Keep Posting, Even If You Are Making $0.50-$1 A Post...

in #steemit7 years ago

You must think I'm mental right? Why keep posting if the financial rewards do not match your effort? Well, there are a few reasons I would like to share with you and hopefully they will motivate you to keep on going even when it feels like you are wasting your time...

1. You Can Make Friends

Steemit is a community. Yes, there are spammers and s***posters, but for every robot there is a real person just like you trying to connect with other people. Take the time to have a look at other blogs who post about things that you are genuinely interested in. Worst case scenario you find out early it's another robot and move on, but there is a large chance that if it is a person, they are going to be interested in you as you both have similar interests. I have already made 5 friends on Facebook through Steemit alone. Who knows, that random person on the other side of the computer could be a close friends of yours one day...

2. Extra Avenue Of Income

It is disheartening to see some people make serious money on here and even though you put the effort in yourself, you see very little return. These people are obviously doing something to unlock that income, but don't focus too much on that. It could literally be anything. So focus on you. Most people in life don't ever make good money on one thing in their life unless they work for someone else, so simply see this as another source of income. I write books, articles on Steemit, have my own blog (https://sirlewisofclarke.wordpress.com/) and I have a work permit in Thailand. Believe it or not this is me being lazy! When you have multiple income streams (and they don't have to be massive) it is far easier to shift focus on things that are working at that moment in time and not feel deflated about things that aren't...

3. It Improves Your Writing Skill

The simple answer to 'How do I improve any skill' is to practice. I used to do football freestyle tricks, but that wasn't just luck; I would spend a MINIMUM of 3 hours every day as a teenager honing my talent. People used to say that I made it look so easy. Again, this was through practice, hard work and setting the highest standards for myself. Even if you don't make any money on Steemit, you are getting invaluable experience for future ventures. Maybe you want to do article writing, travel writing, or blog posts? It can also be a good tool to simply enhance your vocabulary and keep you mentally sharp.

4. Gaining Knowledge On Subjects That Seem Alien To You

I said to a friend of mine tonight that it really frustrates me when I ask questions about cryptocurrency; because I usually get an answer that involves eight words that I've never heard before, and I feel like I understand it even less than before. Everyone seems to get it, and seems to be on the ball. It's like your first day at work and everyone is running around doing something while you are just standing there panicking. For every nine explanations that use pretentious words that make you stare blankly and say "...Yep, I understood 0.1% of that..." - there will be one explanation that explains whatever you need to know much more clearly. I have gained so much knowledge about crypto over the last six or seven months. Some through asking and some through trying it myself. Sure it's scary, but you never know if you don't try. And if what most people on here say about cryptocurrency becoming the norm is true, then we will have far more experience and information on this than the average person going into this blind...

"I don't know what seven of those words were..."

.

5. A New Audience

We all have our various reasons for being on here, but the main connection we have is to share our lives and what we are passionate about. For me, I have sold a few more books on here and have generated genuine interest from people I would have never met otherwise. But it's not all about us; like I said before you can find other people and what they are interested in sharing, people all over the world that can connect with us through a mutual interest of leaving the doors open for others to share your life. This audience can lead to infinite possibilities; including work, love, friendship, a new town/country to live in... Why not explore these things? They may lead to nothing, but they may lead to something incredible...

6. Steem Fluctuates Like Crazy!!!

Like most cryptocurrencies right now, Steem is fluctuating like crazy all the time. In fact by the time I have finished this blog post Bitcoin will have probably gone either up or down a few hundred dollars. Point being if you are fixated on the money side, $1 SBD (the Steem dollars you get paid in for your posts) sometimes has an actual value of $12. So if you do only make a dollar, it is actually worth a lot more. The problem is psychologically we look at small numbers and assume the worst. However if you keep calm and watch the charts, you can exchange your Steem and SBD for a nice tidy profit at the right time...

.

So don't worry about about not making money or having very few people view your work. Just keep going, there are so many reasons to keeping your blog active even if on the surface it feels tough to keep on posting. This platform is not your only means of making money, so treat it like something fun and not like a job, and you will soon find your stay here far more enjoyable :-)

21458400_10155784963337147_1736976190_o.jpg

Sort:  

Yo man, if you can still do those freestyle tricks tou should make a video of it, maybe write ablut your experience and training too😎

It's been 10 years since I've done it seriously. About three years ago I wanted to get back into it because I thought it would a cool way to make money busking while travelling around Europe, but I don't have the motivation to shake off the rust. I'm still technically very good and can do a few tricks really well, but now I feel like a retired sportsman who sits in the studio critiquing the up and comers...

"the main connection we have is to share our lives and what we are passionate about" ---- Yes! That's certainly true for me too. Thank you for the encouragement.

