A little credit goes a long way (UX/UI Visual Steemit Re-Design project)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Steemit, please help

I am calling on Steemit a little advice and help in an incident that happened on the platform. I will put my direct requests here at the beginning and if you want to read the entire story, see the lengthy paragraphs below this next section.

This is @SugarSteem, prior known as a @steemit redesign project I have been working on for a couple of months with another Steemit user. You've probably seen a few posts we did on it, where I did a complete Visual Design from the UX wireframes. It turned out pretty spectacular looking and I'm super proud of the designs I did:

1280_list copy 18-1@1x.png

Why I am writing this and What I am asking for

I asked for credit (tagging my name saying I had done the visual design), and was flat out refused. Now I would rather my designs be pulled out of the project entirely, as it seems no credit will be given in the future unless I’m continuously working on it at the expectations of someone else. So I here asking for the publics support. I am requesting, please, that the original Sketch files I sent be deleted, and not used to further the design of SugarSteem. There are a total of 6 screens I designed, including the homepage for new users (1 screen), the homepage for existing users (2 screens), in tile state (3 screens) and list state (4 screens), the My Feed (5 screens), and the my Blog (6 screens), not to mention lots of other trial and error screens and the process work for all of it. You can get a sense of all the work I did by seeing this screenshot of my Sketch design file:

Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 10.53.15 PM.png

In detail, why this crushed me, my enthusiasm and love for the Steemit platform and community

Since joining #Steemit in December, I have been overwhelmed in all the best ways to the beauty community it is and the people who create that community - from the entire ecosystem to the small pocket communities that form within. With very broad interests I have integrated myself into many of those pockets: from the weekly @openmic competitions singing alongside a talented array of musicians, to poetry and @artzone posts consisting of painting, writing and music and dancing, to even professional side projects started with other steemians. I've always felt good as a whole as the core of Steemit seems to be all about rewarding users for the content they create. People upvote your posts, comments, and images to give you rewards for making it and putting it out into the blockchain ecosystem. Even subtly it's embedded into the culture of etiquette of Steemit, for example posting the source link to a non original image. There is even @cheetah not who comes and announces blatantly if you are plagiarizing from the great World Wide Web.

So I've always felt safe about sharing my content here, which is quite personal and the literal manifestation of my heart, blood, sweat and tears, and over a decade (10 years!) of studying fine art, design, architecture, and just about anything creative. Steemit is supposed to be a safe place for content creators, and a community based around principles that honor their hard work and dedication and create an ambience of mutual respect and admiration of the work we create, in all of its many majestic forms. I've felt that and seen it embedded in the culture and actions of many since joining #Steemit almost 5 months ago. Last night I felt that honor completely abandoned and burned at the stake, when I visited the profile of a Steemian I had been working with over the past months on a project redesigning a new interface for Steemit. They had started the project and it made it clear it was very much their "baby", but I had dedicated countless hours over the past months to creating the visual design aesthetic to the UX they created. They shared a portion of the SBD, which of course was not much, but I was doing it for the sheer love of designing something beautiful for the Steemit community. And I turned black and white wire frames into beautiful masterpieces, as that is what the profession of Visual Design does (check it out below):

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 12.21.43 PM-222.jpg



A UX designer creates the floor plans, the "architecture" per se, of interfaces (websites, apps), and a Visual Designer makes it beautiful (choosing colors, font types, adding imagery, etc). We worked together talking and designing and discussing designs over the course of the weeks on an almost every day basis I was spending hours creating these designs. Of course life got in the way, as everyone knows, and things got busy so I had to take a break.

On the left is my orginal visual design, and on the right was the recent post made without my knowledge from another Steemit account ( I found it 2 days after it was posted, and was never tagged). Yes a lot has changed (I had also recently changed the color scheme to blue as a request from the other designer). So the colors have changed, and they spent time adding a lot of small details in on top of my file. But still within the framework I designed.
Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 12.21.43 PM  - edit.jpg


Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 12.21.43 PM-222222.jpg



If you read my last posts, I am currently on vacation camping in France, and preparing to give the biggest presentation of my life next week in the Cayman Islands on behalf of my organization (www.rloop.org), a company I am on the founding team and designing the UX/UI for our blockchain powered platform. Its A LOT going on in life, hence why I had to take a backseat on sideprojects, and even havent been able to post much on Steemit. I let them know that I would be extremely busy these next few weeks but then would like to resume working on the project, picking back where I left off. I made that very clear.

