Hey Steemit Royalty, your votes are worth more than anyone else, and you've effectively deemed my blogging interests worthless, so I am forced to cater to yours.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I see little interest taken in photography, art and music. I see lits of interest in philosophy, spirituality, hot girls and of course #blockchain.

What kind of content would you like to see more of?

Im stuck in a loop where my posts with 10 or 20 upvotes are worth pennies, while other users who cater more to the interest of the single middle-aged male tech crowd are swimming in cash, at often a dollar per upvote.

Any tips to adjust the quality of my work to garner the votes of more prominent Steemit members, other than a boob job?

The most powerful Steemers decide what goes up and down.

My concern isnt the money rewards.

Its that the money will create the familiar freedback loop of rich and powerful people deciding what we all should he paying attention to.


https://steemit.com/steemit/@jupiter00000/if-10-upvotes-are-worth-a-penny-then-100-upvotes-are-worth-a-dollar
If 10 upvotes are worth a penny, then 100 upvotes are worth a dollar?

And 1000 upvotes worth 10 dollars?

Then Ive got my work cut out for me..

But in reality...

Upvotes for me count (on average) about 1/10th of a penny. This one got up to 10 cents per vote:

meanwhile...

Upvotes for on this person's post are worth about a dollar each:


I also notice that vesting rewards are significantly higher for the most powerful users.

Does this create a disproportionate pyramid where only the wealthy get wealthier while us peasants sweat and toil to create meaningful content that hopefully nabs the attention of the users who sit on the royal thrones? Early #Bitshares investor here, seeking clarity with the new delegate system.

New users' votes do not hold the same power as the old lords and ladies of Steemit

I understand why this makes sense, however I am confronted with the fact that If my interests to not align with the interests of the few most powerful users, my content is destined to be buried with all the other Indonesian click-bait spams and copy/pasted articles.

Does that mean that my posts should cater to the interests of power users?

How do I get more valuable upvotes?

Thanks for any input.

#help #blogging #tips #newbs

Sort:  

Some of it appears to be calculated.
When I started on Steemit, I was absolutely surprised when my first post received a 300 dollar payout that it really didn't merit. My theory is that the whales were upvoted everyone's first post to boost excitement for the platform, which is why the "introduceyourself" tag had such a high payout. This made a certain amount of sense. Like the old rumor that slot machines are programmed to pay out higher on the first game.

Right now, it seems that they are trying to reward "hot girls" who join the site, in order to give the community wider legitimacy. Similar to a club that offers no cover charge for ladies.
It seems that they are working to curate the demographics that show up on their site, but in the process, the content itself is suffering.

You are spot on.

Bingo!

Overheard from the board room business plan meeting: UPVOTE PRIORITY: Boobs and SteamPimp Marketing bloggers. Anyone caught upvoting art, music, photography, food, literature or any other low-capital topic will be removed from the SteamPower pool; condemned never to be upvoted again by anyone who matters, assuting the account and all its contributions to be thrown under the steemtrain forever onward

I agree. This is, IMHO, Steemit's single greatest growth challenge. Whales currently have myopia and do not value a sufficient breadth of topics to attract and retain a wide audience to the platform.

In addition to the things you've noted, I've also noted that voters seem to prefer quantity over quality. They reward longer posts more consistently than well though out short ones. Sometimes a witty headline and a link to an outside source is very beneficial to the flow of information on Steemit, but those rarely get any valuable votes.

It's disappointing when you realize that the next Matt Drudge or the next Instapundit couldn't earn a living on Steemit, at least as votes are currently dolled out.

I really appreciate your response. Thanks.

keep in mind steemit is still in beta

You are jumping the gun. This community is only a few months old, and really started to grow a small one or two months ago. Give it the time to grow and diversify,

How is getting rewarded on Steemit any different from trying to impress the popular kids in an attempt to fit in?

Everywhere but Denmark, apparently, uses the old fashioned "Every vote counts as one" way of thinking.

I choose rebellion against this. I find it to be the only responsible thing to do at this point.

You have my vote for sure..great post man something will change soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43