Now you can see who is following who from any profile page!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

My code is now part of steemit.com, hurray! With the update to steemit.com today comes a few new features, including

the first thing I've brought to life on steemit.com / https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/pull/123
.

You can now see who you're following and who has followed you. In fact, you can do this on any user's profile page to see who they are following and who their followers are too! All you need to do is visit anyones profile page and click the one of the numbers under the account name. Each link goes to the corresponding page with information on that group of users.

Followers

Imgur

Following

Imgur

From there, you can visit their profile, unfollow them, follow them, or even mute them.

Thanks to both valzav and jcalfee for their respective help with this! I hope to be helping out more and more as time goes by, but I'm still learning the ropes for the ecosystem they've helped create.

Other recent updates

Since I'm unsure if the other details in this update will be published anywhere, I went through the commit log and have pulled out some additional details of whats changed. If any of these developers write up posts to their work, let me know and I'll update this post to their posts.

  • Check out the update by @someguy123, who added a new feature for witness pages making it easier to vote for anyone!
  • @roelandp's steemtools.com has been added to the sidebar menu to help users discover 3rd party tools.
  • @roadscape added a temporary solution regarding the comment anchors, as reportd by @ash. A 200px offset anchor point has been added to account for the elements on the page showing and hiding.
  • valzav and @jesta worked on adding a vote weigth slider that's visible for very large SP holding accounts. This will give them the option to choose how heavily weighted their vote is each time they vote.
  • @roadscape reworded "Pending Payout" to "Potential Payout". An effort to help educate users that the payout value is continually adjusting over time and what you see now may not be the payout a post receives.
  • valzav made sure the "Follow" button will now appear on top of all user profile pages, not just the blog tab.
  • jcalfee has fixed some of the bugs with the login form. Hopefully it will behave in a more consistent manor now while users are attempting to login.
  • @roadscape added a new filter called "Trending (30 day)", which will show posts that are trending during the 2nd payout window.
  • jcalfee changed the display logic for images to also hide on low rating posts.
  • @roadscape added a number of mobile/small screen optimizations for user tabs, the menu, and the topic selector.
  • jcalfee improved the wording on the "Convert to STEEM" window to help avoid confusion for users.
  • @roadscape made a change to author links, allowing once more the ability to open new tabs. Middle clickers rejoice!

Note: If these kinds of updates are something the community wants, I'm more than happy to continue following the code and reporting on the changes.

Sort:  

Love your work @jesta. YOU are the hero this site needs, not shameless narcissists constantly releasing the same content redone with different titles and benefiting off of users liking posts they know will have high payouts.

I have no steem dollars in account currently as I powered everything up, but I wish I did to tip you and other devs for the work which is the true lifeblood of this site

I'm just a guy who really wants to learn about this stuff, build awesome things, and help improve it :)

But thank you!

I've been waiting for this. Great!
Are notifications of posts by the people you follow next on the list? :)

Look at me, users are never satisfied ;)

I can't speak to where that's at on the roadmap of features, I'm just a dude who submits pull requests occasionally :)

But I'd like it too!

I'm just happy to see the updates rolling in. The devs, and even you as mr. pull-request every-now-and-then are doing a stellar job. Great to see.

Why thank you. It takes a village!

Thank you for your contribution. Do you know when we will be able to upload avatar ?

I don't have any insights into that. I should probably ask, maybe it's something I can help with.

Sorry to bother again but there is a feature that would be great too which is drag and drop image in the submit story form , many user don't know how to upload image and have complained about this. peace

I don't have any insights into that. I should probably ask, maybe it's something I can help with.

I think if we can all upload a pic instead of default avatar it would create a cooler, warmer atmosphere if you know what I mean. Also it would be great to have avatar on your profil page and be able to upload wallpaper. A bit like facebook,twitter,etc..
I have seen many user demand that feature so people will be very happy if you could build it, I definetely will be :) Again thanks for all you do.

Great post, thanks for sharing @jesta

I love these surprise updates.

Was a surprise to me too. I went through and wrote most of this post like 12 hours ago, having no idea when it was actually going to be released. I was just excited to have a feature I helped build go live. Then I noticed the 30 day trending in the dropdown and realized it was all live!

Also, is your username any way a play on archer's cyborg berry? :)

I like crypto and my name is Barry. I'm so unoriginal. Lol.

Edit. You help build this? I missed that part. Here's to a job well done 🍺

Haha, all good. Immediately when I saw the username I started thinking about Archer and it's Barry character. That's why I ask! :)

Thanks!

Hey @jesta so cool! Congrats and also a great add-on this follow/follower right here on Steemit!

Thanks for pointing me to the sidebar linking to http://steemtools.com, i'm like omg omg :)

Hah I was pretty excited for you too! It's a great index of all the tools out there. Glad you got some super official credit/linkage for it :)

Great updates!!! This is getting better and better :)

The very first one (following/followers) was my suggestion - See Here!. I am glad someone took notice and added that feature.

Oh and it is a shame that they updated changes to the login screen killed the Password Manager function in Google Chrome....I have to manually enter Username and Password every time now.....can someone please take a look at that?

@jesta this is awesome! My blog post yesterday was reaching out to my followers since I had no way of knowing who they were.
Super glad to see this feature added.

Not to be greedy but since you are now officially the resident expert on the subject, could you explain the follow API? Nothing I'm doing seems to work. I just want to see who's following me who I'm following and be notified whenever they do anything.

I would upvote that all day long! Btw I'm following you. Awesome work!

Are you looking for an API call example to get followers? I could probably write something up.

At it's core, it's get_followers('jesta', 0, 'blog', 100). But the actual syntax depends on what language you're using and what library you're using to make the calls. It needs to be called against the follow_api, which can be retrieved by calling get_api_by_name('follow_api').

If you're using piston, here's a pseudo code snippet:

from steemapi.steemnoderpc import SteemNodeRPC
rpc = SteemNodeRPC("wss://node.steem.ws", "", "", apis=["follow"])
rpc.get_followers('jesta', "", "blog", 100, api="follow")

@jesta Thank god for you sir! I think that may have been the piece I've been missing this whole time.
I need to figure out how to map this to the JS api from SVK, but I do understand now.
Can you explain the parameters you passed to get followers please?
anyone reading this comment who wants to help me in my endeavors. Upvote @jesta like there is no tomorrow. This is great info. Info I can't find anywhere else and I'm pretty damned skilled at finding things

Loading...

Great work, @jesta! Thanks for making the Steemit experience better for newbs like me!

Yey, finally!

I suggest many do what I will do now, and that is checking if some interesting followers have started following you and following them back! Since it hasn't been visible before, its gonna be exctiting to see all followers you've gotten. :)

I am enjoying this app and the new way to see the trend of followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85