Over the course of the past month, they had asked for the source file (which was 100% my file I created and built from scratch), because they didn't know how to use the design program Sketch for making the visual design. I am not one to refuse things that could be helping and teaching others, so I (hesitantly and reluctantly - as its not normal to give your source files away) I agreed and sent the original file I created via personal email. I even spent an hour or so cleaning up the file to make it presentable and clear to someone else who had not been working in it and may not be familiar with using Sketch to design. I wanted to help. Off I sent all my work, all my editable files, and all my design input and intellect with one little click of the SEND button. Now they are being used directly, (edited on top of), and published without my name or permission, not to mention being profited off of. And it will continue to happen (through multiple posts and new iterations), if I dont somehow try to put a stop to it now.

I'm crushed

As any designer and any content creator knows, it is heartwrenching and soulcrushing to see your work used with complete disregard to how you feel, stripped of whatever small piece of ownership you may have felt. Normally it happens within big corporations, when senior level associates slap their name on the work done by juniors, the brand itself takes over. But even then, you are credited as part of the team. In this case, I have neither.

A simple "visual design by @itinerantartist" would have sufficed.

If you made it this far


I know this is a lot to read and digest. But if you feel inclined, please help by mediating, by commenting how to best remedy this situation, and how to feel like I have some say in a situation where my work is being used in a way I didn't expect or intend. I don't want to create a flag war. I just don't want my designs being used in a place where my name is not allowed to exist alongside it. Maybe if enough people agree, this will influence the other designer to take down the posts and understand why I was so hurt by having my name cut out of two posts that were made with and based on design files I helped mold and create (not to mention how many more posts will be profited off of future screens designed from my template and style guide).

My fellow Steemians


I am asking Steemians who have been involved in supporting the SugarSteem project for your honest advice and support. You are tagged because you have left votes, comments, and re-steemed posts in regards to the redesign of Steemit which turned into @SugarSteem. Everyone listed below has been such a great support of the project, and I respect what you do and have done for the project, community and Steemit ecosystem at large. If you could offer your support, advice, or opinion on the matter it would really mean a lot to me. Even if you disagree with what I am saying, please hear my side and comment why so I can understand. I need other perspectives on this. Maybe I am wrong here, but I feel like my work has been stripped of my name with no credit given, and credit was all I asked for.

@cryptoctopus, @transisto, @donkeypong, @totolina, @arama, @analisa, @sykochica, @inquiringtimes, @demotruk, @timcliff, @z8teyb289qav9z, @fulltimegeek, @eroche, @ausbitbank, @drakos, @wesleybos, @bestbroplayer, @danielsaori, @whatsup, @ilanaakoundi, @hr1, @makerhacks, @davemccoy, @protegeaa, @mangos, @newhope, @free999enigma, @fabien, @drmake, @patrice, @sift666, @coffeex, @abh12345, @overkillcoin, @acidyo, @wackou, @therealwolf, @xaero1, @fredrikaa, @jerrybanfield, @lrock, @playitforward, @mod-tamichh, @noboxes, @aggroed, @kodaxx, @dbzfan4awhile, @teamhumble, @kimzilla, @scorer, @shawnvanderveer, @dshelton32, @yabapmatt, @carface, @slickwilly, @edwardlewis, @geofftk, @socky, @bbrewer, @etcmike, @austinhopper, @karencarrens, @alexis555, @bue, @techslut, @protegeaa, @fminerten, @steempty, @stephen.king989, @ma1neevent, @spydo, @dedicatedguy, @personz, @v4vapid, @totolina, @leeuw, @morseke1, @cryptocat, @mes, @poeticsnake, @princessmewmew, @spiritualmax, @edb1984, @remcovdpluijm, @eeks, @clayford08, @mattclarke, @datascience, @netuoso, @followbtcnews, @brandonp, @steempty, @fminerten, @shadowspub, @ammonite, @themarkymark, @cryptosharon, @maverickinvictus, @dawnsheree, @eonwarped, @pragmaticpassion, @kubbyelizabeth, @btcupload, @pnc, @hedge-x, @truthbeyondlies, @omitaylor, @enikma, @zaynwalker, @glenalbrethsen, @socky, @brandonnp, @valued-customer, @pharesim, @whatsup, @sykochica, @teamsteem, @minnowsupport, @anomadsoul

Sort:  
Loading...

