Nah-ima-stay Positive 🙏 Thank You All 🤙steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The title says it all, Full Steem Ahead! 💪 What a turn around, literally...

Here I was about to walk away from a website that has such awesome people in it... I literally had my mind made up, and posted a goodbye to thank those who followed me and those who educated me on things that could be done better here on Steemit. When low and behold Steemians from various statuses came pouring out, of course at first there were a fair mix of comments, some negative and some positive. ...but as the post continued its viral ways, more and more positive comments started to flow. Many voices of reason poured out. It was stunning.

2314C516-CBE0-431B-AFDD-8FC9B0A87703.jpeg

If you didn’t see my post you could find it here:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@lifeinspired/goodbye-steemit-thank-you-minnows

80AC4271-1FAD-48C4-900E-92250EEB625E.jpeg

I’ve always done my best to keep an open mind, but Quality vs. UPVOTE, I learned about Steemit Abuse.

My adult life I’ve learned to always keep an open mind, but as I researched Steemit, diving deeper and deeper into posts on the topics of Abuse on Steemit and learning about how this site isn’t like reddit at all, and about Quality posts and how it’s all about the UPVOTE. It shocked me. No, it pissed me off is what happened. I found out that all the Quality Posting efforts from the mass of Steemians wasn’t what will bring them rewards from the #rewardpool at all... only Whales and Steem Power can do that. I was furious and as you read in my previous post, I was out!

Sure walking 🚶 away would have been easy, but it doesn’t make it right.

I read comment after comment, some saying “Stay, give it longer” and others “Don’t let the door hit you in the ass on your way out” and I get it. I see both sides, but I had to vent and get out the truth, at least educating others who where in the same position I was in. I learned many leave Steemit because of the abuse. I was almost another statistic...

It’s great to shed light on the abuse but, what I learned after was far more valuable...

Don’t get me wrong, I’m really glad I exposed more light on the subject of Reward Pool & Whale 🐳 Abuse. 💪 Sure I could have went the non-genuine route of ass kissing and made $$$, and believe me I was about to! When I had that wake up call... “What the hell am I doing?! This ain’t me.” Having that “Whale Fishing” mindset was just wrong, not to mention it completely changes who you are and what you want to write about. I was pissed at myself more than anything for even entertaining the idea. I decided to research, I must have gone through a hundred pages, hour after hour, I was sucked in... anger building the more I learned. “Of course I’m outta here” I thought, but as I posted that goodbye post, something amazing happened. I literally called out to the Steemit community and to my surprise people answered. People just like me, that had the same frustrations, some learning for the first time others veterans who speak of positive change one day. It was awesome! 🤙

CBC1930D-38C3-454A-B2B2-B6DC17C437DE.jpeg

The Steemit Community Turned on the Light 💡

Here I was dead set on leaving, but I read every damn comment. I couldn’t keep up fast enough as they were pouring in. Stunned, this post is going viral with almost a thousand views in less than 24 hours... I really gave it all deep thought. I mean these awesome people are taking the time out of their life to comment on my exit post.

I totally assumed it would be another flash in the pan, but I was wrong. Sure, there are a lot of things that could be better with Steemit. ...but it’s not all bad. We may not have much Steem powered juice behind us, but there is strength in numbers. Your quality work is worth something (regardless of the 0.09 cents you may make. Quality and the opportunity to be yourself, write about whatever interesting topic you like, and make it worth someone’s time. That’s where it’s at...

4114FBFC-C8C1-4B0B-94F3-71425AE2ACF2.jpeg

I’m coming back y’all and it’s all because of you. No I won’t be kissing any ass, but Whale, Dolphin, Minnow or Plankton, I’ll treat you all the same. 🤙

...and when we all grow our accounts and possibly become Whales ourselves, let’s keep this going. Let’s reach out to each other, new to veteran Steemians, let’s leave status out of it and care for one another and make a difference together.

Let’s bring Quality & True Friendship Back! Write about whatever your hearts desire and be free. “No more bum kissing or begging for Votes” be worthy of the Upvote. That’s what I say...

Do this, and I think we will make Steemit an even cooler place to be, call people out when they are ass kissing and drop the Tag: #BeReal or #LifeInspired to remember what’s most important. Being your true self. Because you all are amazing, seriously, you ever think about how lucky we are to be alive? You’re a damn miracle! Walking around, thinking, your body alone is amazing. All the things that happen inside your body just so you can wake up, take a shower and go to work. ... The fact we have Creativity.. to plan and publish our thoughts so others may experience what we are thinking. Yeah... you’re pretty damn awesome.