No problem. I'm glad I can inspire someone and give you some kind of energy boost to do whatever it is that you desire to do :-)

Excellent post man! Thank you for sharing your experiences and insights with us. I really appreciate you for standing with the greater value of Steemit.. building community and connecting with others who share our interests! Bravo 👍

It is hard sometimes when you start solely thinking about the money and interaction. A lot of my posts don't do very well on either and I do wonder why at times (especially because when I started I was averaging $25-30 a post) but it's far more complex than that and can help you in many situations other than the simplistic thought of making the same amount of money that the big boys get...

Yeah.. or simply fuggeddaboudit and simply share what you want with no expectations! Talk to people, have fun, learn and keep sharing these insightful posts.

I say do it for the love or not at all bro.. or at the very least if you're gonna wonder about all the complexities, then steem about that too! 😝

Probably summed it up perfectly; 'have fun.' That should be the message in all aspects of life

very good post. Stay motivated and keep posting! I am trying to do one a least every day now

I used to when I had a lot of stuff to post, but I very rarely post that much anymore. I haven't made any money in three months so for me it's more of a case of keeping sharp before I start writing another book :-)

I'm not a writer really - this is my first attempts. (and English is not my first language, so it does makes it more challenging). (that being said, I'm fluent in it , and used to do translations up to legal document levels).

That's really cool. It always impresses me when someone can express themselves in the second or third language. Most British people can't speak a word of any other language other than English. English people look at me like I'm some kind of witch when I communicate in Italian or Thai, but the truth is the majority of people in certain countries (Belgium, Switzerland, The Netherlands, etc...) can speak at least two languages.

I get that it's harder to write though; when you speak t's about trial and error until you are confident, but when you write you are constantly second guessing yourself

The hardest part is correct context - trying to say what you mean to say, without it being misunderstood, because of lack of knowledge.
Not of words but of context.

You speak thai?

Sawadee kah!

(Like talking Thai phonetically in English typed words - is strange...)

Phuut Thai dai, tee mai dai kian phaasaa Thai. Pramaan sam pii leaw mee feng kon Thai khray mai phuut phaasaa Angkrit. Prochanan tongan phuut Thai duaygan. (Yeah, it must be very strange for a Thai person to see their language typed in a different alphabet)

If it makes you feel any better, most English people have miscommunications when writing things down. Sometimes I write something, read it back and it looks completely different to how it sounds in my head...

Where in Thailand are you from? I live in Chiang Mai, but I'm currently in Phang Nga visiting my mum.

lolol - I would have to try find English Thai dictionary to understand, sorry.

It is very funny trying to work it out!

I never type Thai English. and phonetically - mmmm... lol

Are you English?
I speak/write very good English ( I used to work in courts to do translations).

I never had to translate Farang typing Thai, in English letters! lololol

Do you write thai? (for typing)

Yes, I'm English. I moved to Chiang Mai in 2011 and left in 2015 to travel, but I have been back for a while now.

I browsed through your blog and read your threesome post. You are very good at articulating yourself, especially in sexual scenarios. Many native speakers would be jealous of your talent...

No, I can't write Thai. My ex girlfriend could speak English but could write it (although I think a lot of it was Google Translate!) So we would talk in Thai but message in English. It was a strange situation... Fun though!

Excellent post!
You defend the true moral values ​​of this website.
I'm French, I don't know if my English translation perfectly matches my opinion.

Vous défendez les vraies valeurs morales de ce website.
Je suis français, j'ignore si ma traduction anglaise correspond parfaitement à mon opinion.

Your English is a hell of a lot better than my French!

It always makes me laugh when I see people speak or write fluent English. They normally express themselves so eloquently (like you have done here) and then say "I'm sorry, my English is not very good..."

I speak Italian and Thai, but nowhere near the standard that most non native English speakers speak English. So I have no right to criticise your ability to speak English. But thank you for seeing the points I was trying to express. The more you do, the more options that open for you. Options that you probably don't even realise are options right now...

thank you for all these recommendations.
Great users need to support new users like us to develop :)

I hope it helps everybody on here not lose focus on the bigger picture. Sure, making money is fun, but if it was that easy we'd all be millionaires! The money might come, it might not, but there are so many positives to Steemit aside from money...

I just encouraged a newbie, but not like this. I feel even better for staying here and encouraging! Great post!

Glad you liked it. Sometimes it is tough to keep going. Last year I spent many a night in hostels in Europe writing on my laptop while everyone else was having fun. For me, my focus was finishing my book. For people on Steemit it can be whatever you are looking for...

excelente y muy inspiradora forma de motivar, gracias por tu aporte, fue de mucha ayuda!!

I can't read this without thinking of the 'MUY IMPORTANTE!' Family Guy cutaway...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60