to pay attention when this "silly Internet money" went all the way up to $1,200. Even then, I didn't sell because I was convinced it would go much higher someday or be replaced by something better. It's been volatile, to be sure, but still has real value and can be used to buy just about anything.

Recently, I've gotten really excited about Steem. Yes, really excited. I've missed a lot of sleep and a couple meals diving into this to understand what's going on here. I've read the 44 page white paper, and I've spent days hanging out in the Steem Slack channel learning directly from the community and the core developers. In a nutshell, Steemit is a decentralized social media platform built on blockchain technology which pays content creators and curators in tokens of real value.

That last sentence may have just sounded like "blah blah blah techno-speak blah blah" to you. So here's another attempt at explaining.

How does a social media site sound where there are no ads, no trolls (so far), and no censorship? What about being paid to use it?

Did the video help explain what's going on? Let me know what questions you have, and I'll do my best to find answers for you.


Luke Stokes
Original content written for Steemit.
Thanks for your vote. Please follow my blog for more.

Sort:  

This sentence just does something for me "Steemit is a decentralized social media platform built on blockchain technology which pays content creators and curators in tokens of real value."

I'm hooked!

Thanks @miacameron. Me too! I should be working more on my own business, but this thing is just too amazing. It feels... peacefully revolutionary. I can understand the value here because I keep losing sleep to create more of it!

I am caught and brother, to see what may soon

Ha! Me too! I'm still coming to terms with the potential and gravity of Steemit. So awesome

Edit note: Steem Power vesting is now 3 months, not 2 years.

Thanks for the shoutout! 🙏🏼

Thank YOU for getting me involved!

And it's okay, I'd much rather have Steemit than sleep. :)

I was looking for an article to share on facebook, thanks !

Excellent! I'm hoping my friends will make sense of it also.

Luke! I'm here to learn. Lead the way, brutha...

@schujahn! Really glad to see you here, bro! Welcome.

"I've missed a lot of sleep and a couple meals diving into this to understand what's going on here."
You too!? ;-)

Very interesting! I like it! Good Luck To You!

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61775.46
ETH 3455.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52