@itinerantartist, part of true leadership is the ability to not just give credit where credit is due, but even more, to give credit away... regardless how many tweaks were made to your source code. A simple, look at what @itinerantartist did! Wow!

And, considering that is all you wanted... respect and acknowledgment... I'm bummed you didn't get it. It's free to give and does wonders for the soul. Having been a GUI girl myself in the past, I know how you pondered and deliberated the smallest of details, fonts, colors, placement of each and every item to the exact pixel. Just know that I feel your pain. GUI projects have a way to get under your skin. You live and breathe it for weeks and months.

Giving credit to others is a heart issue. I made a little word art for @roys-market and was so happily surprised @roychoi to see every gives me credit every time.

Please don't this dampen your giving spirit. You are what makes this platform great.

By the way, I peeked at your posts and love them! You have a new fan. 😍

This +100. Forget the legality aspect, this is about community. Give credit where credit is due, enough said! And as you mentioned, it takes no effort at all.

I did. She didn’t contribute on the future iterations hence name omitted.

I gave credit on the posts where the work was done. These new iterations she had no hand in and didn’t do the work hence name removed. She’s not edwardo saverian here. She didn’t create SugarSteem. She freelanced a few times and on those posts i gave credit on the post and SBD.

You did NOT DO THE DESIGN ON THE NEW ITERATIONS that we’re posted! Stop claiming that you did! Omg! You didn’t spend months on this lol! WHAT A JOKE! I’ve only been on steem 4 months lol. PERHAPS YOU SHOULD REREAD THE POSTS on my wall AND SEE WHEN U WERE POSTED FOR THE FIRST time. What a joke. You literally skinned 3 high fidelity wireframes in colorand all of a sudden you created the UI hilarious!

months: i.e. we started exchanging emails and documentation in March. Now is May. I think it was like 5-6 weeks which we engaged, that is where I got months. So yes, I technically weeks at 1.75 months isn't quite long enough for "months". But was definitely not weekends. It was nights. And it was still a lot of work. And you seemed very happy about it then. So sad you changed your tone when it came to a disagreement.

Well, from my perspective, this matter colors my perception of Sugarsteem, and will.

I note no response from Sugarsteem dev here, which is telling.

Sorry you have been disappointed in folks. At the very least, do learn from this experience. As another comment points out, your work will continue to churn out, and Sugarsteem will clearly no longer benefit from it.

As someone who works for wages, I have myself been shorted compensation betimes. I note that there is no shortage of demand for my work, and folks that make a practice of burning bridges in that way eventually end up isolated, and dependent on their own work, which isn't adequate to meet their needs, while we who produce useful work continually create bridges and increase our benefit to, and benefits from, society.

I've actually had former employers that have failed to pay (because they blew their payroll on a binge) come to me later and seek to employ me. This did not harm me. Rather it encouraged me that my work was valuable and necessary, and demonstrated to me why it is important that we do maintain high ethical standards. Those employers all vanished from my life then, and from the area altogether, eventually.

For good reason.

Consider how much mental investment this issue is worth to you. I reckon chalking it up to education cost and moving on is the most profitable course for you. Also, do learn. Don't do work for them again, even if they eventually make an effort to appease you. Don't remain vulnerable to such depredations if occasionally learning this lesson is undesirable.

In my line of work, I generally do work before receiving pay, and so I relearn the lesson from time to time. I move on. I don't stew in the emotional discomfort such lessons can create if we don't move on. Then I spend my attention on the good folks and good work I do and contribute to, which does my heart good.

Your skills and ethics will continue to provide you rewards throughout your life. Their lack of skills and ethics will continue to degrade their lives, until they themselves learn from experience. You have everything to gain by moving on and never looking back at folks and events that hurt your heart. The only thing I can see you are certain to lose is peace in your heart, and you can only lose that if you don't move on and spend your attention on the good opportunities and benefits that are coming your way.

For me, peace of mind and a full heart is far more important than grudging acknowledgement.

YMMV. I hope for your sake it does not, however, because peace is quite valuable, and in too short supply. That may be the most valuable compensation you could theoretically receive for your skill and work in this matter: learning to move on and focus on the blessings you create and receive by working with good people. I do wish that for you, and everyone.

Loading...

Do the work on the iteration get the credit. It’s that simple.

There is the reality that each iteration is standing on the shoulders of giants, so to speak, @theuxyeti.

