You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [MARATHON BLOG 19] The Purge: Cutting out booze (I went for a ten-mile run after drinking a lot this weekend and it did not end well)

in #steemit7 years ago

A marathon is a Spartan's endeavor if there ever was one! I'd recommend not only cutting out booze, but replacing it with kale juice, or wheatgrass. Free radicals build up faster in the body that is put under severe athletic strain.

Also, gentler proteins! Peanut butter if you aren't allergic, and bananas (which are a runners best friend, and are cheap in most places).

If it were me, I'd throw some easy/classical in with the hard core stuff as far as playlists, but hey, thats your preference. I sincerely wish you the best. My first marathon was a tough trail run, and the best thing that came out of it was making a friend of a veteran runner (Rrrrick Karapostos, I probably killed his name but he does use a lot of r's. The man has run over 100 marathons, and does lots of charity work.)

Sort:  

Thanks! Went out and bought some peanut butter last night. I love the stuff. And yeah, good point about bananas. Makes sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62