[MARATHON BLOG 19] The Purge: Cutting out booze (I went for a ten-mile run after drinking a lot this weekend and it did not end well)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

runwhisky.JPG

Bye bye booze.


After last night's run I realized I gotta stop drinking. At least, heavy drinking before the race on October 10th. Should be a no brainer, right? Well, some of us are slow learners, apparently. Saturday night I had gone to a friend's grand opening party (she's starting a bar in the area) and drank a decent amount of scotch whisky. I then ate a lot of chicken.

The next day I was beat and a bit hungover, but we had plans to see some friends for a BBQ, so we went, and I drank more whisky, and a beer, and ate more meat. It was wonderful. It was good.

Soon after starting my 10-mile pavement pound that evening, I felt my guts start to shift around. Oh god, I thought, I gotta finish this run. I can't stop for the bathroom now. See, I had already been feeling a little guilty about drinking so much and not really feeling up to snuff for the run that day. So, I pushed on, and I made my body deal with it and wait. At the end of the ten miles I felt pretty good, aside from a noticeable excess fatigue from the partying and drinking. I shouldn't drink so much before long runs, I thought. My friend Adam was right.

The Purge.


I got home and threw my sweaty clothes in the hamper. I hopped in the shower. Upon emerging, something was wrong. I began to feel like I needed to double over. I hit the bathroom. No big deal, I thought, this is just happening because I didn't eat so hot and then pushed myself too hard. Well, three hours and a nightmare bout of cold sweats, gut cramps, diarrhea and puking later, I knew I had been through a purge. My body, now getting into better shape, wasn't having it. It's us or the booze, my organs and muscles seemed to be saying. You push us hard, we're gonna clean this shit out.

Anyway, until October 10th it is gonna be one or two drinks max for me. Fuck that shit.


Last Night's Run:


Distance: 10.47 miles
Theme Song: "Don't Swallow the Cap" - The National
The_National_-_Trouble_Will_Find_Me_(Promotional_Singles).jpg
source.


Playlist so far:


"Under the Pressure" - The War on Drugs
"Somewhere" - Soundgarden
"Owner of a Lonely Heart" - Yes
"Rose Garden" - Lynn Anderson
"Napalm Love" - Air
"Lips Like Sugar" - Echo and the Bunnymen
"Truth Hits Everybody" - The Police
"U Can't Touch This" - MC Hammer
"Tap Out" - The Strokes
"When Day is Done" - Django Reinhardt
"Sunrise, Sunset" - Bright Eyes
"(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" - Devo
"Take No Prisoners" - Megadeth
"For Whom the Bell Tolls" - Metallica
"Air Cal" - Com Truise
"Surfing On a Rocket" - Air
"Andy's Chest" - Lou Reed
"Only Shallow" - My Bloody Valentine
"Love Love Love" - The Mountain Goats
"まいご" - Joe Hisaishi / 井上あずみ
"Easier Said Than Done" - MxPx
"Just Don't Give a F**k" - Eminem
"It's up to You" - The Specials
"Searching" - Quarion
"Searching With My Good Eye Closed" - Soundgarden
"Here She Comes" - The Cars
"I'm so Free" - Lou Reed
"Don't Pass Me By" - The Beatles
"Don't Cry Wolf" - The Damned
"Don't Swallow the Cap" - The National


35 days until the marathon! Holy shit!


(Thanks for stopping by. If you missed the last installment of MARATHON BLOG, number 18, you can find it HERE. If you want to know why I am keeping this blog, and the inspiration for starting such a record on the blockchain, you can find the first MARATHON BLOG post HERE.)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

A marathon is a Spartan's endeavor if there ever was one! I'd recommend not only cutting out booze, but replacing it with kale juice, or wheatgrass. Free radicals build up faster in the body that is put under severe athletic strain.

Also, gentler proteins! Peanut butter if you aren't allergic, and bananas (which are a runners best friend, and are cheap in most places).

If it were me, I'd throw some easy/classical in with the hard core stuff as far as playlists, but hey, thats your preference. I sincerely wish you the best. My first marathon was a tough trail run, and the best thing that came out of it was making a friend of a veteran runner (Rrrrick Karapostos, I probably killed his name but he does use a lot of r's. The man has run over 100 marathons, and does lots of charity work.)

Thanks! Went out and bought some peanut butter last night. I love the stuff. And yeah, good point about bananas. Makes sense.

Yes, I don't think that I could even attempt a run after drinking the night before. Hopefully you don't have to deal with that again!

Haha. Me too. Though it was my own damn fault! :)

Ayyy you can do it. I went from drinking every night like 12-18 beers to nothing.

It's all about mindset my friend

Good luck you got this :)

its about age and personal health condition man :) better not to drink so much before sport activities,
i remember at age of 16-20 you could drink for weeks or months and all will be ok, now after 30 its definitely will finish you :D

Hahahahahaha amennnnnnnnn amennnnn. It is fun to look back and be like how the heck did you do that haha :)

read your post i think you should quit drinking i my self had quit 2 year back it will feel great.

Good on ya! lol

Mmm, scotch whiskey is one of my favourites though. Running and alcohol are just things that don't mix... ^^

Yeah man. I love a good Islay malt. Definitely doesn't improve mile times over long runs, though :) Might help on short run times!

Yeah drinking and running long distance together however i have read a couple of non-

Hi friend, how are you? Drinking hot drink is not good for health. I am a sufferer of alcoholic addiction, so please don't have much alcohol control friend control. You are so sweet and genius so don't slip ever, any way thanks for the run, which protects you from after effects. Thanks for sharing, if you have time please have a look on my post, I had posted a post about sleep walking child's real story. Have a great day friend happy steeming.

@kafkanarchy84 I'm sorry to say that I will unfollow you me and my friend too because we read your posts and upvote it and share our feedbacks in comments but you ignore us.
good luck to you @kafkanarchy84

I reply to as many comments as I can that speak to me, and tend to upvote them generously (at least I think so). I have a family, and a busy schedule. Long story short, if you think I "ignore" you, just unfollow. I don't see the point man making a big deal out of it.

Adios! Good luck!

you know what?? I feel shame to ask for upvotes because that's a bad behavior but at least if you will not interact you should appreciate us for spending time to read your content and give our feedback
but finally, I will not ask for up-votes because I'm not one the up-votes slaves here.
I just look for value and go to the users that I find value with them . who interact and really appreciate the effort
anyway, best of luck to you

I do interact. Goodbye.

you did it again after drinking with you same playlist, but I admit it's a funny playlist that can't be left

It's not the same playlist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83