Given the manner in which the issue seems to have arisen, I suspect this problem will arise again on this project. Perhaps that might be useful to rectify, for example by providing a 'credits' link in an about menu on the product, as many video games do.

I hope you can resolve this issue going forward.

Thanks for your reply.

Lol , umm no. She’s most def off the project. I’ve got more professional people that don’t stomp their feet like lil kids.

Interpersonal conflict doesn't change the facts regarding contributors to the project. That you'd put such concerns ahead of a commitment to credit contributors leads one to conclude there was good reason for the conflict.

Neither does it recommend your project to those that were supporting it, or interested in supporting it in the future. I make note of your own sophomoric attitude towards professional standards of development, and will view Sugarsteem through that lens.

Good luck.

Your biased view is irrelevant. Do the work get the credit it’s that simple.

Your claim that I have any bias is far more illustrative of your own purpose and execution thereof than relevant to me. I have no dog in this fight, other than an initial interest in the project.

Since you fail to reckon with any point I have made and instead simply claim I am biased to deflect consideration of my comments, by your own petard you are hoist. I shall heretofore suitably discount and ignore your rhetoric, as you have demonstrated it is without purpose other than self-aggrandizement, and therefore of null import to me, or anyone not riding your coattail.

Give credit where credit is due. It's that simple. Also, don't make false claims and expect to be credible. That you have indicated you will fail to do the former, and demonstrably do the latter renders you incredible, as in without credibility.

I'm done with this conversation, since I am not having it with someone that demonstrates any credibility.

Your word smithing is retarded

There is a difference between stomping your feet and standing your moral ground.

I followed the other thread, and there is no excuse. It seems clear that you spent a significant amount of effort and that the end result is a combination of both of your efforts. To not give any credit at all is simply mind-boggling. Hell, even if this person did not use a great amount of what you put forth, you would deserve some amount of credit for the iterative process. This person clearly gives you credit in previous posts and not in a later post. What gives?

Oh it looks like it some credit was grudgingly given finally. Seriously. This was such an easy spat to avoid.

very begrudgingly. its been so upsetting. I'm just...idk. off.

it feels like a home i don't want to go back to anymore :'(

Was there a reason given for not providing attribution on the subsequent posts? I don't see your request as unreasonable, given that they're what sugarsteem is based on for the most part, even with the changes, so I'm not understanding the reason for refusing attribution on each post.

It seems, though, that this is all stemming from the fact that you had other things to do and weren't going to be able to continuously work on things. Was that made clear upfront when you offered your services, that you had some other things coming up that would take you away from the project for a while?

I'm not sure what all others are going to think or say. Hopefully some discussion will result here.

this was a voluntary project, so its whatever anyone volunteers their time. i made it clear i wanted to keep working on the project because i enjoyed doing something for the steemit community. the other designer basically wanted to move the project faster and not wait until my schedule calmed down after a few weeks, which is fine - i am and never would be against that. but to move on, take my file, make small tweaks and then not even acknowledge my name in the post as a part of making that work - that just seemed ludicrous to me. The user profile page, and my blog/feed pages were not very "inventive" on the visual design part. but the home screen especially - i created some of those entirely new features on my own (UX + visual design), and built and designed it. so when my work is taken and the built upon, i just would like to be mentioned that its part of my original work. To me, it is like taking a van gogh Starry Night painting, changing the colors, photoshopping it to the move the moon around, and then saying "this is entirely my work, since I made these new changes". But it still has Van Gogh's work, and i think it is a disservice to not credit all authors involved - no matter if those changes were made 1 day later or 1 year later or 100 years later.

In the art world, if an artist paints a picture that a photographer took, they need the permission of that photographer, otherwise they can sue them. Even if they changed things and didnt paint it exactly, and changed some details (the colors, the clothes, etc).

The other designer finally edited the post to say earlier iterations were done by me, which is not exaclty correct for that homepage as I did the entire visual design (they changed the color scheme and made some additions, but it still looks EXACTLY like the page i designed and the file i gave them). I requested that the future designs be changed so it does not resemble my work at all, since they refuse to add my name that i worked on the design.

I did learn a valuable lesson here. I will never again share my editable files with anyone, as that is part of the recipes for a culmination of 7 years of higher education and 8 years professional experience.