Lets-be-friends.gif

Hey friends, if you like my posts:

~upvote
~resteem
~comment below

Thanks in advance, I really appreciate it!
❤️😊🤙
@LifeInspired

Special Thanks to EVERYONE that commented in my last post. You all are rockstars! Cheers 🍻 🤙 #namaste

Sort:  

So you get upset that you aren't making money instantly as a redfish with 0 investment into the platform, create a sob story post, finally get a decent payout, and fully revert. A man of true principles. Really fucking glad that you're sticking around.

Whoa buddy, No, not at all. Don’t take my kindness as a sign of weakness. There’s No reverting on my ideals or feelings about my posts. Just want to take a more positive approach. The system is still broken, nothing has changed, yet all of us are going to continue to focus on Quality, as for the payout that isn’t why I’m staying either, you have way more in your account than most of us have. You have almost $4,000 and I have like $20 something lol... Feel free to check mine if you don’t believe me.. 🤙 Not sure where your frustration is with my post. Going forward if we want any change to happen here on Steemit we need Equality among all of us, no matter if your a Whale, Dolphin, Minnow or Plankton... we all deserve to win, and write content we are passionate about, things we like (whether it earns or not) ya feel me? United we are strong and no ones asses are getting kissed here regardless of status. I think I made that pretty clear.. I’m coming back because if you read the comments in all of the last couple posts, people here have the same views and really reached out, and leaving is only abandoning those who are still fighting for equality in the Rewards Pool system. ...and as you, me, and everyone grow our accounts and stick together then we can win together... again, we all have our own decisions to make, and my recent post only got a couple bucks, yet I’m not bitchin... it’s time to change it up and focus on the quality, be yourself and let go of the whole Whale thing... someone made a good point the other day, this is a network with awesome people like us..., you won’t get rich here, none of us will, but if we stick together and network with each other, then at least we have a little power as a united group. We’ll make awesome friends across the board. Then let’s say you become a Whale one day, then it’s your responsibility to share the love, spread the wealth, and upvote Quality content regardless of status or if it will benefit you, make friends with everyone vs Whale Fishing 🎣 I’ll be making posts on minnows, dolphins anyone here that’s producing quality content and that’s real, I’ll be introducing my followers to others, so if your down with it, follow me, if you ain’t then don’t, I’m not here to dwell in the negative or the shit that isn’t changing anytime soon. True I may have lost my shit with my exit post, but if I learned anything from that experience, it’s there are people here, like you and me, that are frustrated. If I have a platform that I could stand on with friends of all statuses and could introduce new Plankton and those who have quality content and get them upvotes, then isn’t that a good thing? Anyways. Thanks for your comment, It’s valued. 🤙

I'm so glad you stayed! I was going to comment on your post about leaving Steemit, but I had to check out your profile first. And I'm super excited to find this post.

We need people like you here. And as you said, "Walking away isn't going to fix anything".

Stay here, and let's creat the community that we want to be a part of.

All the best,
Susanne

I agree wholeheartedly - walking away isn't going to fix anything..

Exactly, Cheers my friend 🍻

Awe thanks love! Yeah I totally agree. Together we can make a differences. 🤙 Thanks for commenting and for your time. I know it’s valuable. Cheers 🥂

I agree. We totally can! Thank you for posting this. I know it can be frustrating.

I also get a bit frustrated when people upvote crap. I love when people post personal and original content. <3

Totally me too. Quality “Real” posts is where it’s at, 💯 ❤️❤️❤️ Thanks a bunch and you gained another follower 😉🤙

It's an ongoing battle with myself. Some days it's disheartening to see a dollar of rewards on several hours of work. Other days, a post gains the traction it deserves, or sometimes more than it deserves.

And occasionally you get a glimmer of hope from something that just feels right. Yesterday I was upvoted by gentlebot for about $10 on a comment I had made. Each time I see whales using their SP for good and promoting content based in merit, it reminds me that there's a lot of good people on this platform, and that things can get better.

Thanks for sticking around!

Exactly and that’s what I’m hoping for. I came down a little hard on the Whales, there are many Great people here and there is some sketch too.
I’m looking for the Good & Positive people, whales or not, I care less... ..but if your creating awesome content and your positive and you aren’t afraid to have your own voice. That is what’s up! 😎🤙 thanks for your time and your comment..

