Hey Powerful Steamers. Your votes are worth more! What are you interested in seeing more of?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

If 10 upvotes are worth a penny, then 100 upvotes are worth a dollar?

And 1000 upvotes worth 10 dollars?

Then Ive got my work cut out for me..

But in reality...

Upvotes for me count (on average) about 1/10th of a penny. This one got up to 10 cents per vote:

meanwhile...

Upvotes for on this person's post are worth about a dollar each:


I also notice that vesting rewards are significantly higher for the most powerful users.

Does this create a disproportionate pyramid where only the wealthy get wealthier while us peasants sweat and toil to create meaningful content that hopefully nabs the attention of the users who sit on the royal thrones? Early #Bitshares investor here, seeking clarity with the new delegate system.

New users' votes do not hold the same power as the old lords and ladies of Steemit

I understand why this makes sense, however I am confronted with the fact that If my interests to not align with the interests of the few most powerful users, my content is destined to be buried with all the other Indonesian click-bait spams and copy/pasted articles.

Does that mean that my posts should cater to the interests of power users?

How do I get more valuable upvotes?

Thanks for any input.

#help #blogging #tips #newbs

Sort:  

Thanks for giving me the opportunity to earn 1/10th of a penny :)

The more you have Steem Power, the more you have voting power. So if you want more of it, you need to buy steem and power up.

The system works this way to make sure that users who have most voting power have also skin in the game: if they vote for bad content, their investment will suffer because other people will abandon Steem. If spammers want to be successful, they need to buy a lot of steem and use that to upvote spam. This will be hopefully so expensive that they are not going to even try it.

interesting ;-)

My understanding is that the more steem-power the voter has, the heavier the weight of the vote. So to earn anything meaningful on your post you need to get votes from the more influential members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59