As I said before, I don't see the reason why attribution is being withheld. I don't think it's an unreasonable thing at all for it to be there, especially as you've stated it in a reply to someone else. You have been a part of the project, you did quite a bit work and it is the simplest and easiest of things to continue to cite that work.

Your page looks exactly like my wireframe. Lol

I was thinking that too. And while if she is telling the truth, my heart is with her. However, I also am not so quick to judge the other guy a criminal with intent either. Yes, hopefully, some dialog can come of this.

When I started my comment, yours hadn't posted yet, so I didn't see it until after mine posted. You pretty much went over everything I did and more, and I probably wouldn't have left it had I seen it.

I frequently comment on the other guy's posts, and he's been nice enough when replying. I haven't offered much advice though, and probably wouldn't. UX/UI isn't something I know much about, though I do have some experience with design in general.

I do feel for her. I think she did good work, and I think attribution is as about as small and ask as you can get. I'm not sure how much changes being made affect that because the basic design exists. If he ended up overhauling all of that, well, that could be different.

At any rate, I'd hate to see this project stall anymore than it already has because of a lack of consistent help, which is tough since so much of what's happening here is in the development stages without, from what I can tell, any substantial funding.

No interest in stalling! This IS MY PROJECT. I asked for someone to assist in skinning the already process ven and vetted UI i created! Lol i will NOT have someone take credit for any evolution in my wireframes. That’s so rediculous lol

I wondered if you might provide the other side to this. Although, I don't know that I need to be in the middle of the conversation. :) So, for my part, I was seeking understanding. I tend to do that when something isn't making sense.

It’s like when someone in a group does 10% of the work for a class project and then calls themselves equals! This is total bs! I will NOT be working with her ever again. Fucking delusional

i never claimed to have equal parts in the entire process of SugarSteem. You did a lot of UX/UI before I joined in. I never said "give me 50% credit for the work I did". If you would like to write "@itinerantartist did 10% of the work" - that would have been fine with me (petty if you ask me, but FINE). I wanted validation for my work which is clearly still embedded in the designs. You are using boxes I drew, custom buttons and symbols I drew, and even features I ideated ("Featured Steemians"). If you do not use those things, then you no longer need to acknowledge that I worked on them. I hope to see your future iterations not using any of my graphics, as I said last week I do not want any of my designs in the project's future iterations and I do not want to be a part of a one person team.

She was credited on the iterations she did the work on. She didn’t on future iterations so i omitted her. Ita not like there is a permanent credit on every post for eternity. That’s so stupid

when you are clearly using my custom design elements and the organization of those elements done by me, not to mention features I created and visuals I made - then YES, you should credit that post. In the future iterations, if those are not used, no need to credit for eternity.

Sorry i won’t abide by your childish rules. This is my creation. Reread design series wireframes if you are confused

i dont think he ever had criminal intent. but i do believe he is disillusioned with what it means to give credit to people who worked on a project, especially if it is work with their design/artist/creative identity all over the project.

Last month a steemit user shared a border to help format posts, and when I used that border she created in my post, I credited it to her. And that was a small thing. The Sugar Steem project used my entire design in a post and refused to even mention my name. That is why it is a problem. If it happened to anyone, it should be a problem. Giving credit takes no effort, and is this case is nothing more than a "thank you for your hard work that I am using and building off of".

You reskinned a wireframe that looks identical. Lol are you joking

homepage hardly looks identical. profile page, yes. the homepage was a much more transformational design

One thing I am curious about - what would be telling the truth in this case? Or that you are unsure what is the truth? I do not want to accuse the other designer of malicious intent - only to express that he was refusing credit.

If the truth that you are unsure of is whether or not I did the work, I pasted the images in the post to prove the work in mine in my file.

I dont think there are any potential lies involved in this situation from either party, just a severe disagreement where they dont think they ever need to mention my name alongside the work I helped create/influence. I am not arguing that he didnt do work - he did. A lot. As did I.

