The new reputation system - Good or bad?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

None of us can really answer this question at this point in time yet. There is however a different way to look at these changes. I am an optimist by nature and I love change in general. The way that I look at this change is that:

We have a voice on the platform and this voice is being listened to!

I have personally wrote a few posts about building a reputation. In the posts STEEMIT is a reputation economy and Steemit will soon be the the Dolphins playground , I highlighted that I believe it is extremely important to build a reputation first, and the rest will follow.

During my time here on Steemit, (about 3 weeks, so I'm still a newbie) more and more people are discussing how difficult it is for you posts to be seen as a result of the multitude of posts that is being written on a daily basis.

Guess what?

The creators of the platform is trying to do something about what everybody is saying and asking for. Now, this is good news, VERY good news.

The developers and creators of the platform could just as well be sitting on beach chairs, having a party, while cashing out there SteemPower over the next 104 weeks. And believe me they can have a good party if you look at some of these accounts! The moment this happens, we can just as well all leave the platform as, the value of Steem will drop beyond control as we will all know that they gave up!! Looking at all the effort that is going into the new releases and additions to the platform, it is clear that they are in it for the long run.

Another thing that needs to be taken into account that this is only a Beta version of the platform. We must understand, that new things will constantly be tried to satisfy the needs of the platform users. This platform, just like the overall ICT industry, is and will always be an ever-changing environment. We all need to have some adaptability.

Back to building a reputation…

It is still very early days and do not have enough data to post the detail about the trends for my own posts. I can definitely see an upward trend in the number of votes I am getting, and we now have something new to measure. We can now measure the reputation level of the users that vote for us. If we work on the assumption that the reputation levels of each of us is correct, we will be able to measure our own reputation building trends!!

Shout out to @jesta - Thank you for the latest release of the Steem Stats Application I'm using Steemstats just as much as Steemit.

I love the feature where you can see who is following you. Another example of where the creators of a platform is listening to what users are asking for.

Image Credits
If you enjoy the topics I am writing about please follow me on my blog @jacor

Chat Soon and Happy Steeming

Sort:  

jacor great post.! i have written a post about it too!

one thing i can guarantee, that if dan or ned cash out, there will be immediately a post informing us. so far they didn't power down !

https://steemit.com/steemit/@knozaki2015/steemit-has-introduced-a-new-reputation-score-what-is-it-and-how-can-you-boost-up-your-score

dan and ned are not powering down, but the main steemit account which has most of the steempower is powering down one million the next payout. You can see here:
http://steemdown.com/
But I think its a good thing, so that they have more resources to hire a lot of programmers. Somhow we must finance the replacement of facebook, reddit and all the other not anymore needed stuff :)

Thank you very much for the compliment. I have enjoyed reading your post, up-voted and followed you. I do not think they have any intention of powering down, rather powering up. As stated I believe it is very important to build a good reputation for the years to come. In my books I am currently following people, that are in this for the long run, this is a marathon, not a 100 meter Sprint. I look for people that posts regularly on interesting topics and hope that I can build a huge following myself. I also hope that all the people I follow and follow me back will become Dolphins one day, Thank you for your comment.

upvoted you too. and it gave you a 40$ uptick ;)

Thank you very much for the support @knozaki2015 . I see you have voted on my last post again. Much appreciated. Consider yourself followed :) I hope to build up some voting power and return the favor someday., as my vote is not worth much at the moment. BUT I will build and build and build :)

Things are changing so fast around here that, after only a little more than two weeks, I'm feeling veteran like haha. The reputation is such a welcomed feature, its already been much easier identifying the reposters and copypastafarians.

After reading @ace108's comment, I feel reassured that it's going to work. If you woke up to a -5 and were able to get yourself up to +5 in such a short time, it shows that fixing your rep is entirely feasible. It also shows that anyone can fix their rep and get back into the conversation, and that's also great because maybe that one troll wants to reform.

I'm with you @prufarchy ... Also feel like a veteran by now. Yes, it is one of the problems that needed to be addressed. Let's see how this works out. I am sure we will still see many alterations to the algorithm's and the way the platform operates!

I've been collecting images from my early time on Steemit because I agree it's going to change so much, I want to have a little photo album of "remember when Steemit was this"

Excellent idea, if I only kept my ZX Spectrum 128, and my Commodore 64 and my Atari games ... They would've been worth a fortune... Keep collecting those images... It will be worth something and I guess it might be sooner than we all think!

Awesome, didn't know about this. I imagine we'll see some complaints about the new reputation system, just like there are complaints about everything else on Steemit, but for now it seems like a good deal.

Agreed @kendewitt. All we can now do is wait and see how the reputation system will affect the platform.

I love everything about the reputation system, except the death of @wang. As much as I dislike spam bots and one word bots, Wang provided users with a great amount of knowledge curated in one post. Sad to see him silenced. I think the reputation system can help launch a Decentralized Steemit Marketplace, because similar feedback systems will be able to be rolled out in the future.

@bendjmiller222 It is terrible about Wang, bu in contraction with all the comments about his death I thoroughly believe that hew will stand up and work his way to a good reputation !!! You can do it Wang!!

I wish he had a different name, as being greeted by a wang doesn't seem to be a name that exudes professionalism, but I was greatly helped by him in the beginning

I am a little concerned that this reputation system will make it very difficult for someone with a low rep number (not negative, just low) to gain any recognition. Scroll down the trending posts and see how far you need to go to find a 4.

Now go to new and active pages and see whether you even read the titles of low-numbered posters.

People may start trying to vote on 7's and 8's as soon as they see them.

Let's make sure to continue to give everyone a chance!

Anyone who makes it on to trending has their reputation boosted as a result. A new user could post something big, end up on trending have have a reputation of 6 the same day.

Those with reputation of 7 or 8 have it the trending pages multiple times.

Better to look at 'hot' for new people to promote.

Ah! Got it. Thank you for the clarification.

Actually, I had to scroll to the 28th 'hot' post to find the first score below a 7.

i think is a good thing for the community
i can't wait anymore to chat with all of you 8]

was definitely bad for me. woke up to a (-5) reputation not knowing what I've done to deserve.
almost give up and exit from steemit. after half a day of struggle and a post, got it up to (4) and the (5).

Atleast you got back up :)

@ace108, sorry to hear about that. I am glad that the rating went upwards so quickly. It can only be a good thing from here on forward

Why is everyone in these comment sections so extremely nice to each other? It seems a bit dubious.

Now everyone can see that to be on trending page you have to have reputation. That alone is a very good thing, it might calm down some people)

I have a 7 reputation, apparently that good, but i don't have so much steem and my voting power is limited. i do post a lot of content though, like 1 new post a day is my aim. I guess i have to wait for some whale to spot me before my content can really get out there.

@sisterholics , I also do not have much steem yet and my voting power also still low. But I will keep at it and build a reputation and through time build it up. I believe in the platform.

yes, this is the attitude to have, i have to try to stay with it too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61