@weaselhouse
I once got upvoted by @gentlebot, how does that work, is it just random?

So I researched for min, and found this helpful post that talks about the bot. It seems @gentlebot randomly selects the highest quality comments (which I dig!) and then upvotes them:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gentlebot/hello-steemit-i-m-the-gentlebot

Let me know if that helps or if we need a post about bots in general. 🤙 Cheers

Thanks, I am trying to understand bots... People seem to disagree about them.

Yeah I haven’t gotten into bots, but one gave me an award 🥇 or something for having the most comments in a post or something. Was in my “goodbye” post, I’m learning too, let’s all learn together 🤙

Bots can be good or bad and can serve many different purposes.

Almost everyone is against spam bots whose sole purpose is to earn money by writing low quality comments or posts repeatedly.

Some people disagree with paid voting bots. These are bots where you send them Steem Dollars in exchange for a large upvote.

Other uses of bots might include anti-spam measures like Cheetah, bots to run contests (ex photo contests, writing contests) or bots that will provide advice/upvotes to users on their first post. A bot can really do anything that a normal human could do on the platform - its only limited by the creativity of its designer.

I talked a bit more about various types of bots in a post last week. You can find it here

Awesome, I’ll check it out. 😎🤙
I would be curious how they build the bots. Very interesting.

It would be fun to learn some python (coding) and design your own bot...

I don't remember if I commented on your previous post, but it is great that you are staying.

Perhaps we should expect Steemit to be like a pendulum - there will be swings forward ... and swings backward ... and somewhere in the middle is a good middle ground. :)

Indeed, my last post was pretty heavy, but you gotta stand your ground and speak up if you want things to change right? It’s funny how that works.
Im just in awe with everyone right now. Thank you for your comment and keep in touch. Following you. Namaste 🙏 🍻 🤙

aww, thanks backatcha! love & light

When you feel the sudden compulsion to do something, it is likely the right time to be doing so. :)

Yah I’m vibing that for sure. 🤙
So true.

I don't want to sound like an infomercial, lol, but if you haven't heard of the steempunknet game you can play on Steemit you might like to check it out. Adds a layer of fun (and potential $) to what you already do surfing the site. Plus, on Discord we are a great bunch of people ;)
If you check out the posts on @steempunknet you can get a feel for the game and the fun we have, and we always welcome new victims players. :D

enter image description here

discord invite

Ha ha thanks, no worries. Everyone can feel free to share here. 🤙

A lot of people go through what you went through, in the beginning. I watched it happen countless times since I came here in November of 2016. It's actually pretty natural I think, I'm just an unusual case. I knew what my books were going to make first year off the shelf on Amazon. I saw what just putting one book through, chapter by chapter, made here. That created a unique perspective I think ;)

Just make sure you're having fun, reach out and meet people, and don't take a 'bust' post personally man. Cheers!

Totally, and that’s not a bad idea either. Writing books 📚 On steemit and having people follow your stories. It sounds fun and productive at the same time. How many books have you written? Definitely intrigued 🤙 Thanks for you comment. 🍻

It helps to take a stand even if that stand might be unpopular or dangerous. That is called character. 2 days ago I was in a store with my relatives who are here on vacation. We did nothing a ordinary law abiding customer wouldn't have done. As we go upstairs it started, we had some rambo looking uniformed security following us on every level all the way to level 3 or 4 of the store and literally staring at us the whole time while we were trying to shop. By then I was fed up with the criminal treatment and told him and I'm translating "Shopping with a personal bodyguard, very friendly", after that we left. I wrote a email to that store and explained everything in detail and in a respecful way. I have since received a response with an apology a offer of a CHF30 Giftcard and they said they will immediately contact the security company to address this and prevent such occurrences in the future. We were probably not the first to experience this but if they really did take action as they claim then we may be the last to experience it in this store and my actions made a difference. Actually as they told me that security company has a deal with the city and they patrol the entire shopping mile so it may even make a difference way beyond that store👍😎🥇

Great post, exactly! That’s what I’m talking about. The only way to fight back is to stand up for what you believe in, even if it goes against the grain a bit... 🤙 Thanks for your post.

yeaaa!!! Love this, just be yourself! :) There are awesome friends to be made here... stay to find out! hehe. Glad to see you posting! :) Resteemed! :)

Awe thanks Karen, much appreciated. 😊 We’ll all make this community better - “together” -
👫👫👫👫👫👫👫👫👫👫👫
Let’s change the community for the better and then change the world 🌎 😎🤙 Much Love..