Yeah, no offense. You tagged me. I don't know either of you. You told your side of the story here but I don't know or trust either of you. So you could making this up and taking the screenshots above. Understand, 3rd parties don't know what's going on. And people just don't trust whoever says whatever. I can go on my blog as say you both stole it from me. Great story. No proof of anything. And I'm sure some people would believe me. Further, you've not provided any evidence of conversations, chats, dialogs, agreements, emails, or proofs that your side of the story has any validity. So I'm just apt to stay out of your argument. I only chimed in with food for though to help you and others understand that there is a moral subjective issue and a legal issue. You were calling for bias, for people to take sides per se, but the unemotional literal fact is you just told a story of what you want us to believe happenned. But you neither of you have provided evidence. You're basically saying you made that. Which we can establish considering you were credited once. Beyond that the actual terms of your agreement could be anything. And he may have every actual right to do what he did— fortunately or unfortunately.

i fully understand. he was never claiming i didnt do the work - just that that work was irrelvalent to credit me anymore - i guess that is the main argument and where you disagree. i have many emails exchanged where i can prove i sent him the above images i made and his comments, the iterations i did, and him requesting the file. but i didnt want to post that bc i feared it would cause an all out war. if i blocked the name (although its silly because they can surely see it if sugarsteem is tagged), i suppose i could post it. if i post it here, the people following this post can see it...if i make an entirely new post i feel it wil definitely enrage him (he has a much more powerful account and whale friends - so i was worried about this). i would love to what advice you can offer me on that - you definitely have a level head and i appreciate all the advices and perspective!

These are just of when i emailed the first visual design to them. This was two months ago and before it was even called "sugarsteem"
Screen Shot 2018-05-05 at 11.51.45 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-05-05 at 11.53.05 PM.png

I asked for someone to assist on skinning my wireframes. I’ve had 3 iterations of skinning. You never created the UI. Are you joking? Lol

3 posts is ignoring the fact that it included 12 screens, which each took hours to build. stop trying to diminish the work of others. if you read all my comments, i never once lessened the work that you did. YOU DID WORK. I DID WORK. stop diminishing those who helped you.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by itinerantartist from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

As i read all the comments here i find this to be PURE COMEDY! Absolutely false and total BULLSHIT!
3 posts of 12 in my redesign series lol!
I built SugarSteem, I’m still building it, and your freelance work was helpful but I’ll be dammed if you think you built the UI! Wtf! All of these comments are such HORSE SHIT! I asked for someone to assist on the work colloratively and split the SBD posts... the past few posts YOU DIDNT DO THE WORK! The build isITERATIVE! Meaning it’s changing! You WERE NOT MENTIONED BC YOU DIDNT DO ANY WORK IN THE POSTS! Unreal!!! Total bs!

You realize she isn't claiming any of that right? Let me approach this in a slightly different way.

Look at your last post. How would you feel if a project you contributed to left out any hint that you had contributed at all? I think part of the confusion is you have a giant list of people you thank for their support, and yet you don't thank @itinerantartist for the work she did do. I understand that you had to do a lot of work to get things working but I don't think it's unreasonable to add a small line as a shout out in this same area.

As I read this whole thing again, it may very well be that there's a misunderstanding with how you structured your update posts. That's my two cents anyway.

Here’s my take. As the project progresses, things are iterative. Work changes, updates happen, design changes. I’m not going to slap a disclaimer on the build bc someone contributed partially through it. There are 1000’s of interfaces ive worked on like Facebook, tinder, Snapchat even LinkedIn and do you see me in the credits? When it comes to this platform, posts are what drive it. As my design takes shape moving forward fonts, placeholder images, functionality, simplification of UI, adjustments... all of it changes things. I’ve done the work moving forward hence why i left credit off. The design has changed so much that it’s not the same. If someone wants to claim from my high fidelity wireframes that they have severely altered the design they need to recheck the wireframe bc the minimal alterations they have done is asimilar to the adjustments I’ve made.
In design, things undergo tons of changes. I personally feel strongly giving credit where credit is due. But this instance, the design has already changed... and the work I’ve done personally. If she or anyone else decided to do the hours of adjustments I’d most def have left credit.

Aside from that, it’s unprofessionalism in posts like this that make decentralized platforms shitty. From these posts i lose all respect to her as a designer. I’ve been working with about 40 ppl across 4 other projects and not once scream the credit card. Things like dtube and fundition both great UI’s that I’ve provided adjustments on. I’m not screaming credit please! Lol that’s the difference between us! Now i see these posts and they TAINT the hard work and my reputation as a creator and designer bc of this crap!
Completely and utterly DISGUSTED! I will continue my build but now it’s a learning lesson. I can’t believe ppl think all of a sudden that they are a permanent blurb on the interface etc. like add this on my resume of things i built lol no thanks!

