I Am Giving Back To The Steemit Community By Becoming A Mentor For Newbies

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

For a very long time, I have thought hard on how to give back to the Steemit community. After heavy thinking and research, I finally found an avenue to make my stay in this community a fulfilling one.

Just as the nice Steemit slogan says



I joined Steemit for the reward; but now, I am in love with the community. So in love with the community that after praying when I wake up in the morning, the next thing I do is to check steemit.

I believe it now when @gbenga said Steemit is a virus, not a deadly one, but a positive-thinking one, a life changing virus.

I so much enjoy the Steemit virus and the reward it brings that I have vowed to make it great.


MY STEEMIT STORY - Remember, You Read It Here First!


I hope most newbies can learn something from my Steemit story. It is not one sweet story like that of @papa-pepper nor @stellabelle.

In August 2016, I got to know about Steemit through a thread at the Warrior Forum (an online forum for Internet Marketers and Internet Business owners); I immediately signed up for an account to start my Steemit journey.

After days of lurking around the website, I took the courage to write my introduceyourself post.

Just as many newbies joined Steemit with high hopes and expectations; I also expected my first post to earn me a good reward that will motivate me to do more.

Boy, I was dead wrong; that post made just $0.02. You can check for yourself here https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@lucashunter/meet-the-african-sales-pro-am-happy-to-be-on-steemit

Image source: flickr.com

I count the present newbies to be lucky because they can use @booster, @minnowbooster, @minnowsupport and other upvote bots to upvote their post and get a good reward.

I was depressed, I wanted the reward so badly, but I couldn't get it. I called it a QUIT

Nine months after (sometimes around May 2017), through what I called good luck, I stumbled upon Steemit again but this time I was more determined to make it work.

My determination and lots of Steemit research for what work paid off big time for me.


WHY I WANT TO BE A MENTOR


For the past four months, I have dedicated some time to learning how Steemit works like:

  1.  How to get the idea for your Steemit post. 

  2. How to structure your Steemit post to make it readable even for impatient readers. 

  3. How to properly promote Steemit post for a better reward. 

  4. How to build your reputation while you make friends on Steemit.

And some more tricks that will ease newbie's journey on Steemit. I don't want them to leave just as I did over a year ago.

I want more newbies to really see the true value of Steemit.


JOIN THIS CHANNEL TO BE A MENTEE


Recently, I stumbled upon the wonderful Minnow community on Discord app called @unmentionable.



After some days in the channel, I decided to use that little team of Steemians as a way to give back to the Steemit community.

Since there is a position for mentors available, I am applying for the position of a mentor to help the newbies that are members of the Unmentionable team.

You can learn more about the Unmentionable here https://steemit.com/steemit/@unmentionable/so-many-laughed-when-we-said-that-we-would-teach-and-make-social-media-professionals-on-steemit-until-now-theunmentionables

Let me know what you feel about me becoming a mentor in the comment below.

If you are teachable, @unmentionable have a mentor for you. You can join the Discord Channel at https://discord.gg/4UqNjs2




Do You Want More STEEMIT REWARD?

- Promote Steemit To Your Friends and Family; See How You Can Do That Here => https://steemit.com/steemit/@lucashunter/how-i-am-promoting-steemit-with-a-steemit-membership-ecard-i-created

Sort:  

You've got my vote - waiting for at least 1 more and the spot is yours buddy :) Great work on this post!

Thanks @fatpandadesign. I promise to do my best, and nothing but the best.

I'm really glad a great person like you has taken it upon himself to mentor newbies on Steemit. Our long walk changed my view entirely of the platform. Looking forward to sharing more awesome moments with you in person. We minnows are lucky that you have taken that mantle of leadership. Lead us on as we follow in your path.

Our long walk changed my view entirely of the platform.
You are right my friend, Steemit is different from every other social network on the Internet.
Looking forward to sharing more awesome moments with you in person.
I hope to see you again at the STEEMIT IN NIGERIA event by @ehiboss.
We minnows are lucky that you have taken that mantle of leadership. Lead us on as we follow in your path.
I will humbly do as you wished bro!

Great to stumble upon your post here @lucashunter. Sounds like any lucky minnows mentored by you will be in good hands. You've a new follower in me :)
Hoping I can pick up some of your wisdom, tips, and experience along the way.

Oh, and I'll check out that Discord channel you mentioned. Peace

Hoping I can pick up some of your wisdom, tips, and experience along the way.
For sure you can, and thanks for the comment.

Thanks bro.. Will be glad to Learn more.

Hey, @lucashunter

I am already part of @theunmentionables and I would love to be your student.
Do you have a specific sub-channel on dicord?

Thanks,

I will see that we have a channel dedicated for the mentors, you will get it soon.

Damn!!! The part that struck me was "In August 2016, I got to know about Steemit."
Then steemit was barely 3 months old. You would have gone far since then
That nothwithstanding, its a good thing you've decided to teach people about steemit.
Great impact!!!

Then steemit was barely 3 months old. You would have gone far since then
I still kick myself in the butt for going of Steemit for almost 9 months. More reason why I want to help the newbies set the right foot on Steemit. I want to give them what I didn't have the chance to get last year.

i wanted more from this blog, i thought you were going to give what you learnt but it looks as though you are just trying to drive traffic to yourself ..... sorry ... honest opnion this was how it read to me

i wanted more from this blog, i thought you were going to give what you learnt
My dear @cryptogrind, one does not finish reading a book by reading its cover. I promise to share more Steemit insights to help myself and others that care to learn what I know.
you are just trying to drive traffic to yourself
@unmentionable is not me nor am I a part of the administrative team. I joined the channel and got inspired to become a mentor on the channel and on Steemit in general. I have no other motive than to see newbies established on Steemit. I have some newbies that I mentor at the moment. I am only casting my net to reach a wider audience sir.

I hope I have been able to clear your doubt on my motive to become a mentor sir?

@lucashunter, your idea for newbies is wonderfull thanks for giving a such platform in the sense of guideline, i accept you as a mentor and really appreciated you by sharing a informative and valuable post.

Thank you, I promise to make your Steemit journey a sweet and rewarding one.

Thanks for the information sir.

It seems a good way to help the others!

Yes helping others will help me in return. That is the perfect law of karma, do unto others what you want done unto you.

That's a great way to see life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65407.18
ETH 3576.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48