Resteeming is Very Helpful: However, be selective!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Unless your main focus on Steemit is curation, and have a page that focuses on Resteeming other folks' content, be aware of how much you Resteem...everything you resteem to your page shows up in the feeds of everyone who Follows you.


If you are a content creator, this has the potential to literally bury your content in the feeds of your Followers.


IMG_0729.JPG


Look at your page: if you have to scroll down a bit to find your latest post from a few minutes/hours/days ago, perhaps you are Resteeming a little too much.

I know you want to be supportive, believe me...but put it on a scale. If it doesn't weigh out, don't share it. Set a curative bar.

Upvotes, discussion and discourse in the comments, and shares on other social media help very much, as well as support the growth of the Steemit platform on a larger scale.


I resteemed a lot in the beginning, and received this advice from a friend after I'd noticed a few unfollows after I'd been on a resteeming binge.


In my own experience, it comes down to being selective. There are no rules here, per se, so do whatever you want, take all the advice for what it is or isn't worth to you...and of course everyone wants everyone to Resteem everything they do so they're paid more, but especially with the hardfork coming and votes worth more, remember to be selective in the content you choose to Resteem/curate, and remember that it can bury your own content in the feeds of your Followers, sometimes to the detriment of folks missing your real content, all the way to people Unfollowing you because you, "clog up their feeds."


Lately, I have had a specific focus on Resteeming posts related to the Steemit Local Music Society opening on Friday, as well as particularly selected, stand-out posts among new members I have helped into the platform to expose them to a larger audience, or the occasional gluttonous sharing of contests which require shares for entry...other than that, I try not to.

Some people curate their favorite posts of the week into one place, write a great article about what they loved about each article and why, and feature people that way...cross-promotion focused, curated posting is a great and sometimes underutilized method.


Don't lose Followers trying to be supportive of everyone. Be selective, unless your page is a page that focuses on curated content.


Or don't...it's Steemit.

(Woo hoo anarchy and stuff)

Everyone has their own opinion about what works best for them, and in my experience, being selective is a good thing.

Same thing goes for who you follow. Don't let others miss, nor miss the content of others because of spammy feeds.


I hope this was helpful to some of the awesome new folks we have swimming around our community these days!


STEEM ON!!!

Original Cover Image Source...before I killed it with incredibly poor editing.



Follow me @jessamynorchard for more assorted randomness!

Sort:  

Hello @jessamynorchard . I find your article very helpfull. I use to post only travel or daily experiences that are mine. I use 100% of my personal photos and try to share my own experience with others. What you suggest me? Keep my posts up in my blog profile or resteem from other same experiences?

I am 5 days old here. Sorry if you find my question a dumb one :)

Since you are new, this is a good time to address this question, I think...it isn't dumb at all to ask.

It all depends on how you want your page to be...do you want it to be 50/50 curated content and your own? If yes, be careful how much you post of your own content. If you post less frequently (say, only weekly), sharing similar experiences in between your posting shows you are continuing to interact with the platform between your posts, and also keeps it on one track.

If you plan on having a multi-faceted track on your page with numerous subject areas, make sure you address that in your #introduceyourself post, if you haven't done that yet...or make a post about what you intend to post and why.

It's all about what you want to make it for you.

@sykochica what do you think?

I think you're pretty spot on @jessamynorchard. The answers somewhat depend how they plan to approach it between posting versus curating.

But for a newbie...you'll be getting yourself built up more from your posts and/or comments. While resteems are nice, they don't get people to initially see your blog. This is usually more helpful once the following has been built. So I typically recommend resteeming a little less (like 1 a day max).

Definitely make the #introduceyourself post like she said. That's the place people here look for new users and help get those first people to find and follow you.

Welcome to Steemit @mikimike! :D

Thanks for the advice. I already did the #introduceyourself post and i shared my story, as i am going to post about my experiences :D so i think i am on the right path :P

good idea !! :)

I didn't even realize this could be a problem. Well then, now I have to resteem this just for the irony

Resteemed for Irony also!! HAHA!!!

This could actually get big, knowing the steemit community. :)

Now that you mention it, you're right. Why don't we try, let's #doitfortheirony !

click the tag... :)

Getting hyped now...

BAHAHAHA! Ironic Resteem for the win.

Can I link your post in the #doitfortheirony tag? :)

You have my full blessing as long as you make a comment here addressing that this post does have useful information for the newest of users.

However, it is also Steemit...so Steem on, in a sense, means, "do whatever the fuck you want to do," so there's that, too. LMAO

Done! This is actually very pertinent to my personal situation. I'll even split any proceeds with you 50/50.

updated.... :)

I absolutely agree! I've worked hard to gain a following on here and I would hate to subjugate my readers to a slough of content that will not only blow up their feed, but make it harder for them to find my content. I think resteeming is a valuable tool that can be used to build relationships between users, but it's important to be selective! Check out my page if you get a chance and if you think it's quality please consider following me! Just followed you, so keep up the good work!

Not wanting to blow up everybody's feed was my thought also. I usually limit my own posts to 2-3 per day for the same reason. If you're constantly posting stuff, even good stuff, after a while people are going to start getting tired of seeing it all the time. I don't want people thinking I'm just spamming for the bucks, you know?

Haha yeah I feel that! Don't feel bad about wanting to make money though! That's a huge motivation for why we're all here haha

I am finding already that I'm having to unfollow some people due to their excessive resteems. I think it would be really helpful to be able to sort through them. Like when you're looking at your own feed or on a person's specific blog feed, you can choose to show resteems or not. That would be a life saver for me! Sometimes I am interested in what they resteem, but more often than not.... I'd rather not see them! I share some resteems but I have been really contemplating whether or not I should at all. I want to resteem helpful content but... like you said, my own stuff gets buried! I'm contemplating making post some of my own, featuring links to the helpful content.

There is a lot to be said for thoughtful cross-promotion through posts. I think the weekly model works best in that regard, however, many people have their own model. I just want to make sure that the new users realize where their resteems go, what they do, and what they don't do...which is many times the opposite of what folks are aiming for accomplishing.

Thanks for writing this, @jessamynorchard. When I want to follow people, seeing so many resteems makes it hard to find the posts made by the person I'm looking for. And often the resteems are about so many different topics, I cant' even find what that person is about.

I think so many of the new people to the platform are still in that "Facebook-model" world where people hardly see anything, rather than in the Steemit world, we see everything. It's hard to retrain oneself to a social media structure where people actually appreciate and listen to what you have to say.

There's a lot of retraining going on here on Steemit right now, lol. Thanks for putting in the effort to help with that process for the new folks!

Informative post, thank you. Maybe you can tell me the difference between promoting and resteeming? I tried to promote a post, but saw I did not have the steem to do so. Is resteeming free? Thanks in advance.

Promotions are paid and Resteems are the little arrow that points back to itself that is the equivalent of a "share" to your page from someone else's page. It also shows up in the feeds of all of your followers.

Promoting a post, in an economic sense "burns SBD" and is like paying to advertise it in the Promoted section of the search functions on the site. :)

Hope that was helpful.

Very, thanks a lot :)

Guilty!...lol..
:-)
great article! maybe I should heed this as a warning!
but then I might get popular....
lol.. but it would be new... safer in the herd..or trying to lead the herd....hey where did every one go...they were here an hr. ago.....
:-)
I hope you have a good day!
namaste!

hee haw hee hawww..
:-)

Very nice to read your post... <3

Helpful especially as a new user. funny I almost re-steemed this by hitting the wrong thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52