I agree with what you are saying, and that's why I was now more focused on the structure of the updates you are giving. It makes sense that if she didn't contribute to the update that you don't need special mention for every single subsequent update. On a quick pass that giant list of people you thank looks like a credits section of people that have contributed to the project thus far, so to me it was odd to have that but leave previous contributors out. But now I sort of understand that list is not quite the same, looks more like a sponsorship section.

Thanks for your time in clarifying by the way.

It was a list of community support! Her name is in it. It’s all good! I’m done defending here. It’s not constructive and takes me away from the real project - trying to help others. I find it hilarious where my title SugarSteem can be mentioned but my name theuxyeti is not! VERY SHADY! This is typical of a junior designer melennial mentality and sadly it’s no longer a concern. Thanks for your responses!!! And i hope you continue to follow me and SugarSteem to see the updates and comment constructively to help grow the interface into something that will help improve your experience also. Cheers friend!

LOL IF ANYONE IS READING THIS GARBAGE OMG! If you think at all she’s legitimate scroll through my redesign series and see that I’ve built the whole thing! It’s interesting to see the comparisons are missing all of the high fidelity wireframes made by me. Ux designer No! Freelancer skinning a high fidelity wireframe yes! Enough said! How frustrating! Gtfo!

Fore anyone following this: I will post in the future a detailed post that explains and focuses 100% on the work that I did on visual design, and the few UX additions I made, along with the original UX drawings made by theuxyeti. i am in no way saying he did not do the original work,or the tertiary work. but that i did the secondary work . he spends time thanking and tagging 100 people to up vote his post but cannot add one line of "thanks to to the people who have volunteered their time on this project". I was never a freelancer on this project. i was a partner and a volunteer. shame on you for refusing to credit me along with anyone else who has dedicated their time to helping.

Lol far from the secondary work keep telling yourself that. Just like some delusional work on the hyper loop I’m sure.
You were NOT a partner. You worked on 3 wireframes! You are so delusional! You received credit for your work and will no longer be credited moving forward Nora part of the UI. Go home delusional melennial’ lol you crack me up!

I said I felt like a partner. You are twisting words, just like you are twisting the perception of how much time and energy and work it takes to create VISUAL DESIGN FROM SCRATCH. ITS ITS OWN PROFESSION. I could have easily spent 40 hours more making things even better, just like any design profession.

Good luck to you! Your damage you’ve created is beyond a repair of anything professional. Good luck.

Save everyone the trouble and have them just read my redesign series! You’re so delusional! 3 weekends have been so exaggerated! Talk about nonorganic and stealing!!!! I’ll be sure to have our team flag these posts

*IT WAS NOT 3 WEEKENDS

STOP DIMINISHING AND BERADING THE WORK OF OTHERS WHO HELPED YOU - WHO VOLUNTEERED

STOP THROWING AROUND INSULTS AND JEERS

And yes, I do work on experience design for the hyperloop, and feasibility studies for its implementation. That is not made up - and how utterly ridiculous of you to even bring insults up of things you know nothing about. In no way would I ever attack you or your professional accomplishments, even tho you are saying things that make a human want to. So sad to see your reactions in all of this when I asked for was a simple credit tag. Maybe you should consider including that in your million mile tagging section. Since those people actually worked on the project.

If this is flagged, I will continue to make new posts. Like I said, I never wanted a fight. I wanted credit as a designer when my work was used. The home screen, I have features and design that you are very much still using and building off of while making new iterative designs. Why is it so hard to say that in the post?

Exactly you built skins to my ui. Lol. I will flag anything you post that defames my project. Get over it

I WAS PART OF THE PROCESS OF THAT WORK. THATS ALL I WANTED ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FOR EVER.

In the professional world, peoples names are added to the project. Funny how because you're "making the posts" you get to claim whatever you want. This all could go to rest if you had not refused to give a little nod/credit, then continue to insult the work I did following. Utterly disgraceful professionalism.

You didn’t do ANY OF THE WORKon those posts lol

you are literally showing work I designed and profiting from it.

You freelanced on three posts. You want perpetual credit. You’re mad!

@theuxyeti - can I ask what your Homepage and Profile page shout outs are about? What significance did those people who were mentioned have on the project? I guess it's just curious that @itinerantartist was left out of these shoutouts. I mean, her face is literally on your Profile page skin

i contributed and asked for credit to the work that i did that is still there. when the visual design changes, you no longer need to give credit. i look forward to seeing the visuals changed from what i created. i do not want perpetual credit for eternity, that is ludicrous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34