You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A little credit goes a long way (UX/UI Visual Steemit Re-Design project)

in #steemit6 years ago

Well, from my perspective, this matter colors my perception of Sugarsteem, and will.

I note no response from Sugarsteem dev here, which is telling.

Sorry you have been disappointed in folks. At the very least, do learn from this experience. As another comment points out, your work will continue to churn out, and Sugarsteem will clearly no longer benefit from it.

As someone who works for wages, I have myself been shorted compensation betimes. I note that there is no shortage of demand for my work, and folks that make a practice of burning bridges in that way eventually end up isolated, and dependent on their own work, which isn't adequate to meet their needs, while we who produce useful work continually create bridges and increase our benefit to, and benefits from, society.

I've actually had former employers that have failed to pay (because they blew their payroll on a binge) come to me later and seek to employ me. This did not harm me. Rather it encouraged me that my work was valuable and necessary, and demonstrated to me why it is important that we do maintain high ethical standards. Those employers all vanished from my life then, and from the area altogether, eventually.

For good reason.

Consider how much mental investment this issue is worth to you. I reckon chalking it up to education cost and moving on is the most profitable course for you. Also, do learn. Don't do work for them again, even if they eventually make an effort to appease you. Don't remain vulnerable to such depredations if occasionally learning this lesson is undesirable.

In my line of work, I generally do work before receiving pay, and so I relearn the lesson from time to time. I move on. I don't stew in the emotional discomfort such lessons can create if we don't move on. Then I spend my attention on the good folks and good work I do and contribute to, which does my heart good.

Your skills and ethics will continue to provide you rewards throughout your life. Their lack of skills and ethics will continue to degrade their lives, until they themselves learn from experience. You have everything to gain by moving on and never looking back at folks and events that hurt your heart. The only thing I can see you are certain to lose is peace in your heart, and you can only lose that if you don't move on and spend your attention on the good opportunities and benefits that are coming your way.

For me, peace of mind and a full heart is far more important than grudging acknowledgement.

YMMV. I hope for your sake it does not, however, because peace is quite valuable, and in too short supply. That may be the most valuable compensation you could theoretically receive for your skill and work in this matter: learning to move on and focus on the blessings you create and receive by working with good people. I do wish that for you, and everyone.

Sort:  
Loading...

Do the work on the iteration get the credit. It’s that simple.

There is the reality that each iteration is standing on the shoulders of giants, so to speak, @theuxyeti.

Given the manner in which the issue seems to have arisen, I suspect this problem will arise again on this project. Perhaps that might be useful to rectify, for example by providing a 'credits' link in an about menu on the product, as many video games do.

I hope you can resolve this issue going forward.

Thanks for your reply.

Lol , umm no. She’s most def off the project. I’ve got more professional people that don’t stomp their feet like lil kids.

Interpersonal conflict doesn't change the facts regarding contributors to the project. That you'd put such concerns ahead of a commitment to credit contributors leads one to conclude there was good reason for the conflict.

Neither does it recommend your project to those that were supporting it, or interested in supporting it in the future. I make note of your own sophomoric attitude towards professional standards of development, and will view Sugarsteem through that lens.

Good luck.

Your biased view is irrelevant. Do the work get the credit it’s that simple.

Your claim that I have any bias is far more illustrative of your own purpose and execution thereof than relevant to me. I have no dog in this fight, other than an initial interest in the project.

Since you fail to reckon with any point I have made and instead simply claim I am biased to deflect consideration of my comments, by your own petard you are hoist. I shall heretofore suitably discount and ignore your rhetoric, as you have demonstrated it is without purpose other than self-aggrandizement, and therefore of null import to me, or anyone not riding your coattail.

Give credit where credit is due. It's that simple. Also, don't make false claims and expect to be credible. That you have indicated you will fail to do the former, and demonstrably do the latter renders you incredible, as in without credibility.

I'm done with this conversation, since I am not having it with someone that demonstrates any credibility.

Your word smithing is retarded

I... I can't resist.

says-on-your-chart-youre-all-fucked-up-you-talk-like-a-fag-and-your-shits-all-retarded.jpg

XD

There is a difference between stomping your feet and standing your moral ground.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38