You can see it both ways but staying positive and supportive is best and it will all work out. Its a community and its very much different then other social networks today. Be well and stay positive indeed. @lifeinspired

Totally, be well my friend 🤙 I agree.

So you stayed @lifeinspired, thats good, I like how you are not going to turn into a "@ss kisser"...

I am catching myself, editing my thoughts and comments, not sure if that is good or bad, but I feel like I can be held accountable for some "sarcastic joke" I make here in the comments in like five years when I am running for president or something...

But it is hard to always be your "higher self", "namaste" etc etc when you feel frustration I think it is good to vent a bit, but many people here (who past from plankton to minnow) don't, they all ready come here with a "careerist mentality" and a five step plan for becoming a "whale", only reading, upvoting and commenting other bloggers that have higher voting power etc... It is a really sad mentality, people should be a bit more human and show at least a bit of character...?

And also remember solidarity anyone?

But yeah there are basically no trolls here and that is really good I guess...

-Keep on trucking!

Exactly, and I think that thinking before you write can be good, but don’t censor yourself or hold yourself back. Bring your true self and letting go is go. What’s the worse they can say about you? If anything they will say, “that guy/girl doesn’t take any shit!” ... me, I love that. I love people who stand up to abuse and fight for the greater good. We Minnows and Plankton automatically have the “underdog” postion and that is good for us. Thanks for your comment and yeah, keep trucking for sure. 🤙 #BeReal #LifeInspired #NoMoreShitContent 😎

You are probably right.
Always good to stand up for ones rights and try to help less fortunate, if you can.

On self-censorship and opinions, this place would be really cultish and creepy if there where only "YES-men" here, that is why I liked your article about quitting it had character and real emotion.

Personally I have also learnt to be somewhat reasonable, and being too much of a drama-queen or "rebel by default" is not always so smart...

When I first heard of Steemit I just wanted to drop some really good high quality blog-posts and potentially get some compensation for it, but after signing up, researching, reading and commenting etc, I realized that I have to engage with the community, something I was not very keen on at first...

Call me slightly anti-social, shy or a bit damaged by all the privacy scandals concerning private data and social media etc etc, I like a bit of privacy, concepts like FB = not very appealing...

But Steemit turned out to host a decent(ralized) crowd 😎, most people here are surprisingly gentle and really friendly and helpful, but yeah some other people are a bit self-centered, (just like I was when I got here), and I guess if you allready have a "following" you can get away with being a "diva".

Some are just (like you put it) "whale-fishing", Personally I am just trying to mingle to find some like minded people that might like my future posts, and there is some very funny and interesting articles to read here, and many interesting characters are coming out of the woodwork.

I think this was the longest comment I ever wrote on Steemit!

Take it easy and I will see you around bro!

#BeReal 🤙

Well said dude ...and hey I’m following you too buddy, long story short, just be yourself, being anti-social in a social economy is hard, and I have friends and hell I myself can be anti-social from time to time, I’ve seen it with a lot of brilliant minds. I think you have an opportunity here too. This might help you to break free of that anti-social stuff, I’m doing it and I totally feel you about privacy. That’s why maybe don’t tell everyone all the details about yourself, maybe just your first name, and mostly username, and just have fun with it and put your personality out there, you seem like a pretty cool dude, do it enough and it becomes second nature bro... trust me, ANYTHING can be learned. 🍻🤙

...and stay away from the yes men, lol never lose your backbone... it’s what holds you up in tough times 💪😎🤙 #BeReal

Yeah, thanks for the feedback, not completely anti-social, he he, I have friends, (but I am not a very big fan of conventional social media and their deceptive ways, and I don't think I am alone).

I understand that Steemit is a big experiment and all this data we put in is going to probably be worked on by AI, I am okay with that as long as they don't do anything super unethical. It is fun here, but yeah I am not going to publish to much personal info here. Thanks a lot for the support, you seem like a pretty cool dude @lifeinspired!!!

I try buddy, thanks. 😊🤙
Time to make some dinner 🥘
Hamburger Helper lmao 🤣

Thanks for your comment. 🤙 Cheers 🍻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83