WHAT I HAVE LEARN'T SO FAR - MAKE YOUR UPVOTE COUNT

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

steem power circle.png
If you know anything about me then you will know that i'm super active on social media and particularly on start-ups because I believe that they are the way to build a huge following in the event that they take off.
Your also know that I like to test these sites and come up with strategies on how to use them and how to play their site specific follower games.
Well Steemit is no different and I have been posting quite actively, testing how it works and how I can make it work for me which then allows me to pass ideas to you about how you can better use Steemit.

So back to my tests. I have been making some short posts to really gauge how steemit works, the effects of upvotes and just what the site likes.

But yesterday I was criticised for making a very short post. Yes it wasnt a great post but now you know why it wasnt a great post. Secondly one thing that seems to run through all social media is that members hate the site police, so don't be that Steemit Police guy. You have no idea why some one posts how they post, and what does it have to do with you anyway. Just go about your business and create whatever it is your creating.

matt-popovich-60437.jpg
You know if you don't like whats on Tv change the channel, if you don't like my feed unfollow me and move on.

giphy (3).gif

image source

For those of you who understand what im saying here then here is what I have learn't so far.

Now you probably already know most of this but equally a hell of a lot of members dont.

Your UPVOTE has power

You have to think of your upvote as a SUPERCHARGED LIKE. It is a like that rewards.

Making lot's and lots of upvotes per day drains your voting super powers to the point where your upvote then becomes just a LIKE.
Now it is cool getting a like but cooler getting a Supercharged Power Like. And this leads me to my first strategy on Steemit to get more Powers Followers

HOW TO GET POWER FOLLOWERS

Now me, I pretty much follow anyone who engages with me and that I find interesting. But I do have a rule that they must have a profile image.
I have this strategy of following active newbies because like I said i like to pull sites apart and then come up with strategies and methods to better use them and so my audience are the guys who need help. These are the guys who don't tend to be Super Charged.
So if you think I do what I do for my 6 cents a post and you think I should decline my reward for making a short post then hey I will write you a cheque.
So back on sub heading topic,
Power Followers. My "Follower those that engage" strategy might not be for you if your here to grow your rewards fast and get Power Followers.
(Incidently the follow those that engage strategy does lead to Power Followers just slower but more important it leads to Power Followers who think like you, just something to consider.)
Anyway if you are looking to get Power Followers then the biggest problem you have is knowing who they are. Well there is a pretty cool Google Chrome Browser Extention that shows you the voting power a member has when you visit their page as shown in the image below. if you click the picture you will go to my shoutout post for the creator @daynewright. The shout out post i made has now gone over $20 much better than my begginers 6 cents to a buck band i seem to be in right now.

If you want Power Followers then this very clever extension is telling you who's UpVote counts, who's Upvote influences your revenue. The members who can get you paid.

Now you can get up in arms here and say well your telling members who they shouldnt follow thats not helping the little guy. Well it is because reading this the little guy should now be working hard to build up their rep score and regenerate their voting power so they are a Power Follower.
This extension doesnt tell us the value of an UpVote but just by seeing the rev value of the members posts or even clicking wallet will give you a very good idea as to if they have a valueable upvote or not.

So Minnows, what to do.

Grab @daynewright s extension and build your UpVote Value up. Just Upvote what you find value in, not everything. If you want to get noticed then comment and resteem and don't let your vote value percentage drop below 75%.

Click off the auto vote option, stop voting on your own posts

If you want more Power Followers then add more Power Followers and become a Power Follower by managing your Upvote Value.

Hope this helps
sig.png
InfoBunny

Sort:  

I really enjoyed reading this post. I am a bit more selective now on who I follow as it makes it hard to reed through all of the blogs on my feed if I follow everyone. However, I do not follow people just based on their upvote power but based on whether I like their content or not. I try and engage in comments as much as possible and those who reach out and do the same to me are usually followed by me. I plan on continuing to reach out and connect with people as much as possible on Steemit.

it all depends on what you are looking to achieve and what works for you. Nothing wrong with a selective following strategy. If your worried about following too many you could make a bookmarking folder and bookmark those who you really are interested in reading, kind of what you do with Twitter Lists

That is a most excellent idea. Thank you!

I know 😁

@infobunny

thanks for this info and love your strategy which is and will be very helpful for new comers. Keep it up and thanks for sharing...following you for more of such...

Welcome as always...

I try to only Reesteem stuff that I'm really interested in and would be interesting two my followers. I see some people Resteeming everything and I've had to unfollow them because it was clogging up my feed with stuff wasn't interested in

Your always gonna have that problem.. all you can really do is bookmark who you consider your real followers

Thanks for the heads up about the extension I didn't know it even existed. And the strategy seems like a clean mid to long term fine method to use I've fallen into the minnow pit of following whoever and whatever that my feed is mostly nonsense. Thanks again bunny buddy

well there is an unfollow button just have a tidy up and your be good

i followed you

Already followed you a couple of days ago :D, as for tidying up yes I need to do that, guess I'll start filtering and monitoring non-value adding content and check the person himself whether it's a one time or a chronical thing thanks again

makes sense

Thanks have been following you, dont always have voting power but when I do I vote, liked your post thanks

Get the extension and monitor it and dont let it get belwo 75%

im following back

Got my super vote

thanks buddy

Thanks for the info, saw it yesterday and installed it, great tool!

it is useful

I had to stay calm for a few days now, I ran out of voting power... very hard to stay on the platform without upvoting ... but the tool helps a lot to see my own status and keep calm

Thanks for resteeming ;-)

concentrate on resteeming and commenting

You're welcome :)

This is a very interesting strategy. Mine has to put in a good few hours a day commenting on not only the people I follows posts but also at least 10 or 20 from the /created tab. Seams to be going ok. =) I will take a look at the browser extention. looks neat.

great im following you

Thanks so much infobunny! you caught my followship as well. =)

your welcome.. are you also on The8App?

I am not. I use my computer (at work atm / while spose to be working. ) =)

What is The8App?

Oh, awesome. And For anyone yeah? I live in South Africa?

it is for the world ... just make a page then introduce yourself and tag @dexterroona so i get notified and then i will shout you out to help get you started

Great read thanks what start ups are you referring to ?

well steemit of course and i would deff join The8App just join and make a post tagging @dexterroona so i get a notification and i will follow you and give you a shoutout to get you started

I will have a look but steemit is full-time lol

don't put all your eggs in one basket

Upvoting because I got value from the post, especially the Google Chrome Browser Extention bit :) Ok, time to rest my votes to regain voting power.

YES YOUR AT 20% you need to rest for a week, just resteem instead and comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64841.11
ETH 3523.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36